We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
45
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspandanacross the roadhinanojohnbbqdeckchampagnelagoonbeachvillaturtlesisland
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

If you have something against paradise - this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a tranquil, stress free beachfront escape, look no further.

We (partner & 3yo) stayed in Pandanus House for 2 weeks in early May and had an amazing time. It is a truly special house with a beautiful garden and the added bonus of being only steps away from the amazing lagoon.

A perfect location for lounging around and enjoying long days on the beach. A quick drive in either location for great restaurants and prime location for picture perfect sunsets.

John & Hinano were incredibly friendly and made us feel truly welcome, as were all their staff we spoke to during our stay. Nothing was ever a hassle and even when calling at the 11th hour to help find a missing birthday cake!

Since returning, I have been repeatedly asked if I would recommend the Cook Islands and Pandanus House - and for me it's a resounding yes!

Having worked in the travel industry for over 20 years, I have been both lucky enough and privileged to travel the world and visit many islands in the Pacific. The Cook Islands is a truly special place, with beautiful beaches, mountainous terrain, amazing food and genuinely warm friendly locals - all of whom have that knowing smile when you realise just how special a place this is.

In terms of Pandanus House, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation for those looking for a high quality property that is both suitable for families or a small group of friends. I spent a lot of time researching self contained houses and this was by far the best value for properties in this high end category, and now having been there it would be hard to beat the location & we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionamicali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Heliconia Hideaway, From the outset, a beautiful welcome from Semmi at the Airport, and gorgeously casual greetings from the owners. We enjoyed a wonderful 7 night stay on the beach. The Villa was perfect for the 2 of us, spacious and welcoming. We never needed the heating or cooling, Weather for our stay was sun/sun/sun...!
You do feel as if the beach is your own, very few people wandering along.. Snorkeling is amazing out there, we did it at least twice daily. Saw two turtles at one point. The bus is really easy to utilise around the island, and the gardens and cafe across the road, are a real credit to John and Hinano. John's welcome wines and champagne were so good and generous. The fresh grated coconut each morning arriving on the deck, was a really nice.
All in all, we could not have asked for a more relaxing place to be. Stylish, spacious and above all serene.
Thanks John , Hinano, and staff.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank kakanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

If you are looking for an exclusive, private, very nice cottage to escape to on the Cook Islands, this is the place. It is essentially built right next door to the owner's home and offers privacy and nice appointments. The view is the best beach front "unit" that I have ever stayed in. There is help/staff nearby in the event you need it, but we rarely did. There are several restaurants nearby, a couple you can even walk to from the beach side. We would certainly return to this hideaway on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dboehmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

My wife and I needed a quiet peaceful holiday on a beach front with no hassles or stress and lots of privacy and Heliconia did that superbly.
We spent 11 wonderful days in the Beachfront Villa (Nov/Dec16). Everything from the outdoor shower/bath which we loved, to morning coconut deliveries, to your own canoe and paddle board all meant that life was stress free and fun.

The accommodation was excellent - we actually enjoyed rotating eating out in the many restaurants and cafe's (love Deli Licious by the way!), and then eating in using the barbecue and the wonderful fresh food from the local shop.

The owners (John and Hinano) could not help enough to ensure all went well. Hinano even arranged for their employee (Semi - such a great guy) to double me to the Police Station on his motorbike to sit the licence exam and driving test on his bike! Just passed - with Semi's help. Could not have been more appreciative. Am now a proud Cook Island drivers licence holder - something I will always treasure.

The Villa is only about 15m from the water - the views are amazing and the water in the lagoon gently rocks you to sleep at night.
We did a few of the tourist things like Game Fishing (caught a lovely Yellow Fin Tuna which the Captain (Moko) filleted and we barbecued - unbelievably good eating), rode the Buggies, hired a scooter for the duration, canoed everywhere and did a bit of snorkelling and lots of swimming. The rest of the time was just about chilling out - Heliconia does this very well.

To John and Hinano - thanks for the hospitality and your friendship. We really enjoyed it. All the best in the future.
Donna and Kevin

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardtoget, Owner at Heliconia Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Kia Orana Donna & Kevin,

Thank you so much for your kind words and such a detailed review. We have passed your thoughts onto the team and they are so pleased that you both enjoyed yourselves so much . In particular it is the simple pleasures and privacy that our guests enjoy so much and you have illustrated that so well in your review.

We will be here if you ever want a little more of paradise and if so, we look forward to welcoming you back to our island.

Very Best Wishes
Hinano & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This is a rare one.

I recommend it for the people.

Sure it boasts Aquamarine that will defy the eye.

The engaging, exclusive accom. The position. Oh the position.
Did I mention the position?

And then John and Hanoni.
Two brilliant personalities that match the brilliance of a stay - that may well alter how you envisage the rest your life.

Yep.

It's that good . But that's Raro. And that's Heliconia.
Truly.
And don't even ask,about the gardens. Just go and have a wander.
You may never wander back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardtoget, Owner at Heliconia Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hi Tim B

Thank you for taking time out to review our property. Your comments made us flush with joy and pride. Thank you so much!
We have passed your review onto our team and each and every word has lifted their spirits to new highs.
Many of our guests talk about the extraordinary feeling they get during their stay in the Villa. We think it is the absolute privacy and that feeling of having a little bit of paradise all to ones self for a short time.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews