We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rooms are average”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for one night for my girlfriends birthday. Firstly, I felt as though the parking arrangements weren't great. A bit far away and wasn't actually sure if I was in the right car park.
When we walked in to our room, I wasn't 'blown away'. Our bed was two single beds pushed together! Not ideal considering I was there with my girlfriend! Certainly don't expect this from a 5* hotel! The fridge also needs to be filled on request, which I find very odd. Most hotels will stock it, then take money from card if used. Dinner was also very average. We had a starter and a main course each, and four drinks in total. It came to one hundred pound, which i felt was a bit much as both of us were not satisfied with the quality of food.
The swimming pool, sauna, etc in the hotel is of good standard. Overall, I am not sure if I would go back to stay.
Iain

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,737
    1,298
    868
    428
    208
See reviews for
1,163
3,351
36
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Loved it! period.
Went there on a weekend trip with my girlfriend. Our room was superb, with a great view of the loch. Very friendly staff. Oh, and you must try the boat house. Great for the family also, with nice pools and spa.
Took some great photos there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

There was a lot riding on our stay at Cameron House. We hadn't had a holiday for 18 months, it was Christmas, we had a 16 month old with us and I was reluctant to get excited in case it wasn't amazing. But it was!
A once grand Scottish home extended to be a sizeable hotel yet inside you can barely tell whether you're in the new or old part of the building. The decor is moody, warm, homely but clean. I lost count of the Christmas trees.
There's an on-site leisure club complete with flume for the kids and a toddler pool as well as a pool for doing laps, an enormous Jacuzzi and a sauna. There's a creche too. A very well kitted out gym, squash courts and beauty salon.
True to its Scottish roots, the concierges (yes, plural) are attired like gillies and cannot help enough. But this level of service in inherent across the entire team. Ask anything, they'll do their best to help.
Combine the grandiose architecture, the 5* rating, plush furnishings and cleanliness and it doesn't immediately strike you as family/child friendly. But there were quite a few families and everyone interacted with the kids like they were paying customers too! A magician/balloon artist on Christmas day worked a treat at keeping them all entertained over lunch.
The range of restaurants in terms of range of formality, menus, price is superb and I've reviewed them all separately on here. But even when we went to the in-house Martin Wishart Michelin star restaurant, we were asked where our son was as they'd expected us to bring him. But we'd sourced babysitters through the creche.
Christmas was fabulous, there was a lounge dedicated to Christmas movies, Santa arrived on a RIB via the loch on Christmas day and dished out presents to the kids. Your every need was catered for so you could relax, kick back and just go with the flow.
Because we were staying for a week and have a wee one, we booked a suite to give us room to spread out. Although up a spiral staircase and a nightmare for the porters lugging our luggage, we had plenty of space, comfy furnishings, spacious bathroom and plenty of storage (even for hiding Christmas presents). Personally, I would have liked another lamp or higher wattage bulbs especially at this time of year. I know there was a 'mood' element to the lighting but sometimes, especially with a child, you want brighter lighting.

What we really loved:
- amazing service from start to finish
- happy staff, no forced smiles
- child friendly
- kids menu in the Great Scots Bar & on room service
- fresh milk in the rooms, no UHT, and as much of this as our son wanted
- creche and babysitting facilities
- leisure facilities
- perfectly comfy beds
- enormous bathroom with underfloor heating
- choice of restaurants to eat in
- shuttle service between hotel & Boat House restaurant (especially when raining)
- Cameron Grill restaurant manager has the most amazing 'guest first' approach
- everything under one roof for a winter holiday in the UK

Minor:
- WiFi wasn't great in the room, but hey it was Christmas and this turned out to be a healthy thing
- breakfast staff weren't so cheery

Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Request loch view and if you need the space/can afford it request a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here on a one night deal through ItIsOn - one night stay with breakfast, Thermal Experience at Carrick Spa, champage on arrival, 20% off food, for £159. I opted to pay £30 extra for a loch view room as it was special getaway for my partner's 30th birthday.

On arrival a lot of the car park flooded, but very clear signage to drive to front of hotel for valet parking. Bit of a queue to check in but went quickly and Gabrielle (possibly Gabriella sorry) friendly, courteous and thorough explaining our stay. We arrived at 3 and were due at the Spa for 4, and were advised to get the shuttle bus at 3.30. Brian helped us wih our bags and showed us a shortcut to our room, and assured us that Sam, driving the bus, would wait for us. A friendly chat on the way to the Spa, which was then amazing - loads of different spa experiences, different temperatures etc, plus rooftop jacuzzi - amazing. Efficient shuttle back to hotel, changed for dinner at Cameron Grill. Very friendly service by Erin, delicious steak, a shame about the blue cheese sauce - the only down point - thin and not blue cheesy at all. Given fudge to make up for the bread we hadn't been given at the start of service - we hadn't even noticed - delicious morsels of fudge and tablet anyway! Lovely restaurant, comfortable chairs, busy but nothing was too much effort and it didn't feel crowded.

Up to bed - the rooms are great,huge bed, squishy pillows, lovely decor. Nice bathroom and excellent shower. Lovely little toiletries. Comfy night's sleep, breakfast next morning in same restaurant, excellent selection of fruits, yoghurt, cereals, cheese & meat, pastries, croissants, preserves, tea & coffee, fresh juices, plus full cooked breakfast and ala carte menu with french toast, pancakes etc. We didn't make nearly enough of it as full from previous evening but what we had was fresh & delicious. Again friendly service from Kieran.

On leaving Brian fetched our car for us and was kind enough to take a photo of us in front of the loch. A wonderful special stay and highly recommended. Thank you to all who made it so great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofapaws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wonderful hotel, great service & food.
Disappointed Seaplane not flying on the day we hoped to experience it but more than made up for by the two people who gave us a tour of the loch by boat !
Will definitely stay again....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Was visiting for New Year . Have stayed on two previous occasions. This visit we felt very underwhelmed. Difficulties with booking process. Shabby rooms in need of refurbishment. Very slow restaurant service...definitely understaffed; which is a shame since the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Ran out of choice of wine on first evening. First two choices of breakfast unavailable!! Just really disappointing...spending all that money for mediocre experience. Sadly, won't be rushing back. Need to up your game De Vere!!

Room Tip: View a couple of rooms, don't just accept allocation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal booked from the hotel's website. My wife and I really enjoyed it. Bit of a nightmare getting to the reception of the hotel. Poorly signposted and ended up walking about 500 yards through muddy puddles in a suit. We stayed in room 55 which overlooked the Loch and the main entrance of the hotel. View second to none. Room very nice. Water running from bath taps warm at most, water running from sink taps scalding. Ended up using the glasses to add to the what was now cold bath. Very relaxing stay although walls are very thin. There must have been a child above us on the 2nd floor as someone was running around and the noise was very loud. Food in the Boathouse was ok, service excellent. Breakfast in the Cameron Grill was top class, service this time poor. Asked for tea and toast, went to the hotplate, returned and started eating. Still no sign of the tea and toast. Had to ask but by the time it arrived I was halfway through the meal. Breakfast was really good and the coffee was notably excellent, as was the fresh orange. All in all excellent stay, would return, although for special occasion - birthday, anniversary as it has that feel to it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilliking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
4 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing