We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good week with lovely views”
Review of Cameron Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really good week with lovely views”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Cameron House Lodges. Our lodge was well equipped and had beautiful views. We were careful to turn off the heaters and lights etc so as to not have a big electricity bill!
We dined at the two restaurants at the Cameron House Hotel, the Boat House and used the spa at the Carrick. We also used the leisure facilities which were great. We found the concierge service very helpful
We enjoyed our stay vey much.

Room Tip: Our lodge was in an elevated position so the views were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    89
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
153
85
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the six person lodges for three nights and thought it was fantastic. The lodge was of a very high standard and spacious. We has read the warnings about electricity charges, and when we checked in it was all explained. We were careful with lights etc, but kept the lodge nice and warm and the final charge was twenty two pounds. I thought that was ok. We are in the claret jug and the boat house and really enjoyed both. Lodge concierges and all hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Scenery was of course beautiful. We would def visit again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank welshfamilyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

6 of us have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Carrick lodges, this is our annual trip together to eat, drink and do lots of walking.
The lodges are wonderful, very spacious great kitchen and bathrooms.
The only downside this time was the fact they had changed one of the two fridges into a freezer? not sure why when most people will only go for a week or so at a time and frozen food is not something you would need but two fridges are needed as 6 people bring a lot of fresh food. That was the only downsize really.
The spa was a great treat each night after a long days walk to relax in the open air Jacuzzi and all the other facilities within the spa, just needs a touch up in places though as the place is starting to look a little tired.
We shall be booking for next year and we all cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NooLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived with my friends to celebrate a 40th Birthday for a day at the Carrick Spa and on to an overnight at Cameron House. The girls at reception were lovely and very friendly . We used all the facilities including the Hydro pools, sauna, steam rooms , pool and of course the outside jacuzzi overlooking the grounds of the spa/golf with Ben lomand as a back drop - breathtaking. We all had lunch in spa - gorgeous tapas and wine. All of us were booked in for treatments as part of our packages and we all loved them. I opted for the Hot Stone Massage and it was excellent . Would recommend and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julesandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous. The rooms are spectacular and the food is just perfect, the pool and all facilities are just ideal. The views and walks from the hotel are just wonderful, we had a ground floor room overlooking the Loch. Can not wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms we viewed are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just returned home from our annual week in our lodge at Cameron House . We thoroughly enjoyed the facilities there , namely The Boat House , The Great Scots Bar and the swimming pool. We ate some very tasty snacks and enjoyed the drinks at both of the first two.
As for the lodge I'm afraid I cannot be so complimentary. A year ago I wrote that the decor was tired and desperately needed TLC !!! It was very disappointing to discover that no such care had been in evidence . Indeed the beading on the window in the master bedroom and also a window upstairs next to the balcony was missing or in the act of falling away! The front door was still desperately in need of a coat of varnish/ paint . The free wifi is a total disgrace , it is the slowest wifi I've ever come across in what purports to be a 5 star resort. The speed didn't allow me to download a photo I'd been emailed , I couldn't read online newspapers as the speed was slow . I tried to check the speed of the wifi online but that test failed due to the abysmal quality of the wifi service. I contacted the appropriate maintenance people about this , only to be told that this was known to be a poor service and nothing could be done for us until the service provider Swisscom had attended a meeting with management several days after we left . In addition we couldn't access BBC3/4 at any point in our weeks stay ( last year BBC2 was similarly unavailable)
Our management fees for this one week are about £800 annually for that week , we deserve much better !

Room Tip: If you want a lodge break ask if the lodge has been renovated recently!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CAMERON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnberry scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in Lodge 71 on 8th. February 2014. It's a 2 Bed. sleeps 6. The Bedroom areas have all been refurb. with underfloor heating in all 3 Bathrooms. The Bathrooms are luxury standard, lovely fluffy Bathrobes & upmarket toiletries.The upstairs open plan Kitchen & Living/Dining area
was still to be refurb. but didn't look as if it needed it!
We ate twice at The Boathouse & on both nights had a lovely meal, altho' the Wines are pricey.
The Spa, Pool, Gym & Beauty Rooms are lovely, great Hairdresser.
Altogether a great place to relax with your Family, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icicle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bruach Lodge
0.9 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
6.0 mi away
Lomond Luxury Lodges
Lomond Luxury Lodges
#1 of 4 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Lodges

Property: Cameron Lodges
Address: Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodges are situated on the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, within the grounds of the world-renowned five-star resort, Cameron House. This truly is Scottish luxury reborn. Resplendent with leisure club, pool, bar/restaurant and grill all waiting just for you. Add to this, a great family restaurant on the loch, a cheeky nine hole golf course and beauty bar. Cameron House lodges offer an exceptional range of one, two, three and four bedroom self-catering lodges that offer the privacy of home with the benefit of having luxury resort facilities. Each luxury lodge has spacious bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, covered balconies and wonderful views of the resort, golf course or Loch Lomond. The award winning Spa at Cameron House and championship Carrick golf course are just 2 miles away and easily accessible via regular, free shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Cameron Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Luxury Hotel Alexandria
Cameron Lodges Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing