We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good...Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed for an overnight with my better half and what a great time we had.
Having read some of the negative comments posted previously we arrived with an open mind and I must say everything (apart from the weather) was first class. All staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was reasonably sized although the decor made it appear quite dark. The room and bathroom was clean and well presented. Would suggest a room with a Loch view as the views are amazing.
Dinner was at the Boathouse - limited menu but food was excellent and again surroundings were good.
Breakfast - caters for all tastes. Food was plentiful with a wide variety to suit everyone.
Leisure facilities are good, make sure you bring your swimwear as the pool is great.
Only small gripe is that the parking arrangements can be a little confusing on your first visit as the main car-parks are continually full. Parking for guests is done by the concierge, drive to the main door, remove your bags and forget about it until you have to leave again.
All in all we had a fantastic time, and would highly recommend.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,561
    1,189
    784
    375
    168
See reviews for
1,043
3,069
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fantastic location overlooking Loch Lomond. Very helpful staff, nothing to much trouble, even with very fussy and professional complainers, you always get them! No hesitation in recommending the hotel and resort, top notch.

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I visited with my mum for a pre-Christmas break and it was a fantastic location for a couple of days relaxation. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a great selection at breakfast, although the staff were a little bit slow to serve on our second morning. We ate at the Boathouse once and the food there was lovely. We both had pasta and struggled to finish the huge portions. We enjoyed exploring the grounds right on the banks of the loch. It really is a stunning location even despite the rainy weather. We had a garden view room, which didn't have the best view, but in winter, I don't really think this is so important, as most of the time when we were in the room it was dark. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed the comfiest I've ever slept in! We tried the pool and jacuzzi and really enjoyed both. The hotel is lovely at Christmas time with all the Christmas trees. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a luxury getaway. It's not cheap, but worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Ok Cameron House is located on the banks of the Loch....the review is for the hotel not lodges.

You are met ...your luggage taken and car parked for you. The doormen are excellent - they are the font of all knowledge ask them anything they will sort it.

The rooms are very good - I had a Loch view. Rooms are big, clean with air con the bathroom floor is heated..all accessories provided such as iron . Hair dryer etc.

The bar is excellent, service great and views wonderful...the whole hotel is plush..modern yet retaining character. The restaurant is fantastic, breakfast and evening meals wonderful. Try the haggis for breakfast you won't be disappointed.

The staff are ultra professional and polite...nothing is too much trouble.

I thought the shop was limited in what it sold, the phone signal in my room with O2 was appalling. Others with different providers were fine. The Internet is free and easy to access although did seem to cut off frequently.

The Gym and pool were fantastic as was the seaplane ride. The Spa is about 3 mile away and very very good.

The Michelin starred restraint was fantastic...sorry I forget he name.

It rained a lot but hey it's January in Scotland ! The Spa and Golf were great...try the hot stone massage !

Loved the people and the place so much to do, will surely return

Room Tip: Take waterproofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stunning hotel with excellent views across the loch. Our room was very clean and very comfortable if not a little dark, but this could also be due to the fact that we visited in gloomy January! The corridors and certain area of the bar and communal areas we cold but again this could be due to the time of year we visited, and to compensate our room was very warm. Staff very helpful and polite but more staff in the bar serving would be a bonus at busy times. Drinks and food a little expensive but nothing different to any 5* hotel. Spa excellent. Valet parking fantastic. This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location and despite my comments above I would definately go back and recommend to anyone looking to get away and recharge their batteries.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Without doubt one of the best renovated country houses in the country. The main house was renovated a decade ago to an extremely high standard. A new accommodation wing and a fitness suite including a magnificent swimming pool and sauna etc was also added. The add on features have been superbly integrated and are incredibly luxurious.

The room we stayed in was beautifully fitted, very high spec and extremely clean throughout. Just a minor point, there was no bottled water in the room which usually a standard thing in a five star establishment.

The service from all the staff in the main hotel was absolutely first class. Really high standard, prompt and attentive in every aspect and nothing was too much trouble.

This would have been the best winter short break we have had BUT…

There are three restaurants at this hotel. One of them is Michelin star rated, regretfully this was closed until February. The main hotel features “The Cameron Grill”. Again beautifully appointed and packed with very pleasant serving staff. Sadly this is where it all falls apart.

After perusing quite an extensive menu my wife and I chose as follows: Cullen Skink (Haddock, Leak and potato soup) and Orkney crab ravioli. The soup had one small slither of Haddock and thus was disappointingly bland. The ravioli was stodgy and again was devoid of taste. These were priced at £7.25 & £11.95 respectively. The main course consisted of a 300gramm Aberdeen Angus sirloin steak and Seared Shetland salmon.

The steak costing £26.50 was sadly as tough as old boots and served with two nasty onion rings that were un-edible. The Salmon fared slightly better but could have been improved on for £19.95. To add any side orders such as potato wedges to accompany the steak cost a further £4.50, vegetables the same.

With a bottle of wine (Valpolcello) and a bottle of water plus the included service charge we landed a bill for £110 which we thought given the poor standard was excessive.

Breakfast was served in the same Cameron Grill. Again very attentive waiting staff but the food left a lot to be desired with offerings of horrendous scrambled egg, dehydrated in a bain marie, and sausages that my dog would have turned his nose up at. There was a selection of croissant’s and Danish pastries that were stale. On the up side there was a selection of fresh fruit and quality juices.

Our second dining event was at the Boathouse Restaurant within the grounds of (and owned by) the hotel. Here the staff were young and appeared to be a little disorganised. The food again was at best average (an improvement on the food in the grill!) and pricey. We shared a main course of smoked salmon as a starter, £19.50 and it was really only enough as a good starter for one. This was followed by Seafood Paella (£28.00) which was a small pan of rice with six mussels a few prawns and a small piece of salmon cut up and placed on top of the rice, not very Spanish at all. The freshly baked bread was excellent. With a bottle of wine and service charge the bill ended up at £85.

I don’t object to paying top dollar if the quality shines through but sadly at Cameron house it doesn’t. A further concern in The Cameron Grill were the pictures of plates of food stuck to the wall’s in the kitchen enabling the “Chef’s” to see what the food should look like. Last time I saw something similar to this was in a Little Chef service station in the 70’s !

This magnificent venue really needs a severe overhaul in the catering department as it really lets the place down.

Would go again to indulge in the palatial amenities and fabulous location, but next time would find somewhere else to dine as at this moment in time this magnificent hotel is in a culinary wilderness.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We found the staff at the hotel and the Spa exceptional, nothing was an issue for them and everything was done with a smile. From the valet parking to the complimentary transport to the Spa and boat house restaurant. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and we can honestly say that the customer service was one of the best we have received and it was consistent. The Spa was worth every penny, I booked the "Escape with me" package and it has to be some of the best money I have ever spent, thank you Michelle for my treatment. The breakfast was excellent but we did think the Boat house restaurant a little average and the Cameron grill a bit over priced. Fantastic for a romantic break and I'm already looking to book again for a Girls Spa break.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jaxsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing