We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloudside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloudside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights in June 16-17. B & B was excellent, room was very clean and spacious with every facility required. There was fresh fruit on the side in the bedroom with fresh bottles of water each day. There was a full cooked breakfast with a selection of fruit and cereals. We found Jim and Morag to be very friendly and would recommend this B & B to anyone. The only downside to this B & B, and this is only a minor criticism it was a little way out of the town and we would not have found this had it not been for the tourist information place which were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights on May weekend with friends of ours and this has been one of if not the best B&B we have stayed in. Very clean ,excellent rooms, and a guest lounge. Breakfast was a feast ,we didnt need to eat till afternoon. Hosts Jim & Morag were excellent,very friendly and made us very welcome.
Would recommend Cloudside to anyone going to Loch Lomond or Glasgow area it's so handy

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieT606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just a one night stay over but we both knew we had a winner when we pulled up. The welcome was warm, the room was excellently equipped and spotless, fresh fruit and bottled water was a nice touch. There was even a guest lounge to use. The breakfast was a highlight as it was great. We would strongly recommend a trip to loch lomond whilst your're there and eat at the Kilted Skirlie. Would stay again if ever we return. Many thanks to Jim & Morag.
Jason & Katy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jase3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Cloudside B&B in Alexandria. We arrived by train and the owners kindly picked up to save us the walk from the station as well as dropping us back when we left. The room was spotless and spacious with home comforts such as a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryer. The breakfasts were excellent - you can chose from a continental spread of cereal, muffins, croissants, cheeses, toast, fruit and yoghurt or go for a full cooked Scottish breakfast.

There is a lounge with a woodburner and TV where you can relax and eat a take away if you don't want to go out for dinner. You'll need to drive or get a taxi to most of the pubs and restaurants.

I would definitely recommend the Cloudside B&B and would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed with Jim and Morag over the new year, We were made so welcome and received fresh fruit and bottled water in our room on arrival. All facilities were excellant and very tastefully furnished. I would recommend Cloudside to anyone for either a long or short stay. We will definatley be visiting them again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Seven of of stayed on our way to and from Western Highlands, We were made so welcome, there is even your own sitting room with TV, dvds, log burner etc,nothing seems too much for Jim and Morag,the food is amazing, lovely dining room with so many choices available, one in our party has allergies but they were even catered for.Rooms are spotless! and well supplied with bottled water, tea coffee fresh friut muffins and biscuits,they are warm and beds very comfortable.We had a meal out on the way up at a lovely pub that Jim recommended and on the way back we stayed in and enjoyed a local take-away, they even provided plates and cutlery. Its on the outskirts of Alexandria.I joined trip advisor just to add this comment I was so impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Liz and I broke our trip back home from Balmacara at Cloudside. We arrived in pouring rain having had a difficult time finding the place because I had used the postcode rather than street name in the satnav. Once I corrected that it was easy but we were a little stressed so it was great to be greeted by Jims calming influence. The room was very comfortable and clean with everything we could have possibly wanted. Jim helped us with a place to eat and also told us we could use the lounge when we got back, which we did and sat in front of a coal fire as the wind whistled and the rain battered down. It was so comfortable we loved it. We had a good night in a comfortable bed and then looked forward to breakfast. Morag looked after us very well. Plenty of choice, cereals, fresh fruit, fresh juice and delicious eggs and bacon, with plenty of other options for those with larger appetites. We were delighted with our choice and would recommend Cloudside to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel_smith61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.3 mi away
Ardoch Cottage
Ardoch Cottage
#1 of 2 in Gartocharn
59 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bruach Lodge
Bruach Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arden
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cameron Club Lodges at The Carrick
1 mi away
Cameron House Lodges
Cameron House Lodges
#2 of 8 in Alexandria
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Bed & Breakfast

Address: Overton Road, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 0LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloudside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloudside offers you a warm and friendly welcome. Set in quiet leafy surroundings within an enclosed garden, Situated 1.5 miles from the shores of Loch Lomond and the National park, an ideal location for visiting some of Scotland's main attractions with Scotland's capital Edinburgh, Historic Royal Stirling and the vibrant city of Glasgow all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloudside Bed & Breakfast Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing