We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have to ask ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron House Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you have to ask ...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

... You probably can't afford it!
Four of us stayed in Lodge 80 for the last week in April. The lodge itself was really well equipped and extremely comfortable. Like others have said, heating the place was a bit of a night are at times. For our first couple of days and with temperatures in the high teens, it wasn't a problem but then it got cold, very cold at times and that's when you realise the various wall-mounted electric heaters are rather inefficient! Electricity needs to be paid for separately and this can be rather expensive. It cost us £65 for 7 nights and we were very careful to switch things off when we were out. Forget using the built-in sauna, a very nice feature, but it gobbles power. I'm not really sure, despite their written warning about the cost of electricity, why it has to be so expensive and why, given the "luxury" tag this resort has, it has to be separate at all? Not really what one would expect in the 21st Century. Nonetheless, this is a lovely resort with fabulous views across the loch.

We used the lodge as a touring base and didn't avail ourselves of the hotel facilities, available to lodge residents, such as the pool, gym and spa etc. We did dine in the Boathouse one even which was "nice" but it is expensive. With a round (for 4) of pre-dinner drinks and two bottles of wine, the bill was almost £300 and, with quite a few families and small children in the restaurant at 8pm, wasn't exactly a fine-dining experience. There were also mistakes with the orders and some of my (very tasty) Loch Feyn muscles were served closed, a real no-no for any establishment.

As mentioned elsewhere the wi-fi on-site is hopeless and I'm not sure they could make it any more complicated to gain access! We didn't really need access for business purposes but more to plan our next day activities and look things up. Massive fail with laborious speeds and dropping of connections, assuming you could log-in in the first place! On O2 you can also rule-out any hint of a 3G connection in this location but a friend on Orange did find a sporadic GPRS signal which was sometimes usable.

All of the lodges are time share. We enquired about the cost and they range from around £3,000 to £12,000 depending upon a number of factors but it's the maintenance charges (for which you have no control and are set by DeVere) which are prohibitive at up to around £900 for your chosen week. Judging by the number of lodges up for sale, I would say people are selling-up and cutting their losses but I could be wrong.

All in all and in summary, a great location, well equipped and comfortable accommodation but expensive. I think if you have to ask how much something is, you probably can't afford it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    94
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
157
86
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Hen party - facilities fantastic - lodges immaculate and well equipped, everything you could think of. Would definitely recommend! Cameron House spa lovely but Carrick Spa to die for....the ultimate relaxation day....boathouse restaurant not good, food substandard and place freezing but management very understanding and tried to sort.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in one of the Lochside apartments over Easter and had a lovely week with the weather mostly being very kind to us. The lodge sleeps six; however, two of the beds are fold-away ones in the sitting area. There are three bathrooms and a sauna, good quality shampoos etc.; fluffy white towels and bath robes are also provided.
The whole lodge is very well fitted out and spotlessly clean. The kitchen has all utensils needed for self catering including halogen hob, Siemens dishwasher etc. A welcome pack of dish cloths, oven gloves and dishwasher tablets is also provided.
Amenities close by include a nine hole golf course and full swimming pool and spa experience, which is attached to the main Cameron House Hotel a short walk from our lodge. There are various restaurants in the hotel and "The Boat House" which is positioned next to a small marina. However, we tended not to frequent these as prices are very high and the drinks prices have a big mark up, plus a new "Waitrose" has been built in nearby Helensburgh, which is a joy to shop in!
As some previous reviewers have mentioned, electricity is charged extra at the end of your stay so beware as prices can be high especially in the colder weather.
Overall, a lovely relaxing break in a delightful location, I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Thank you! We had an amazing stay and our two children never wanted to leave. The service was outstanding and food was divine. We felt very special indeed and very well looked after.
As my youngest daughter (aged 5) said this is best place in the whole universe. We will definitely be back again.

The Babajee Family

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babajee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took 2 x two bedroom lodges for 3 nights each. Showers looked great but poor water supply. Dont try to look out the windowd in the lodge as they look as if they are never washed. Electricity was extra and one lodge had 54 pound bill only for that.
The bar above the swimming pool had very poor service. We had drinks to the value of 235 pounds and not one glass was picked up (and that was standing at the bar).
Had a snack lunch the next day for 3 persons. After 40 minutes, the food came and it was wrong. A quick gammon sandwich was then brought out to make up the order. Two bits of bread with a slice of fatty gammon. No garnish and no presentation.

Room Tip: Get one near the hotel as some have almost a mile walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent 4 days in lodge 124 last week. The reservation team was fantastic as although we wanted to stay we did have a set budget. The staff member Jacqueline went over and above to ensure that we got our stay and in the most suitable accommodation. After more than 30 minutes on the phone we had decided on a 3 bed lodge as we have family that like to just 'pop by' when we holiday close to home! With the beautiful 3 bed lodge this was not a bother and the in-laws even stayed the night. We had 2 x 1 year olds and when we called the reception for high chairs they were brought to us within the hour. We received champagne and chocolates as part of our deal and this came in handy for all the entertaining. My husband was a bit unsure about holidaying at the end of March in Scotland but we were so lucky with the weather - sunshine the whole 4 days. It's a 3 mile walk through the golf course to the main resort Cameron House which we did with the 2 buggies but we were delighted to be told we could get the complimentary shuttle service back to the Carrick as the kids were a bit tired. The best part was as part of your stay at the Carrick you have free access to the spa. I really wanted to go with my husband and we were excited to learn of the crèche facilities but they were closed last week. The staff again were great and organised a crèche member of staff to take my son a walk and play with him and we had 2 full hours of bliss in the 5* spa.
Everything is included in this holiday. We were swimming in the Cameron House pool with the baby, relaxing in the luxury lodge at night (although please remove all the Sky Sports channels it was rather difficult to have a conversation with my husband) and even a farm shop within 1 mile to make fantastic dinners. We never used the restaurants but the Claret Jug had a super deal of 2 x courses for 2 x people £29 which we would have liked to have made use of but only so much babysitting you can get on a ‘family holiday’! My whole family are now looking at booking their holidays next year as although the weather makes a difference there is so much to do if it rains – take bored games and a jigsaw just in case.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We will definitely go back to this extremely comfortable lodge accommodation in an absolutely stunning setting on the banks of Loch Lomond. We stayed in the converted farmhouse which was in tip top condition and had fabulous views. The design and finish were of a very high standard. One small note would be that the otherwise well designed bathrooms have tiled floors with no underfloor heating which can be pretty chilly underfoot in March! The heated towel rail did not really provide enough heat in the bathroom to make it truly comfortable for a luxurious bath. However the kitchen was well equipped and modern and when we had a glitch with the cooker it was immediately dealt with. The Carrick has a transport link with Cameron House so the facilities at the main hotel are easy to access. We made full use of all the facilities at Cameron House and at The Carrick - golf, tennis, squash, fitness rooms, spa, swimming pool,
yoga, pilates and aquarobics - we certainly felt we got our monies worth!
Dining was good. We had evening drinks in the Scot's Bar - cosy and atmospheric with photos of famous Scots on the walls. Dinner at The BoatHouse which was a set meal and was very good (wine a little on the expensive side). Our last night we went the to Scottish Night at The Claret Jug at The Carrick which was a great night out - plenty of spirited Scottish Country Dancing and locals and visitors alike had a fantastic, exhausting and fun filled evening.
We also took the opportunity to explore the area around Loch Lomond and did a complete circuit of the loch taking in all the sights and we can recommend doing that. We also walked part of the West Highland way along the East coast of the loch. So it was a fantastic week and we would mention Andrea (Lodge Reservations) as an extremely charming and helpful member of staff to deal with and our lovely drivers Gordon, Scott and Russell - whose local advice helped make our holiday very special. We will haste back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheeler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
3 reviews
13.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Lodges

Property: Cameron House Lodges
Address: Cameron House on Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodges are situated on the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, within the grounds of the world-renowned five-star resort, Cameron House. This truly is Scottish luxury reborn. Resplendent with leisure club, pool, bar/restaurant and grill all waiting just for you. Add to this, a great family restaurant on the loch, a cheeky nine hole golf course and beauty bar. Cameron House lodges offer an exceptional range of one, two, three and four bedroom self-catering lodges that offer the privacy of home with the benefit of having luxury resort facilities. Each luxury lodge has spacious bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, covered balconies and wonderful views of the resort, golf course or Loch Lomond. The award winning Spa at Cameron House and championship Carrick golf course are just 2 miles away and easily accessible via regular, free shuttle service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cameron House Luxury Hotel Alexandria
Cameron House Lodges Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing