We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. location. vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was very good.
Cameron House sits in a stunning location on the banks of Loch Lomond. The entrance hall to the hotel s a bit dour and glum with bad (almost non-existent) lighting which I think is a huge mistake.
It is not clear what to do with your car when you arrive [You drive it to the front of the hotel and a man wearing plus-fours, brogues and a waist-coat will park it for you in a car-park adjacent to the hotel, which guests don't have any access to, for no good reason other than they are looking for a tip].
But the hotel staff were really helpful and our dinner in the Martin Wishart Michelin star restaurant was really pretty fantastic. We had a truly delightful dinner.
The staff at the breakfast were a bit slow, and negligent. Not up to standard at all. There were no plates available for the cooked breakfast. Had to ask twice and wait 5 minutes which is really not acceptable when paying a top dollar price. We had finished our buffet breakfast before being offered tea or coffee. The people at the next table had ordered some toast and had to ask twice when it was coming.
This would have scored higher if decent lighting in the reception area, and proper service at breakfast. The evening meal was exceptional and the location superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamAndrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,210 - 4,216 of 6,057 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We always find it difficult to find somewhere to stay where our young children are accommodated. This is the first UK based hotel that I can truly say is spectacular in going more than the extra mile for children. It is clear from the warm smiles we receive that children are clearly welcome and the children have enjoyed this stay more than any other. The location is beautiful, menus are child (and adult!) friendly, activities on offer suit all the family. We will be sad to leave tomorrow however we have no doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a fantastic setting but who designed the interior of this hotel?? It is soooo dark it doesn't reflect the lovely setting of the loch at all. Our room was like a funeral parlour dark walls the lighting was poor, we had to ask for another standard lamp which still wasn't enough to give a nice atmosphere to the room. Even the light shades are dark which is pointless.
We ate in the boathouse, we have been before it has a nice atmosphere lovely and bright. The staff have dreadful t-shirts on so it was hard to know who was working and who was a guest, this was partly due to 3 members of staff walking passed us with no greeting set all. The meal was 'ok' overpriced as usual. The service was as good as the mcdonalds in balloch. Overall I would say go to the duck bay, a much better menu and professional staff not young kids serving.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Cameron house twice this year I can honestly say we will absolutely be staying again next year. I think with this hotel especially you are much better off staying for a few nights, there is so much to do and if done over a couple of days there is nowhere better to do it.

In the summer myself and my girlfriend stayed in a standard double room and although the room was lovely the hotel was very busy and so the service was just ok. The golf complex, The Carrick, along with the Spa is exceptional - massively recommend this as something to do whilst at the hotel. The Spa is the best we've ever been to, the Golf isn't far off. At night we ate at both Duck Bay next door (highly recommend) and then also the bar grill as part of the hotel. Overall the stay was good apart from a few things which I think could have been slightly better.

On our second return to the hotel, November 2013, I can report we had the best hotel experience we have ever had. This hotel, it's service, the food and it's surroundings has absolute set itself apart. We stayed in one of the Whiskey Suites - well worth paying a bit extra for - and wow was it worth it. The grill bar meal we had was exceptional and the whiskey experience at the bar in the hotel afterwards was brilliant!

Overall, I'd suggest winter instead of summer, the scenery from the hotel is breathtaking. In terms of accommodation there isn't a bad option at this hotel, but for a truly fantastic stay it's worth staying in a whiskey suite. Food and drink in the hotel is superb and the staff are fantastic, especially the management team.

Absolutely recommend staying here!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank P4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for a one night spa break which we could not fault. The spa was beautiful and the spa staff were very pleasant. Our room was lovely but we had booked a twin room and were given a double. We mentioned to the brunette receptionist that the room was a double room and she informed us that it would be changed with Turn down service. She either did not know hotel policy or was palming us off as the room was never changed and I later saw in the room on a card that you have to request a turn down service by calling a number. She also did not change our restaurant booking. I will mention the concierge who made our stay fabulous and were on the ball throughout! A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting just needing a little push at reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misscranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just love this place! Took my mum as a treat for her 80th with family. The reception staff ( Sophie I think was the ladies name )were so kind and sent up a tray of sweets with a birthday message and upgraded us to junior suites with lovely loch views. The swimming pool is great - lovely and warm and a good size for swimming. Also a great jacuzzi and sauna. This is all in the hotel and included in our room rate. The concierge and his team are great and parked our car for us they were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for another great stay! Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryhorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at Cameron House, from start to finish the service was excellent, used the valet service, Russell was a lovely and very helpful young man. We had the tasting menu at Martin Wishart's restaurant, food as always from MW was amazing, service was excellent, thanks to Mark the restaurant manager whom we have met at Leith and the Honours in Edinburgh, he made us feel really welcome. The Scots bar is a must, lovely cocktails and whiskey. Breakfast was very good too, a great selection. We will definitely go back for a longer period. Location overlooking Loch Lomond is Awsome.

Room Tip: A Loch view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollydolly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £155 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing