We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Dunmow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A large hotel with spacious, very well-equipped bedrooms and friendly helpful staff. Lots of facilities and activities in and around the hotel. Good for families and as a base to explore the beautiful local countryside.

There were only two drawback for us. One was the size - we would have preferred a rather more intimate, country house hotel - but then we knew that beforehand. If you like Gleneagles, you will like Cameron House.

Our main issue, however, was the bar and restaurants - a disappointment. Inevitably perhaps because of the number of guests, they have a sort of upmarket cafeteria feel and were not very good value, either.

The Martin Wishart restaurant was quite good but didn't do it for us. Generally a high standard but some way short of our expectations. Not all of the dishes worked. Not enough staff nor well-trained enough to pull it off. Surprisingly long wait for a menu. Amuse Bouche came before the bread and butter. Empty bottles and aperitif glasses left on the table too long; obviously told not to leave the bottled water on the table, which is fine, but lack of attentiveness meant we had to keep asking for glasses to be refilled. Awkwardness and a lack of style in serving and removing plates. Picky, yes, but with its promotion and prices, these individually small things should be second nature to the staff. Good but expensive wine list.

We preferred the Boathouse - less aspirational. We didn't eat at the Cameron Grill.

Overall we were glad we stayed there - the warmth and friendliness of the staff was memorable.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,536
    1,181
    778
    373
    167
See reviews for
1,035
3,039
32
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a lovely 2 day stay here. Had bought a 4 day room and paid in advance. The hotel was very understanding about a family illness which meant we had to cut our stay short. Refund with no questions asked. All 5* except we felt there were not enough staff at breakfast or for the evening meal. Lovely meal, but had to wait for around 50mins. Apologies were made. All in all, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSprakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I spent two days here, and managed to take some fabulous photographs.
I can say that the staff are superbly helpful and polite. The room which overlooked the Loch was huge with a very comfortable bed. We ate at the fabulous Martin Wishart restaurant on the first night, and this was a great experience with beautiful food and attentive staff.
The second night we tried to book the Cameron Grill restaurant, but this was fully booked so we were mini-bussed 2 miles down the road to the Claret Jug; I was very disappointed by the limited choice of meals and the quality of the steak. Very expensive.

I also tried the hotel gym which was ok, but was put off using the pool etc because the changing room floors were not particularly clean :-(

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila_atty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Don't get me wrong, the location is absolutely stunning. The bedrooms are a good size but why are the furnishings so dark? Talk about depressing. You couldn't see to put make up on and the room was very poorly lit - reading was a real strain on the old eyes. We had a garden room. Well, anyway, they obviously didn't look up the definition in the dictionary as what we looked onto was a steep bank just outside our window ( no flowers or shrubs), and just served to snatch any natural light. It felt like we were in the basement, not what you would expect for the price. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable.
Like others, I had an issue with the £100 per night on the credit card when we had paid for full board. When I queried this, I was informed that it was easy to run up this amount with a couple of whiskies!!!!
The gym facilities were great, although I was surprised it wasn't manned - good job I knew how to use the equipment. The pool was also great.
The main restaurant ( Cameron Grill) - well, that definitely left a lot to be desired for evening meals . The waiters were very young and inexperienced and didn't really deal with problems satisfactorily. However I found the breakfast very acceptable. Things were a lot better over in the Boat House, food was much nicer and presentation was good, however this was rather spoilt by the administration and they tried to double charge us for the drinks. Very unprofessional. It then took ages to sort out and when we checked out they also tried to charge us for the meals we had already paid for.
All in all, this is a lovely hotel but it needs a good refurb to make it light and appealing.Staff need more training. It would also benefit from some earthworks so that the rooms on the lower floors had some natural light and views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lovely hotel and most of the staff are helpful and efficient, with the possible exception of the staff waiting on at breakfast (disorganised at best). The hotel itself, location and facilities are fantastic. The restaurants in the hotel are over priced and are not good value for money, my advice is go into Balloch (Coach House and Tullie Inn were best). Rooms are well appointed, however a few minor niggles - no shaving mirror, kettle lead is about 2 inches long, no where appropriate for the wife to use a hairdryer and although advertised as a Loch view room should read 'enormous tree view'. Last point, the concierge service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eviladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place really does exceed your expectations - from the breathtaking views of the Loch and the ever changing scenery, to the amazing service where nothing is too much trouble, to the quality of the food which is outstanding, and the fantastic rooms with big comfy beds and luxury bathrooms. And then there's the spa...
Had an amazing time here and can't wait to save up enough money so that I can return with my hubby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location is outstanding, and the view from the gym second to none. Now the negatives. I have never stayed in such a dark room. We stayed with friends and all the women complained about lack of light to put make up on. (dark brown walls and dim lighting- even the door handles were brown leather) Badly designed rooms - side lights placed so I was unable to read in bed- had to have the overhead ceiling lights on to do so. Defintely a case of style over substance. Bed was large and comfortable, plenty of storage space and nice toiletries. Basic room spacious. Drainy smell in toilet.
Food underwhelming in hotel- not bad just ordinary. Boathouse chicken was raw, and a previous review mentioned TGI Friday atmosphere. I agree but better food in TGIs. Breakfast average buffet- cooked to order cold, staff inexperienced but friendly. (a two cup cafetiere for coffee for 5?)and when we asked for more we were given another two cup pot- then we gave up.
Spa prices very high and we didn't use it.
Gym good as mentioned, pools (two) full of children so nowhere for a serious swim. It has a water chute so perfect for families.
This place might suit well healed family groups but at the weekend is not a great adult break. A lovely area but left feeling we would have enjoyed a B and B more.

Room Tip: Possibly higher floors will have better light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
2 reviews
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing