We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, lovely location, highly recomended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“nice hotel, lovely location, highly recomended”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

stayed for 1 night in feb 2012


hotel is in a lovely location on banks of loch lommond. only a short drive past glasgow, great place to get away from it all.

hotel grounds are nice, and hotel itself (while a little dark inside) is very nice. rooms are very comfortable and the arm chair in room,is very, very,very comfortable (perhaps a few more very's called for).

we ate at the claret jug for dinner via free shuttle bus (nice steak) and at the boat house for lunch (very nice burger). service at breakfast could have been better, as server was very rude and gave us toast burned to a crisp- i think deliberatly as i had asked where our coffees were.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coconut-monkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Many thanks for your review! I sincerely appreciate your recommendation as Cameron being a great escape from the city, as we are located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International airport, beside the stunning bank of Loch Lomond.
I am also delighted that found your bedroom so well appointed, enjoyed the great locally sourced steak in our Claret Jug, and lanarkshire blue cheese burger in our Boathouse. I am very sorry that your experience at breakfast was not of the same standard as other aspects of your stay, and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I do hope you return for another escape when you can, and very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    1,270
    844
    415
    204
See reviews for
1,132
3,287
33
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our second trip to Cameron House, and it is possibly my favourite hotel in the UK. From arrival and the valet parking, through to a final afternoon in the Spa the staff just can't do enough for you. The choice of onsite restaurants is exceptional (Martin Wishart reviewed separately), and there really is something for all tastes from the Michelin Star Martin Wishart, through the Cameron Grill, to the more relaxed Boat House and the Claret Jug up at the spa.
The hotel staff really are helpful, this time we wanted to hire some bikes, and this was all arranged easily on the Monday for hire on the Tuesday.

Breakfast at Cameron House is excellent, superb choice of cold/continental buffet options, hot buffer, plus various other things cooked to order - Scotch pancakes, bacon & maple syrup was great!

Can't recommend Cameron House highly enough, will certainly be back again for a relaxing break for a few days.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, suites really excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WetherbySteve460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am really glad that you enjoyed your second visit to Cameron so much, and that you were treated to a Loch View upgrade to make your visit extra special! Your praise of our leisure facilities, Great Scots bar, bedrooms, and especially of the fantastic team we have here is most welcome, and kindly appreciated.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Enjoyed this stay better than the last as we were upgraded to a loch view room for being a return customer. The room was beautiful and spotless. The breakfast is excellent and plenty of choice. Although, twice now the scrambled eggs are watery and powdery and the bacon undercooked. However, so much choice regardless of that. Staff are all very friendly. Leisure area is very nice as is the great scots bar. Looking forward to returning again.

Room Tip: definitely opt for loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLOUS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am really glad that you enjoyed your second visit to Cameron so much, and that you were treated to a Loch View upgrade to make your visit extra special! Your praise of our leisure facilities, Great Scots bar, bedrooms, and especially of the fantastic team we have here is most welcome, and kindly appreciated.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Wonderful hotel, luxurious and inviting. Every time we have passed it I have said that I would love to stay there and we did last night. Beautiful room and attentive staff. Scenery absolutely enchanting a well worth a walk round the resort.
Only negative point, although minor as a five star hotel I was disappointed that the tea tray had not been refilled and there was a layer of dust on the teapot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you found our staff to be excellent, and that you thought very highly of our Boathouse restaurant. I do however, apologise that you encountered slow service during your visit, this is certainly not the level of service that we strive to deliver for our guests.
Please be advised that whilst our Carrick Spa is located 2 miles north of Cameron, we do offer complimentary half hour luxury shuttles to make this journey as seamless as possible.
I do hope that you return in the future, and enjoy an absolutely flawless stay,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having stayed at Cameron House before (Oct 2010) we were really excited about our stay. The reception and front of house staff are excellent and the Boathouse Restaurant was, as usual, outstanding - the staff are delightful and helpful. The main issue was with the speed of the service in all areas (except the Boathouse). We waited 15 minutes from ordering a drink til its arrival - then it was wrong unfortunately....) Delays between courses at dinner were also lengthy - I think almost an hour between starter and main course. The staff were doing their best and were polite and apologetic - it was just a bit chaotic. I was also disappointed that children were in the bar at night and that there was no child free areas in the dining room. It would be a useful addition to have a separate area for those who are more mature and prefer a quieter dining experience. The spa isn't in the hotel - its about 2 miles away so be aware ofthis when booking treatments.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you found our staff to be excellent, and that you thought very highly of our Boathouse restaurant. I do however, apologise that you encountered slow service during your visit, this is certainly not the level of service that we strive to deliver for our guests.
Please be advised that whilst our Carrick Spa is located 2 miles north of Cameron, we do offer complimentary half hour luxury shuttles to make this journey as seamless as possible.
I do hope that you return in the future, and enjoy an absolutely flawless stay,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just back from overnight stay for my parnters 40th it was lovely really relaxing,pool great went to boathouse restaurant great service only bad thing paid 24 pounds for steak it was tiny think it was the manager who served us couldnt have been nicer was going to walk back but he arranged a lift back which was brilliant.Went to the bar got southern comfort lemonade nearly 7 pounds knew it would be dear but think thats just to much maybe thats why it was quiet,got breakfast in room it was lovely,would go back again staff couldnt be nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
A huge thank you for choosing to celebrate your partners special birthday at Cameron House! Your praise of our Boathouse restaurant is very kindly appreciated, and I am glad you were well looked after by our team here. It is also fantastic to learn that you found our staff so welcoming and friendly throughout the resort, and I do hope to welcome you back to celebrate further special occasions,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in a suite with a loch view and the view really was lovely! Room was a good size and clean. Staff were pleasant in the bar and boathouse restaurant but generally service was slow throughout our stay and food and drinks were very pricey. We went during school holidays which was possibly bad timing on our part but kids were running round bar, restaurant and pool screaming during our entire stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you communicating that you enjoyed the stunning views from your suite, and that you found our team to be friendly in the Boathouse, and Great Scots Bar. I do apologise that you experienced slow service, as this is not the level of customer attention that we pride ourselves on delivering to our guests.
I do hope you return in the near future, when you can experience our resort at a different time,

Kind Regards,
John Keating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing