We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total luxury from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total luxury from start to finish”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Incredibly luxurious and indulgent hotel. Fantastic service and a beautiful spa. We could not fault it!

We spent just one night (although I would have loved to have stayed longer) at Cameron House and had dinner that evening in the boathouse. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained, giving a true feeling of Scottish luxury with incredible views over Loch Lomond. The spa is lovely and well worth a visit.

We had a lovely seafood dinner in the Boathouse (I had swordfish with mango) and again was a lovely experience throughout.

Highly recommend!

We also, on a slight side note, booked a hour flight with Loch Lomond Seaplanes (moored just outside the hotel), which was spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014CAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,655
    1,245
    831
    403
    192
See reviews for
1,103
3,228
33
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We recently stayed here as part of my dad's birthday celebrations. Before arrival, we were excited to finally stay at Cameron House, after wanting to stay here for quite some time. Sadly, it did not live up to the expectations we had. The poor service and rude and un-accomodating staff ruined our weekend, and therefore we would certainly not return here in a hurry.

The hotel did have it's good points, however these are few and far between:

- Excellent food in most of the restaurants. Particularly, the steaks at Cameron Grill and the seafood in The BoatHouse

-Shuttle service to golf course and spa, which is very handy and accommodating. Drivers friendly and very polite

- The spa was incredible and well worth a visit. We had a hot stone massage, manicure and pedicure each, and were pampered by the 3 staff members who were so polite. Very impressed by the level of service at the spa (Joanne, kelly and Nicole)

- The room was very luxuriously decorated. Bed was comfortable. Shower was very good and bathroom also had a bath which is handy

However, the good points stop here. And the disappointment begins.

- Firstly, the staff. The staff at Cameron House, by large, are incredibly rude and seem to forget the price we are paying to stay at this so called "5 star" hotel. Having travelled to many parts of the world and stayed in many hotels (some 5star and some less), I have never come across such a disgruntled and unaccomodating bunch of staff. When you are paying 5 star prices, you definitely expect 5 star service. From the waiting staff to the staff in the pro golf shop, it was 2 star service .. At best. When staff are not being rude, they are being extremely fake. The only staff that were polite and upheld a decent level of customer service, were the girls at the spa, the reception staff and the concierge/ drivers.

-Poor internet and phone service. Wifi extremely temprimental & phone service non-existent in rooms and the rest of hotel most of the time. This is simply not good enough for people who are in need of contact with the outside world

- Service in restaurants was shocking. We decided to have lunch at The Boat House and service was pretty disastrous from start to finish. Firstly, we received the wrong starter. We then waited a good 30 mins for main course. The main course on arrival was also incorrect and had to be sent back to the kitchen, where we waited a further 15 minutes. We had ordered the Mexican Chicken Flatbread with no rocket and asked for cheese. When the bill came, we were shocked to find out we had been charged £4.50 for the cheese as an "additional topping", even though we had asked for cheese instead of the rocket AND they had messed up our order. Food was good, but service is definitely not up to the 5 star service you expect when staying at Cameron House. Most of the staff are young and lack the experience it takes to deal with the clientele.
That evening for dinner, we dined at The Cameron Grill. We waited 15-20 minutes before our drinks order was taken. We then waited an additional 20 minutes for the drinks to actually be served to us. They were sitting on the bar waiting to be served but the waitress failed to serve them to us until we asked where they were. When the drinks eventually turned up, they didn't serve us what we ordered and the spirits were definitely watered down. Waiting this length of time for drinks, which then were not correct, is just unacceptable. The wait for starter and main was also ridiculous, and part of our food arrived cold. The steak, however, was delicious and could not be faulted. After this disappointing service, we received a bill which had £15 worth of additional food on it. When we alerted the waiting staff, they were very blasé about it all and not apologetic in the slightest, as if this was a common occurrence. ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL WHEN AT CAMERON HOUSE!!

The problem is that gratuity is included already and therefore the staff are not having to work for tips. If tips were not included then perhaps the level of service would improve and the service levels would actually match that of a 5 star hotel.

- When you go to a 5 star establishment, you associate it with 5 star guests. The hotel seemed to be open to weekend deals and groupon guests. This lowered the tone of the hotel.

Overall, it is fair to say that the location is definitely what makes this hotel, and allows them to attach the 5 star price tag. If you want to stay at a 5 star hotel which truly offers 5 star treatment, then check out the Blythswood Square in Glasgow's City Centre. The restaurants at the Blythswood are better, the service is faultless, staff are polite & friendly .. And remarkably.. It is cheaper!!!

Would we return to Cameron House? No. We'll be taking our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I recently stayed here as a suprise birthday trip and loved every minute. The check in was a bit busy and did take quite a while then our rooms were not ready which isn't great with two small boys.
I was then whisked off to the carrick spa as a suprise from the hubby and found this so beautiful and relaxing. The concierge were so pleasant and helpful as were all the staff, I was worried it may be quite snotty but not at all.
I then returned to the hotel after a amazing afternoon of relaxation, the boys were eventually in the room which was beautiful. We had a family room very large double bed and then a small Annex with a tv and bunk beds for the boys which they loved.
We then enjoyed what I can only explain as a perfect meal in the cameron grill. The cream. of veg soup is one of the best I've tasted, the fillet steak was amazing. But the chocolate trio desert was just the best!!
Breakfast the next day again one of the best I have had everything so fresh and everyone was so helpful.
Wish I could stay here on a monthly basis lol

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee1982fyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Just wonderful!
We stayed at Cameron house for quiet weekend get away. The staff are friendly and helpful, everything looks amazing and generally just a really relaxing feel to the place.
If want to use the spa, make sure you book a good couples of weeks in advance as it gets booked up quickly.
We had dinner at the a la cart restaurant and had the 6 course taster menu - it was amazing! We also ate in the grill, food was good but service wasn't great and left early after waiting 40mins to order more drinks and dessert. The bar is beautiful though and a lovely place for afternoon tea and evening drinks. It has great views of the loch.
We are already planning our next trip up there!! Would highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed overnight at Cameron House a couple of weeks ago and couldn't fault anything about the resort. The customer service that all staff (reception, bar and restaurant) displayed was second to none and all areas of the hotel were extremely well maintained. The decor everywhere (including our suite overlooking the Loch) is amazing, very tartan and traditional.
The Carrick Spa was great, as it has so many facilities to use and at not a massive cost. The only downside is that it not attached to the hotel, but free transport is laid on.
If you are looking for amazing food and hospitality as well as a great location, Cameron House is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having booked a 2 night trip for my wifes 30th birthday we arrived with expectations of a relaxing stay. Our expectations were far exceeded from the moment we drove upto the entrance and were met by the concierge. They very kindly upgraded our room to a loch view which was brilliant (And probably well worth the additional cost if you don't strike lucky like us). We were greeted by some chocolates in the room with a nice note from Andy the operations director wishing my wife a happy 30th - Nice touch. v
We ate in the boathouse on the 1st night which was good if not amazing, the food was very nice, however the service felt a little disjoined and we felt it was all a little rushed (Our drinks arrived at the same time as our main course). On the 2nd day we spent time at the Carrick Spa which my wife absolutely loved, I enjoyed chilling out for the day whilst watching some poor celebrities playing golf on John Hartsons charity event in the pouring rain, (Saw some good interpretations of the rules by a couple of the players!!!)
That night we dined in the Cameron Grill having had a drink in the Great Scots Bar pre and after and loved every moment, the service, quality and to be fair the prices all matched the standard of what we were getting.
Having read a few of the previous reviews I was reluctant to book Cameron House but if people seriously want to complain about how dark it is (If you want bright book a Holiday Inn!!) or how other things aren't up to scratch then they simply do not appreciate what is on offer here.

However if you want a genuine 5* experience in a stunning setting with staff who really take pride in what they do then I don't think you can do much better than Cameron House

Room Tip: Book a Loch View - Definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My review is somewhat mixed for this hotel....we arrived early so were not expecting our room to be ready. The reception seemed a little under staffed for a Monday morning and was taken over completely with people checking out, however the decor was dark and gorgeous and view outside of the Loch and seaplane was stunning so we were not bothered by the wait. As our room was not ready we left our luggage with the very pleasant concierge and had a lovely tea, toast and cake in the bar area. Our room was still not ready so asked the Concierge if he could suggest a short walk. Armed with the map we headed to 'Loch Lomond Shores' walking along the road in front of the hotel, past the Boat house restaurant only to come across a huge skip full of old sofas, chairs and mattresses and what appeared to be a dumping ground (not a pleasant first impression) We then discover 'Loch Lomond Shores consists of a new House of Fraser department store and a couple of tourist attractions including a dull looking cafe. Everything we had come away to avoid!
Returning to the hotel we opened the door to our Loch View room ( which we had paid extra for) to find a view of the side of the hotel unless you stood up against the window to look out. (Ask for a room on third floor)My disappointment was obvious so the charming concierge went off to find an alternative room. We were then shown a room on the third floor which was beautiful and advised this would not be our room but we would have the same view! We then had a further wait for the replacement room to be made ready. We finally got in at around 5.30pm!
Dinner in the Boathouse was delicious (a little over priced) and service from Aaron exceptional. The following day we were advised to get a taxi to the village of Luss. Luss was abolutely beautiful and exactly what we had come away for..stunning walks and views. We walked the 7.5 miles back to the Carrick Spa then got the free shuttle back to the hotel.
Cocktails in the Great Bar followed by dinner in The Cameron Grill.....steak was delicious.
Breakfast on the final morning had us asking for toast repeatedly before it appeared cold! The staff looked half asleep! However breakfast offerings were fabulous and delicious
Room was very comfortable, bed king sized, bathroom gorgeous with excellent shower, heated floor, heated mist free mirror etc.
The pool looked inviting but the 'fun slide' spoilt the overall look of the pool area. The shop was hit and miss and was frequently closed when the sign said it should be open
WOULD WE GO BACK? Absolutely! this break was to help me recuperate from illness and certainly goes some way to help.The customer service was excellent TIP: Hire a car in advance as the taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: Third floor Loch View Room. 131 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
3 reviews
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing