We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel in a one off location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Special hotel in a one off location”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on a romantic break. The setting of this hotel is spectacular, its on the banks of Loch Lomond and the views during our visit were awe inspiring. We were welcomed into the hotel by the guys at the Valet parking, these guys are really helpful and nothing is too much bother for them. Our check in was swift and efficient, Lauren took care of us and gave us a tour of the hotel as this was our first visit.

Our room was modern and immaculately presented with an amazing view of the Loch and the sea plane.

We had cocktails in the Great Scots bar, the bar tenders are chatty and efficient, the cocktails are not cheap but taste amazing.

We only had breakfast in the Cameron grill restaurant, buffet style, local produce with an al a carte option. The Martin Wishart restaurant looked very up market. The six course taster menu is £70 per person and £120 with wine. Pricey but the menu looked good.

The Carrick spa was £39 each for the day, the hotel pool and spa was also impressive.

The sea plane is £119 per person and this was a really popular option as it was on the go all day. A champagne cruise lasting 90 mins is also available all year, the cruiser looked amazing, don't know the price of this.

All in all we loved our stay at this hotel and cant wait to return, I cant recommend it highly enough. The hotel is 5 star in every respect, not at all stuffy but warm and welcoming are the order of the day here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMOEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,652
    1,244
    831
    400
    190
See reviews for
1,103
3,220
33
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We came to Cameron House for our honeymoon and didnt want to leave. The staff were helpful and professional wherever we went. The hawk walk was amazing and one of the highlights of our week. We dined in Wisharts which was a truly fantastic experience and worth every penny. The food at the Cameron grill and the boat house was also very good. We can't wait to visit again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBez75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The name 'loch view room' dubious. Our view was of a building with bike locked to its railings. Loch could be seen if you made the effort to look. Lovely feel to hotel, polite staff and nice leisure facilities. Disappointed with food at both boathouse and Cameron grill - very expensive for quality of food served. Rooms very dark - nice choice of magazines provided but too dark to read them. On the whole nice stay but would have expected more for the high price, particularly food.

Room Tip: Ask questions about view you have from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd time here, I came here 20 years ago and was appalled at how poor the staff were. Well 20 years on the hotel has been upgraded well, the facilities cant be faulted but given the price that you pay here. I dont think it is unreasonable to expect good service.

Too many small things wrong to mention, but overall it left me thinking I might come back again.....in 20 years.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel and surrounding area is really lovely, the staff are friendly especially the guys on the door. However when trying to book for dinner on night 1 the hotel was let down by the 2 ladies taking bookings. They had an air of you should be thankful you managed to get a booking attitude. Since it was quite obvious we had no prior knowledge of facilities a bit of an insight into the restaurants before being rushed for a decision would have been nice. The availability for eating was really restricted so we chose based on time. My friend and I ended up in The Boat House which is pretty much an overpriced motorway caff including the overtired children, Yucko!! Food was quite average and in no way deserved the extremely flattering prices attached to each dish. Had we been made aware it was a family orientated atmosphere we could have avoided the major disappointment and the completely unjustified cash haemorrhage.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked a junior suite for 3 nights as it was my husbands birthday. When we got to our room we were disappointed as it was not clean. Floors were dusty, hairs in the shower area and furniture worn. We complained and were told we would be moved to an upgraded room. While we waited for our luggage to be moved, what we assumed was head house cleaner arrived, and very aggressively asked us what was wrong with the room. She brought a young girl in and told her to mop the floor and clean the shower, and then told us that the hairs on the bathroom floor would have come from her mop and that this was unavoidable( nice !) She generally made us feel very uncomfortable as we waited to be moved. This should have been done once we were gone, we had explained our problems ot the manager already. This all happened at around 4pm, and the entire corridor was littered with room service trays and rubbish. So it appeared the cleaning was not being kept on top of generally.However, having been told that we were being upgaded we expected the next room to be better. This was one of the hotels "Whisky Suites". When we arrived at the room we were pleased with the size of it, however it smelled damp and musty. The bathroom floor was a mess as the grout was missing from the tiles, and the toilet was situated within the wet area of the shower. The room was again dusty. We decided not to complain again, but were not impressed. The following morning we used the shower, only to find that the shower head was faulty and sprayed water everywhere including all over the toilet area. The hotel fixed the shower, but everytime we used it, it still soaked the WC area, so not very pleasant or hygienic to have pools of water at your feet. The hotel in general has lots of style, its very dramatic in terms of lighting and dark colours, however dark lighting clearly means the cleaners don't see the dust. Room service trays and ice buckets in corridors seemed to take almost 36 hours to be cleared. Staff uniforms looked like they were donated from the local charity shop, clearly the staff had been told to wear black and that was it. The concierge staff are the hotels best asset, smart, cheery and hellpful. Apart from these guys all of the other staff members clothes seemed ill fitting, particularly the girl who showed us in for breakfast. And the older woman on reception was abrupt, unhelpful and scruffy. All in all really disappointing and not what we expected. The hotel is clearly poorly managed. We stayed in a Premier Inn shortly after for a business trip, the room was cleaner and the staff were incredibly helpful and well presented. So sad that a beautiful hotel in a stunning situation is slipping so badly in standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A large hotel with spacious, very well-equipped bedrooms and friendly helpful staff. Lots of facilities and activities in and around the hotel. Good for families and as a base to explore the beautiful local countryside.

There were only two drawback for us. One was the size - we would have preferred a rather more intimate, country house hotel - but then we knew that beforehand. If you like Gleneagles, you will like Cameron House.

Our main issue, however, was the bar and restaurants - a disappointment. Inevitably perhaps because of the number of guests, they have a sort of upmarket cafeteria feel and were not very good value, either.

The Martin Wishart restaurant was quite good but didn't do it for us. Generally a high standard but some way short of our expectations. Not all of the dishes worked. Not enough staff nor well-trained enough to pull it off. Surprisingly long wait for a menu. Amuse Bouche came before the bread and butter. Empty bottles and aperitif glasses left on the table too long; obviously told not to leave the bottled water on the table, which is fine, but lack of attentiveness meant we had to keep asking for glasses to be refilled. Awkwardness and a lack of style in serving and removing plates. Picky, yes, but with its promotion and prices, these individually small things should be second nature to the staff. Good but expensive wine list.

We preferred the Boathouse - less aspirational. We didn't eat at the Cameron Grill.

Overall we were glad we stayed there - the warmth and friendliness of the staff was memorable.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
3 reviews
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing