We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, beautiful setting, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, beautiful setting, lovely staff”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned from Cameron House after a great 2 night stay. This a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms. The service was excellent. Receptionist Jennifer very polite and helpful, Concierge team James and Sam also very pleasant & helpful.

We dined at the Boathouse the first night,the Boathouse is a lovely pub, we had a couple of drinks here on the afternoon too but the restaurant food was just ok, they have a paella on the menu which we love and opted for but was really just a risotto, we were disappointed. Unfortunately the heating broke down so most the diners ate with their coats on, which was a shame but staff apologised and offered tea/coffee. The second night we ate at The Claret Jug at The Carrick, just 10 mins up the road, concierge offer a shuttle bus service to take you there. There was an indian buffet on that night, food lovely, staff lovely.

Breakfasts at Cameron House were very tasty and had lots of choice. I tried haggis for the first time and it was delicious.
The Great Scots Bar in the hotel is great place to sit and unwind with lovely views out over the Loch. Nice cocktails.

We really liked the pool area at Cameron House,it was very quiet which made it even better. Great jacuzzi, steam room & sauna.
We also went along to the Carrick Spa one afternoon, I loved the rooftop infinity pool but unfortunately 2 of the other rooms in the spa experience were out of action which was disappointing.

The weather was great when we were there, especially for march so I think it made the stay even better cos the Loch looked beautiful in the sunshine but with a bit of frost too, you could see the snow topped mountains in the background views, beautiful. I was dying to take a seaplane ride from the hotel, we are going to take our little girl next time and definitely do this.

There is a also a little shopping centre just 15-20mins walk from the hotel, which was nice to pop to for lunch. There is also a sealife centre, which would be great for kids. I think the hotel is child friendly, there are a couple of play parks.
We will definitely revisit Cameron House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    1,270
    844
    415
    204
See reviews for
1,132
3,287
33
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived at Cameron House wth friends on a fabulous sunny March day to have a trip on the Seaplane which was amazing.
Enjoyed tea late afternoon outside the Boat House overlooking the Marina. Some tables were piled with dirty dishes and the table tops had not been cleaned.
The view over the Loch was great and the seating very comfortable for our 6 o'clock drink and nibbles. We had dinner booked in the Grill at 8.45pm Service was slow but eventually we got a drink & menus. Food was generally OK but did not live up to expectation - just warm. However a Rib eye steak was cold as was the peppercrn sauce. This was taken away only to re-appear in minutes. This dish should have been replaced and cooked from scratch not re-heated..
Overall we thought the meal and service very poor. Breakfast was an even bigger shambles The waiter mixed up the table numbers so we waited 20 minutes for tea coffee and got 1 small rack of toast 2 jams & 1 butter portion for 4 people. The cooked order came from the kitchen totally wrong We complained to a suited lady about our waiter and she said 'he's new" Sorry not our problem we were staying in a 5star hotel! Hope to hear from the food & beverage manager

Room Tip: Loch view rooms good for 1 night but A/C very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackerley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've literally been trying to book a room for three days. I called 3 times on Sunday. My first attempt had me on call waiting for 20 minutes before I was cut off. My second attempt had me on call waiting for 5 minutes before the call was answered to absolute silence, and after I uttered "hello?" several times I gave up. During my third call of the evening I was told that the hotel booking staff had gone home for the night.

I then tried to call on Monday and again was put on hold for 5 minutes before the phone cut off. As I was at work I didn't get a chance to phone back. Tonight I called and actually got put through to a human being - who seemed very excited to book me a room before I told her I had a itison voucher- which I had paid £160 for - then suddenly nothing was available.

After going through numerous alternative dates- I had to check the two that were available as she stoutly told me after I booked the days they were non transferable- scared I'd end up losing out on my £160 pound night stay - i told her I'd phone back. Less than 5 minutes later I phoned and was told hotel reservations were closed for the night . I asked when reservations shut and was told 8 o'clock. I had originally phoned at 9.30. (1hr 30 minutes after reservations supposedly closed.) The staff don't seem to have a clue what is going on, and it seems near impossible to book a room if you've bought a voucher (albeit an relatively expensive voucher) I still haven't booked the stay and I plan on complaining to itison about the clear negativity surrounding itison customers. Absolutely shocking behavior from a supposedly 5 star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank angelsrushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My fiancee bought me to Cameron House to celebrate my birthday. It was a really nice break and the hotel was excellent.

I must give a special mention to the concierge, I found them to be very friendly, very helpful and always happy. The hotel itself is magnificently grand and has a wonderful atmosphere. Of course, this hotel isn't cheap, but I've grown to learn that you only get what you pay for in this live, also I didn't have to pay as it was my birthday. Win-win.

On the 1st night be found that our air conditioning unit was making a noise, we mentioned it to the reception and the concierge arrived to move us to a new room within 10 minutes. Another example of excellent service.

Thanks Cameron House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Great room and surroundings let down badly buy awful breakfast service waited for 10 minutes on menus and someone to take tea and coffee order had to go and find someone myself it took so long.. When tea and coffee did come we got 1 small pot of coffee between 3 and the toast was freezing!

Buffet breakfast food was very average and for the whole time we were in the tables next to us were not cleared... Very far from a 5 star experience!


Also we could not get drinks at the bar as they were closed at 01.00 first 5 star hotel I've been to where you can't get a drink after much debate drinks were sent to rooms with an outrageous 20% tray charge!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Cameron House - I had always wanted to visit and it absolutely lived up to our expectations.

We arrived early but our room was ready so we were able to check straight in. The room was large with a big bed (albeit two singles zipped together), and all the extras you'd expect as well as a plate of petit fours with a card for our anniversary, which was a lovely touch.

We enjoyed using the Carrick Spa - the outdoor hot tub was fab! - and the concierges kindly drove us to and from the spa as it was further away than I had realised. We also used the pool at the hotel which was large and clean, with separate areas for children.

Dinner was at The Boathouse, which was informal with a nice atmosphere. Again the service was good and the food was delicious. Breakfast was excellent, we had been warned to expect queues but got a table straight away and everything on the buffet was of a high standard and very tasty.

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The facilities and accommodation were all luxurious and well looked after and the scenery is wonderful, I'm sure it will be even more so when the weather is better. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheretonext_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Set right by the beautiful loch, with stunning views and outstanding service. Made to feel very special from arrival and throughout our 5day stay. Decadent and very special, with an array of dining options. Will definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing