We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, spotless and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloudside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, spotless and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and Morag and Jim are excellent hosts. On our arrival we found fresh flowers, fresh fruit and bottled water in our room and these were replenished each day. The room was spacious and very clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfasts were terrific and Morag had gluten free bread, cereal and muffins so I really appreciated her accommodating me. A wonderful stay! The personal parking space was a bonus.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoChris73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
113
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I spent 1 night at Cloudside B&B.
On arrival I was welcomed by James who was friendly and welcoming.
I was shown to my room a twin at the back of the house.
James then showed me around and explained where everything was.
My room was excellent very clean, well decorated, with good furniture.
The bed was very comfortable which made for a good nights sleep.
The bedding was of a good quality.
The room has a tv/dvd with wifi throughout the house with a good signal.
Tea and coffee, hot chocolate was available with a bowl of fruit.
The ensuite was immaculate with a good warm shower, nice soft white towels with complimentary toiletries.
There is a tv lounge where you can sit and watch the tv on a large LCD screen freeview and virgin is available.
The b&b is very quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast in the morning is excellent you have a choice of continental and cooked.
Morag is a good cook and the portions are good, it fills you up for the day.
I highly recommend this b&b, friendly hosts, great accommodation at a good rate, with good levels of service/hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was large and very comfortable with extra facilities. Fresh fruit provided too plus two bottles of mineral water along with the usual teamaking facilities.
Lots of lovely good sized towels with toiletries.
Excellent selection for breakfast in what seemed newly decorated breakfast room.
Could not fault this B & B at all.

Room Tip: We asked for twin - quiet - at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benmark95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This Bed & Breakfast was excellent in every way. Accommodation was spotless and well appointed boasting comfortable rooms with many extras and set out with obvious thought and care by the hosts, Jim and Morag
Breakfast was delicious and offered an extensive choice for every taste, well presented and beautifully cooked to perfection.
My wife and I had booked for one night to attend a family occasion but due to the first class accommodation and friendliness of the proprietors, decided to stay another night. At short notice Jim and Morag managed to accommodate us in another double room which, although was not on suite had its own massive private bathroom next door and as an added bonus,a beautiful private walled outside seating area accessed by patio doors in the room.

There are usually negative points which can be commented on in any hotel or B&B although, on this occasion , I cant think of one.

Well done Jim and Morag I would recommend Cloudside to anyone and will, most certainly return when in the area.

Brian and Helen G

Room Tip: In Cloudsiide, by the comments of other guests staying any room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigra333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at this B&B.The accommodation is to a very high standard of cleanliness and spacious. It’s the little extras that make the difference in this B&B fresh flowers, fresh fruit, delicious biscuits, bottled water, free wi-fi . James is very friendly and of good advice, he gave us plenty of restaurants addresses nearby. Breakfast was very good with a choice of continental or traditional full Scottish. I would recommend this B&B.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we stayed over on a sat night to attend a party nearby, we were met by Jim on arrival and he couldn't do enough for us, showing us all around where we needed to know, we booked the double room with separate bathroom and glad we did, as the bathroom is stunning, huge big standalone bath and very nicely done, the bedroom was great too and had the added bonus of a door leading out to the garden decking which was great, breakfast in the morning by Morag was excellent, such a great choice of fruit, cereals and teas and coffee along with a great selection of hot foods too, will definitely be going back again if we can

Room Tip: the double room with private bathroom is a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27paulp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Cloudside B&B provides a home away from home environment. My wife and I together with our sons in separate rooms spent 10 wonderful days at the Cloudside B&B.

The experience was totally positive, starting with the clean and specious rooms with fresh fruit, bottled water, fresh cut-flours and hot water kettle for making your own coffee and tea. What to say about the breakfast; finally a cooked Scottish breakfast that has been prepared for you “specifically”, you have a choice of cereal, fresh milk, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea. Thank you Morag for the memorable, incredible daily bacon and eggs!

There is also lounge with a wood burning stove and TV with direct access to an outside deck overlooking a small garden area. On two separate occasions I lit the wood burning stove and just relaxed in the lounge for a couple of hours.

Cloudside B&B is just a 5 minute walk to Alexandria town center with its many small shops ranging from hairdressers, post office, chemist, restaurants and grocery stores. From the town center you can also take the train which runs every 20 minutes to Glasgow and other major Scottish towns. Calling a taxi or picking one up at the town center is a short 5 minute drive to Loch Lomond shore and Balloch. The owners Jim and Morag were great hosts and truly provided a warm welcoming environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
202 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.1 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloudside Bed & Breakfast
Address: Overton Road, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 0LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloudside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloudside offers you a warm and friendly welcome. Set in quiet leafy surroundings within an enclosed garden, Situated 1.5 miles from the shores of Loch Lomond and the National park, an ideal location for visiting some of Scotland's main attractions with Scotland's capital Edinburgh, Historic Royal Stirling and the vibrant city of Glasgow all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloudside Bed & Breakfast Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing