We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic retreat tucked away in the corner of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Martley, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheMorris...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An idyllic retreat tucked away in the corner of an English country garden”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were looking for somewhere to escape to for our wedding anniversary, but couldn't decide whether we wanted the indulgence of a lovely boutique hotel or the privacy and peacefulness of a holiday rental in the countryside. We're so glad we settled on the Bothy - it gave us the best of both worlds! The surroundings themselves are impressive, being part of the grounds of a historic estate, but it's the setting of the Bothy that's really special, hidden away in the corner of a beautiful walled garden. The owner, Elaine, has gone to such lengths to make sure her guests have everything they could possibly need (and then some!) so you can hole up in real comfort and enjoy a genuine feeling of escape from the outside world. Many thanks to Elaine for a wonderful stay - we'll most definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting; waking up to birdsong.
Liked least: Only having the time to stay for one night!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us here at The Bothy!

Soooo glad you both enjoyed the night away for your celebration, we'd love to welcome you back again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice T
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had an amazing few nights at The Bothy! Elaine was so welcoming and every detail had been thought out with the room. We had a lovely home cooked meal on arrival with a bottle of wine and with the wood burning stove it was a real treat. Will definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Alice,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us! It was a great pleasure to welcome you and Chris and we hope to see you back again in the future. Huge thanks once more, Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We only had one night but it was perfect- Immaculately clean with fresh towels and bed linen, a really lovely place to stay. We had read reviews on the bed being super comfy and they did not let us down! Elaine was great and left us lots of handy guides for walks, a bottle of wine and toast for the morning! The area is lovely and we would definitely go back and highly recommend! Thanks Elaine!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Bex,
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and Andrew to stay, soooo glad you enjoyed it! Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again sometime! Thanks again and thanks of course for taking the time to leave a review for us, Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceL...
Avignon, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow a true 5 Star Experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the Bothy to be warmly greeted by the lovely Elaine, she really was the prefect host all weekend and nothing was too much trouble. The Bothy itself is 5 Star accomodation in every way - from the luxury bedding, the calibre of which would put most 5 star hotels to shame!!, to the very welcome bottle of chilled Rose wine waiting in the fridge. The Bothy had everything I could ever have wished for and more besides - situated in the peaceful countryside of Martley, near Worcester - it really was the perfect spot to enjoy a relaxing break. The Bothy was really well equipped - it had a tv, bose speaker, fridge, kettle, toaster, slow cooker, mini oven and hobs, log burning fire, complete with logs - although sadly we didn't need to light the fire as it was toasty warm inside as there is also a wall heater. Breakfast had been very well catered for, bread, james, honey, butter, a choice of cereals and milk - it was warm enough to sit out and enjoy breakfast at the lovely little bistro table and chairs outside the front of the accomodation, and what a view!! set in lush green countryside as far as the eye can see. The very modern bathroom was a real treat, with a good powerful shower, sink and loo - there was even a well stocked cupboard full of all the things you may forget on a break - from toothpaste, toothbrushes to shampoo and conditioner - Elaine really has thought of it all!!! I was so comfortable there it really did feel like home. We were sad to leave after such a perfect weekend but will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome, all the little touches that made it so personal
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, very much appreciated! We loved having you round to stay and would love to welcome you back anytime. Soooo glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you so much Annie and Brad, I am soo pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I really appreciate your taking the time to leave a review for me. We'd love to welcome you back anytime! It was great to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing