We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Total let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & were having drinks at hotel bar when we decided to stay the night instead of driving back. Had dinner & breakfast at the restaurant which was very good.
Then we checked in...
The reception guy 21 yr old with mousy brown hair) had quite an attitude from the start. This pretty much set the tone for our stay. We reserved a lake view room but all we got was a view of the front door... I guess if i look far enough into the distance, i could see the lake. The second problem was the bed in room #17 i believe was very old. The mattress was worn down, the springs were practically visible and the whole bed shook everytime we moved! I called the front desk & complained but they wouldn't move us. He lied & said it was the ONLY room available... We had the worst nights sleep. We woke up too tired to take advantage of the facilities or the hikes along the property. I saw the same guy at the desk (attitude & all) the next morning when i checked out. Luckily another woman assisted us & gave us a small discount when i complained. When i complained to the guy he said (oh sorry) and kept on doing what he was doing. So cold & RUDE! Had we been in the states, i would have handled him differently...
The room over all was okay, not that exciting...
Can't comment on the amenities such as the gym since i couldn't enjoy them...
Its a great place to visit & have drinks.. The bar is nice & well stocked but the over all service is a bit snooty!
I would stay at a cozy B&B instead ... Loch lomand has plenty of them.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walburgerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,557
    1,187
    784
    375
    168
See reviews for
1,042
3,065
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have recently returned from a weekend stay at Cameron House Hotel. We took my parents as a thank you after our wedding last year; it was a special occasion and had chosen a 5* resort to reflect its significance.

We received a very warm welcome and whilst our room was not ready on arrival, we were happy to settle ourselves in the Great Scots Bar to enjoy a light lunch. Unfortunately our lunch was a "comedy of errors" from start to finish: a lengthy delay in taking both a drinks order and a food order, our drinks order being forgotten, our drinks order being wrong, our food being paraded around the bar area in front of us whilst the waiter tried to work out where it was going, only for the food to be taken back into the kitchen to reappear again 5/10 minutes later. I made the hotel aware of the situation and was promised complimentary wine with our evening meal and they did not charge us for lunch.

We had our evening meal in the Cameron Grill and the food was excellent. Unfortunately, when the bill arrived, it was wrong. They had not acknowledged the fact that we were on a DB&B rate meaning they had not applied the relevant discount; there was certainly no sign of the complimentary wine promised only a few hours previous and they had sought to charge for items twice. I made the restaurant aware of the mistakes and they apologised, applied the DD&B rate and did not charge us for the extras (a saving of about £100-140) but not before telling us that the reason for the confusion was because I had "asked the wrong person for the bill."

Whilst the hotel addressed both complaints head on and applied discounts well in excess of anything I was expecting, it should not be necessary to complain twice about poor customer service during a one night stay at a 5* resort. Whilst we very much enjoyed our stay, the need to complain certainly took the shine off what should have been a luxurious stay at one of Scotland's premier hotel offerings.

The hotel, however, is beautiful; the rooms fantastic; the setting perfect; the food excellent. The hotel really do need to address staffing levels and invest in better training for the staff they do have.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJWS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

After wanting to come to Cameron House for a good few years now I was very excited to receive vouchers as a wedding gift. Check in was easy and staff very pleasant. We were directed to our room (garden view double). The room was nice but nothing special.

We went along to the Great Scots bar, the first thing you notice is the dirty dishes and glasses that cover the whole bar area. We ordered drinks at the bar and after 35 mins we had to go ask again for them and the bar was not at all busy, once we got our drinks the waitress was very apologetic and did give us our drinks free of charge. Several customers left as they just weren't receiving their orders.

We ate in the Cameron Grill and the food was brilliant. The waiter (David) was very good.

After dinner we again went through to the bar (still lots of glasses over the bar), there was one waiter taking the orders and bringing the drinks for the whole bar whilst 3 staff were pottering around behind the bar. We ended up leaving early than liked as the bar was very cold and it was taking longer and longer for drinks to be served.

We went for breakfast in the morning and had to queue for over 30mins in the corridor to get into the breakfast room. Breakfast was good quality.

Overall, very disappointing and we wont be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just back from a short break with the family. The hotel and facilities are superb and the children really enjoyed the outdoor activities. Unfortunately the whole experience was let down badly by the dreadful service in the bar. The first day we waited 20 minutes for a drink before complaining (which didn't really help). My daughter asked for some ketchup for her chips which arrived as we were waiting for the bill. Thought this might just have been a one off but the same experience occurred each time we used the bar. A real shame because it's put me off ever returning to this otherwise beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is absolutely lovely, one of the nicest i've stayed in anywhere in the world however it is really let down by its check in process:

1. We turned up on time and had to queue for 30 minutes to be seen by one of the 2 reception staff. Seriously 2 staff for a destination resort! Since its a destination resort i.e. its a long way from anywhere everyone turns up at the same check in time. Why are there not more staff on desks between 3 and 5pm?

2. The check in process is way too long, over 15 minutes. You have my details from my booking, why do I need to fill them in on a form once again?

3. The overworked staff are also given a script to reel off about the facilities, yes its useful but its time consuming, an informational pamphlet would be much more efficient or how about this - try putting some information into the room booklets rather than just using it as an advertising device.

4. So after the 30 minute wait and the 15 minute check in process the room isn't ready, and we weren't the only ones. We were told to go sit in the bar (no complimentary drinks) and they would phone us when the room was ready. 45 minutes later still no call, why? because the staff are rushed off their feet, again why only 2 people on the front desk?

5. We walk back to the reception and have to queue once again for 20 minutes to ask for our key which wasn't ready again. Reception staff disappear for 5 minutes into a back room to go find it.

Really managment, I don't expect this for the price we pay to stay. The staff are fantastic and I can't fault them, its the owners understaffing the key areas of the hotel. Why are you cutting corners where first impressions count? Why am I paying £150 per night to be made to wait 1 hour 50 just to get into my room after a 6 hour drive?

and the last gripe, room service was ordered, food was warmish by the time it turned up. Dry and cold, had been sitting under a heating lamp for some time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderCoverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were here for a valentines weekend. We had a lovely room overlooking the loch. Very well appointed and just nice all round.

We love the pool here, probably one of the best hotel pools we have had the use of. Excellent service checking in and out and very good breakfast too.

Only comment. The service in the great scots bar on night one had a lot to be desired. A lot of people were waiting a long time for drinks. 20 mins, but it wasn't busy. We were also initially served a Warm bottle of wine rather than chilled!!

It was much improved on the Saturday night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

we recently stayed here for valentines day and had a lovely time. Everything about Cameron house was great overall , one downfall was the quality of food with room service and one member of staff that gave us our room service was not very friendly.

Room Tip: would highly recommend a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charmaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing