We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to "Lighten" up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs to "Lighten" up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Could not believe how dark the rooms were, the lighting was really bad, mind you it was on the dark side throughout the hotel. The room had an enormous comfy bed and apart from the noisy fan (room 14) couldn't find fault with anything else. Breakfast very good. Has a really nice swimming pool with pool table and table hockey upstairs. We chose a garden room as it was the most reasonably priced - but to be honest not much of a "garden". Valet parking was a nice touch.
Minus - No magnifying mirror in the bathroom
Plus - Has to be the views...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,561
    1,189
    784
    375
    168
See reviews for
1,043
3,069
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently attending a wedding here and stayed the entire weekend. What you would expect for a Scottish hotel, tartan everywhere, fireplaces, dark and cosy. Right next to the Loch so beautiful view from the bar. Lots of activities on this property so you can go any season and enjoy it. Rooms were good and cosy... not the most modern.. so a few things in the room could use some refreshing but nothing major. Had a huge bed which was very comfy. We had an issue with keeping the heating regulated but was fine in the end. Restaurant on hotel property is excellent as well. Worth it, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criminy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel has a stunning location on the banks of Loch Lomond, with views across to Ben Lomond with snow on the peak. The hotel reception greets you opulent warm and welcoming. Staff fantastically dressed in highland garb, I had pre booked as an anniversary weekend and we were treated exceptionally well. Lovely room on the corner of the hotel excellent décor spotlessly clean and what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The flowers organised by the hotel were lovely and lasted for two weeks. Used two of the four restaurants, food excellent in both although the Boathouse was cold due to a heating fault.
The spa was a huge complex and again clean with great facilities.

The customer service was excellent throughout and when we brought to the attention of the General Manager a couple of items he was very attentive and would definitely use the hotel again.

Its location makes the hotel a great base and the drive through Glencoe was memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel overlooking loch, if using the spa take a pound for lockers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here recently for my birthday and had a fabulous time. Being in our mid twenties, we did wonder if we would feel out of place, but all the staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. Special mention to a very nice young brunette girl serving dinner and Russell(?) showing us to our room and valet parking the car. Nice welcoming plate of petit fours in the room on arrival and one of the nicest standard rooms I’ve stayed, albeit a bit cold!
We had dinner in the Cameron House Grill which was amazing. Loved how each dish had a few little extras for garnish not mentioned on the menu such as mini meringues with the apple tart tatin. The tables are very close to each other though. Very impressive selection for breakfast. We had booked an advance rate and being a Sunday found it surprising cheap. Overall would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetheart559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hadn't been to stay at Cameron House for a few years, but had been aware that they had continued to invest in the property, and it was good to be able to return to see what they had done - which is very good indeed.

From the moment that you arrive, the staff give a real feeing of warmth and hospitality, which in a hotel as busy as this is not as easy as it might seem.

Rooms (at least the one that I had) are fabulous - well appointed and well designed in keeping with the style of hotel, but with the special touches and gadgets that today's traveller needs. My room had a view over the loch - and worth spending the bit extra for that alone.

I was there for a business event, and my wife used the Boat House at night to dine in - and she said that it was excellent, and worth the short walk from the main hotel building.

All-in-all an excellent experience - and would highly recommend to anyone - and only a short-ish journey from Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch - stunning vista!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel itself is fine. I've stayed in other 5* that I think have done it better but in my opinion that's not the reason to stay. The hotel is sited on the banks of Loch Lomand which provides some of the most stunning and dramatic views. We had a glorious view from our room. The view changed by the minute and I could have watched it all day and wouldn't be bored!
The prices are very high (again compared with other hotels I've stayed in). We paid about £200 prpn for a standard double. I think the lack of other good quality hotels in the area give them the ability to charge what they like.
We stayed here to visit friends who lived close by so we didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel. We had room service one night and thought that was good, fast and fairly priced (£8 for sandwich and chips).
Breakfast was good. Just be prepared to wait for up to 15mins to be seated. Best to go early to avoid a long wait.
Our room was fairly noisy during the night. There was a wedding in the hotel on the weekend we stayed so people were returning to their rooms throughout the night and doors slamming etc. the room above us had squeaky floorboards which could be heard quite loudly in our room.
There was also a really noisy motor/fan in ceiling which we couldn't figure out what it was for and how to turn off dispite pressing all buttons, turning heating /AC off..! We were room 27 So avoid that one if you're a light sleeper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGirl275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Its been a few years since I last stayed and had forgotten how lovely it was. Reception is very dark as others say and its important to remember the way back to your room. I got lost on more than one occasion but maybe the time spent at the bar didn't help! Staff are great and would recommend a stay if you enjoy a quality experience. Rooms are fabulous

Room Tip: get one close to reception to avoid getting lost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank open2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing