We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having booked a 2 night trip for my wifes 30th birthday we arrived with expectations of a relaxing stay. Our expectations were far exceeded from the moment we drove upto the entrance and were met by the concierge. They very kindly upgraded our room to a loch view which was brilliant (And probably well worth the additional cost if you don't strike lucky like us). We were greeted by some chocolates in the room with a nice note from Andy the operations director wishing my wife a happy 30th - Nice touch. v
We ate in the boathouse on the 1st night which was good if not amazing, the food was very nice, however the service felt a little disjoined and we felt it was all a little rushed (Our drinks arrived at the same time as our main course). On the 2nd day we spent time at the Carrick Spa which my wife absolutely loved, I enjoyed chilling out for the day whilst watching some poor celebrities playing golf on John Hartsons charity event in the pouring rain, (Saw some good interpretations of the rules by a couple of the players!!!)
That night we dined in the Cameron Grill having had a drink in the Great Scots Bar pre and after and loved every moment, the service, quality and to be fair the prices all matched the standard of what we were getting.
Having read a few of the previous reviews I was reluctant to book Cameron House but if people seriously want to complain about how dark it is (If you want bright book a Holiday Inn!!) or how other things aren't up to scratch then they simply do not appreciate what is on offer here.

However if you want a genuine 5* experience in a stunning setting with staff who really take pride in what they do then I don't think you can do much better than Cameron House

Room Tip: Book a Loch View - Definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,166 - 4,172 of 6,157 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

My review is somewhat mixed for this hotel....we arrived early so were not expecting our room to be ready. The reception seemed a little under staffed for a Monday morning and was taken over completely with people checking out, however the decor was dark and gorgeous and view outside of the Loch and seaplane was stunning so we were not bothered by the wait. As our room was not ready we left our luggage with the very pleasant concierge and had a lovely tea, toast and cake in the bar area. Our room was still not ready so asked the Concierge if he could suggest a short walk. Armed with the map we headed to 'Loch Lomond Shores' walking along the road in front of the hotel, past the Boat house restaurant only to come across a huge skip full of old sofas, chairs and mattresses and what appeared to be a dumping ground (not a pleasant first impression) We then discover 'Loch Lomond Shores consists of a new House of Fraser department store and a couple of tourist attractions including a dull looking cafe. Everything we had come away to avoid!
Returning to the hotel we opened the door to our Loch View room ( which we had paid extra for) to find a view of the side of the hotel unless you stood up against the window to look out. (Ask for a room on third floor)My disappointment was obvious so the charming concierge went off to find an alternative room. We were then shown a room on the third floor which was beautiful and advised this would not be our room but we would have the same view! We then had a further wait for the replacement room to be made ready. We finally got in at around 5.30pm!
Dinner in the Boathouse was delicious (a little over priced) and service from Aaron exceptional. The following day we were advised to get a taxi to the village of Luss. Luss was abolutely beautiful and exactly what we had come away for..stunning walks and views. We walked the 7.5 miles back to the Carrick Spa then got the free shuttle back to the hotel.
Cocktails in the Great Bar followed by dinner in The Cameron Grill.....steak was delicious.
Breakfast on the final morning had us asking for toast repeatedly before it appeared cold! The staff looked half asleep! However breakfast offerings were fabulous and delicious
Room was very comfortable, bed king sized, bathroom gorgeous with excellent shower, heated floor, heated mist free mirror etc.
The pool looked inviting but the 'fun slide' spoilt the overall look of the pool area. The shop was hit and miss and was frequently closed when the sign said it should be open
WOULD WE GO BACK? Absolutely! this break was to help me recuperate from illness and certainly goes some way to help.The customer service was excellent TIP: Hire a car in advance as the taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: Third floor Loch View Room. 131 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned from an amazing overnight stay at this beautiful hotel, a present from our children Booked in on Sunday 16th and was well looked after by Victoria on Reception who is a credit to the hotel. Room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable and a bonus was the amazing view of Loch Lomond. Then it was a trip to the Carrick Spa. Got the shuttle service that the hotel provides right to the spa door. Had an amazing 2 hour visit there, very impressed. Afterwards it was dinner in the Claret Jug. Food was of a very high standard and staff very attentive. We then were driven back to the hotel by the same shuttle service. Very polite and friendly driver. The breakfast next morning was exceptional, never seen so much food. You certainly have a very large choice to choose from, again excellent quality and very friendly staff. It is a breath of fresh air to have a hotel that makes you feel very welcome. This was a return visit and standards have not slipped, excellent quality. service and friendliness. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank findhorn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Decided to treat myself to an overnight stay and some spa treatments - absolutely great. The infinity pool at The Carrick was incredible - it was an absolutely beautiful afternoon and the scenery was magnificent. Dinner in The Cameron Grill was good and my loch view wood was lovely. Staff were great, maybe a wee bit slow in the bar at night and at breakfast in the morning but this did not spoil the experience. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our mini moon for 2 nights.

The room was lovely with views of the loch. Homemade fudge in our room for arrival was a lovely touch.

Reception area of hotel is dark and quite gothic looking with dark strange pictures on the walls which we loved. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast in the Cameron Grill wasn't what we expected. Lots of choice and hot items on a Buffett basis which we didn't expect from a 5* hotel but was still very nice. We did have to look for staff to ask for coffee, toast and teaspoons as no one came to our table to take our order. Not a major issue but maybe something which needs a little work. We ordered room service breakfast the second day which arrived on time and nice.

We had champagne afternoon tea which was lovely. A bit expensive but a lovely treat as a one off. Sweet and savoury mini items and warm scones with jam and cream which were delicious. They even box any left over items for you to take away.

Pool/jacuzzi item was nice to relax. Very clean and not too busy so great to chill out.

We ate at The Boathouse the first evening and Cameron Grill the second evening. Both restaurant nice but we preferred The Boathouse. We will write separate reviews for both restaurants.

We went for cocktails in the Great Scots Bar. Lovely bar but cocktails weren't very pleasant. Quite expensive and not very tasty!

All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank claireyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent a night at Cameron House for my sisters hen and I can honestly say it was a perfect weekend. We used the Carrick Spa during the day for an unforgettable experience and I would highly recommend it. With a 5 minute drive from the Hotel you are welcomed into heaven - we all took the opportunity to get a massage which was amazing and then spent hours relaxing in the many pools and steam rooms. After a lovely afternoon we checked into the hotel which was swift and no problems at all, and were lead to our beautiful rooms. We ate in the Grill which again I can not fault in the slightest. Definitely a 5 star hotel and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Cameron House 10th to 14th March, we had amazing weather to match this wonderful location and hotel. The welcome was impressive and the room and view was everything we had hoped for. We did experience some of the issues the other reviewers had, being a very poor breakfast (1 out of 4) and the bar was a little hit or miss and really would benefit from some strong supervision to address it. However, the facilities were exceptional, the service in the Boat House excellent (especially the two David's) and the cruise on the Loch was premium on service, quality and sheer fun. We will take every opportunity to return to this special place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarnia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £153 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing