We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved us from starving”

palombos of balloch
Ranked #17 of 36 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: scotlands finest traditional fish and chips. all produce sourced locally and use as many local suppliers as possible. right on the banks of bonnie loch lomond. also including fine bed and breakfast rooms. Eat, drink and relax.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saved us from starving”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We ate at Palombos after we'd waited an hour at a nearby restaurant for some sandwiches and left in disgust. Popped over the road and had scampi and chips which saved the day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    31
    15
    15
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Got haggis supper and hamburger supper with two fritters ,,did not enjoy it found the chips to be tasteless and as for a large haggis no it was not ,, could have put up with the tasteless food but to be overcharged was something else ,,took home a menu and found the menu prices didn't match up with the prices on the board,,,, I think the server was under pressure and they should be reviewing the staffing if they don't want orders getting mixed up or over charged ,,,we were minus the fritters until I kindly reminded the assistant or I'd have been paying even more for my tasteless meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WeeBonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good sit-in fish and chips restaurant”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

substantial helpings of good fish and chips at a reasonable price. A glass of wine or a can of beer, is available. The decor is very modest, but its a fish and chip store. It also serves mushy peas! truly a delicacy!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good size portions”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great fish and ship shop rum by a local family. Food is fresh and staff are friendly. You can phone ahead your order or order on line to beat the queues.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scotts-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet lunch”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Ate here last weekend, lunch time on a Sunday. Me and my boyfriend were the only people sitting in to eat, but there was a steady flow of customers taking away for a Sunday lunch from what we could see. Food itself was lovely, a bit expensive for a chippy but nice big portions and classic chip shop chips. I had the steak pie and chips, lovely thick gravy and plenty of steak, pastry was a bit overdone but was still lovely. Boyfriend had fish and chips and again, massive portion and lovely batter and nicely cooked. Nice relaxing music and my boyfriend certainly enjoyed the sky sports on the telly! Would definitely eat there again if I had a bit of spare cash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed palombos of balloch also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to palombos of balloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing