We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveły hotel but bar service really let's it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Bluemilky1968
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loveły hotel but bar service really let's it down”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Cameron House Hotel is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location and provides a bit of luxury at a reasonable price provided you can get a good offer. The check in was very quick and efficient and the loch view room was very nice, if not the biggest room you have ever seen, but with a view to die for and all mod cons, only thing missing was a clock that would have been helpful. We visited the bar on a few occasions and although it looks very nice the service was the worst we have experienced in any devere hotel in which we have stayed, but this would appear to be a lack of training. We waited on average between 15 and 30 mins to be served our drinks, when we pointed this out to a young man in a jacket and tie (who appeared to be the bar manager)he just shrugged his shoulders and offered no apology which would suggest it is the norm, there were a few more examples but it's gives you an idea. We ate in both the Cameron Grill and the Boathouse and really enjoyed both places but the jumbo prawn cocktail in the boathouse was a real disappointment with 8 small prawns and a bit of sauce for £9. The staff in the hotel are really friendly and it is such a shame that a lack of training let them down which the management should address and help keep this hotel up with the best of them

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluemilky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,700
    1,270
    846
    416
    204
See reviews for
1,135
3,291
33
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lunch in the Boathouse on 8/2/14 for a special birthday
Calamari was like elastic bands
Mussels average. Wine £8 a glass but good. Cameron lager just like Tennants lager. Haddock & chips good
Service needs a bit attention then they added 10% service charge
The Loch Fine seafood was apparently discontinued but still featured on the website - a bit deceptive
Won't be back :(
Living too much off their location

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moniaive
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have just returned from this magnificent hotel we have stayed in the past and so decided to invite friends along with us . We have not been disappointed it delivered everything first class well done to all involved in making this a memorable place to stay . All of the staff are very polite courteous and above all so welcoming and friendly . Please keep this up it is so nice to turn up to a place and receive good old fashioned service with a modern twist x thanks once again .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 ground floor with loch view was quiet and easy to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bollondicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed for one night last weekend. Our room was lovely although 2 single beds pushed together which I slid down the gap between them in the night! we had drinks in the Great Scott Bar which was lovely. As with a lot of other reviewers, the service id desperately slow but staff were friendly. Drinks typical hotel prices. We ate in the Cameron Grill which was really good and again good service. Breakfast had a big choice and was really good too. All in all a good stay, we'd go back. Only thing I could complain about is the hotel wasn't that warm. Our room was fine but the bar especially was cold.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmini24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here a few times over the past 3 years and been for a couple of conferences. Always thoroughly enjoy the food, especially the breakfast in the grill bar in the morning. Only ever had one issue with my steak where the sauce was congealed but everything else has been great. Lovely building lovely staff and lovely setting, sometimes I'm not sure whether I think it is slightly too dark inside but perhaps just personal preference. All in all would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallerSt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at Cameron House this week as an end to a honeymoon trip. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly concierge who were definitely the smartest dressed gentlemen we've ever seen! We booked in to our room - which was nice - however for the cost of the room having 2 completely different twin beds pushed together with half empty pillows was definitely a disappointment.

The facilities are fantastic, activities expensive but reasonable in comparison to comparators "in house" activities.

The spa is outstanding, the treatment suite is spectacular and definitely worth the £39/each for the use of the thermal spa afterwards.

We had lunch in the claret jug - golf restaurant after playing tennis - a pretty good club sandwich and no complaints with choice.

Dinner at the boat house was outstanding, from the decor, to the waiting staff, manager and food everything was spot on - and probably the fastest ordering to serving we've had! cannot highly recommend this high enough and will definitely be back for another occasion. total bill without alcohol was £35 which was a bargain.

Overall, impressed with the relaxed, non pretentious nature of Cameron House. Reasonably priced and good service. I would say the rooms are slightly disappointing for the price and some areas like the guest toilets near the Great Scots bar are looking a bit dated with chipped door paint and no toilet roll etc.

In saying that, we will be back.

Room Tip: The basic rooms have small baths and are often mismatching twin beds... I'm not sure if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYPY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I visited Cameron House a few weeks ago for a two night stay. We went along with another couple and got an excellent deal where it was £99 b&b for a room per night. The hotel is set in stunning settings, which is a great start. The room was luxurious and spacious and we were very impressed. The bathroom was also lovely with a great shower. We used the pool which was also nice. We ate in both The Grill and The Boat house - two delicious meals (clean plates all round) and had drinks in the whisky bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly too.
The only disappointing thing was that the bed in our room (128) was two singles pushed together, which I understand most hotels do, however, my side of the bed was almost a completely different height from my husbands and it was very sunk I'm the middle making for a not particularly great sleep. I didn't complain as we couldn't really be bothered with the hassle of packing up our stuff for the sake of one more night, but for a hotel of this standard should really get this right. One other small suggestion would be to have conditioner in the showers in the swimming pool. The shampoo and shower gel were nice but I expected conditioner (small suggestion). Breakfast was very tasty and the staff were good.

Other than those two points, we had a great stay and will definitely return. If you are staying at this hotel, make sure you eat in one of the restaurants, they are fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
3 reviews
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing