We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent stay.. room was lovely, staff extremely helpful, food delicious.. would recommend the carrick spa too. The views and grounds are superb at the hotel. The hotel public areas are fabby with lovely logs fires. Shop nice to visit in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chorusgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,702)
There are newer reviews for Cameron House on Loch Lomond
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,663 - 3,669 of 5,703 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just recently spent a couple of days at the Beautiful Cameron House. The hotel is really nice and the staff are excellent. We checked our room and immediately decided to book for an extra night. The room was a standard double however we chose to upgrade to a loch side view? The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the general staff are a credit to the hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The restaurants serve a variety of dishes both traditional and some with a more modern twist! We had a lovely meal at the Boathouse! The Bar is well worth a visit as the views and service are excellent! The pool and spa are ideal to unwind.
However once we retired to the room, the noise from the room next door was annoyingly loud. This was mainly caused by the Television however we could hear the neighbours talking and at times children playing in the corridor. The quality of the Hotel and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff did make us think twice about complaining however on the second morning of our stay the volume from our next door neighbours Television was intolerably high.
Again not wanting to complain we did feel that a mention to reception was necessary when we were checking out!
The duty manager informed us that the maintenance engineer would check it out! Not sure if we were perhaps being a bit too polite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife last week and we were left very disappointed and not what we had expected for the rates charged and reputation of the hotel. The saving grace was the location which is outstanding and more especially during the recent excellent weather which made it even better. On arrival at 3pm we were kept waiting 40 minutes for our room as was others as it was not ready , several faults were experienced during our stay with long queues at breakfast waiting for a table, being served with dirty glasses , cutlery and crockery in both the bar and Cameron grill during breakfast , all of which were corrected promptly but this should not be the case in a hotel of this standard. The staff appear to be very stretched, anxious , relatively young and in many cases inexperienced,with a lack of adequate supervision to keep them motivated .
We ate in both the Cameron Grill and the Boathouse , the grill served very average food and was seriously overpriced , the Boathouse was a fun place to eat with a mixture of good and average food but with great staff who looked as though they enjoyed their job , prices were a bit expensive but bearable given the location. Overall we very much enjoyed the location and the facilities but the hotel needs a management / staffing review with much more attention to detail to warrant 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Loch view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Another lovely stay at Cameron house. Room ample, staff friendly and bar and food very good. Make sure you check your bill when you check out as they overcharged for our dinner. Also a little disappointed with the spa. Our booking was for 4.30 which the events team booked. When we arrived we were told off by staff for being 15 mins late as they had it down for 4.15 so we didn't get our full treatment of a half hour massage. But that aside the hotel is wonderful

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hut09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The overall stay here was brilliant, i wouldn't put anybody off going but we'll get the bad parts out the way 1st....... The sound proofing in the room was horrendous, could hear the next rooms conversation and TV very clearly until 1am on the Saturday night and then again at 7am on the Sunday morning, could also hear snoring like it was right beside me, unimpressed with this from a 5 star hotel!!!

The staff at the hotel pool were rude and arrogant and again not what you would expect from a hotel like this! However, every other member of staff at the hotel/spa/restaurant were great and very welcoming.

We ordered room service for lunch as we were short of time before heading to the spa, to say the pizza was disgusting would be an understatement, you could have broken your teeth with it and on top of that it was tasteless.

Now for the good parts.... the hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds and the views are fantastic, the rooms are lovely and the bed was comfy. The pool is 2nd to none, the slide is also great if you are a big kid like me. The food in the Boat House was nice and the bar in Cameron House was a fantastic and relaxed setting for a couple of drinks to end the night.

The Spa was unreal, very relaxing massage followed by some relaxation in the rooftop jacuzzi with stunning views!

The breakfast on the morning we left was also superb.

Overall, i would say this place is a 4 star, not a 5, i would say we will be back soon, but preferably to a room with a bit more sound proofing, possibly in the newer part of the hotel? Our room was yards from reception which i am guessing isn't one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an upgraded room with a view of the Loch, for £50 extra i think it was, we g...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The overall stay here was brilliant, i wouldn't put anybody off going but we'll get the bad parts out the way 1st....... The sound proofing in the room was horrendous, could hear the next rooms conversation and TV very clearly until 1am on the Saturday night and then again at 7am on the Sunday morning, could also hear snoring like it was right beside me, unimpressed with this from a 5 star hotel!!!

The staff at the hotel pool were rude and arrogant and again not what you would expect from a hotel like this! However, every other member of staff at the hotel/spa/restaurant were great and very welcoming.

We ordered room service for lunch as we were short of time before heading to the spa, to say the pizza was disgusting would be an understatement, you could have broken your teeth with it and on top of that it was tasteless.

Now for the good parts.... the hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds and the views are fantastic, the rooms are lovely and the bed was comfy. The pool is 2nd to none, the slide is also great if you are a big kid like me. The food in the Boat House was nice and the bar in Cameron House was a fantastic and relaxed setting for a couple of drinks to end the night.

The Spa was unreal, very relaxing massage followed by some relaxation in the rooftop jacuzzi with stunning views!

The breakfast on the morning we left was also superb.

Overall, i would say this place is a 4 star, not a 5, i would say we will be back soon, but preferably to a room with a bit more sound proofing, possibly in the newer part of the hotel? Our room was yards from reception which i am guessing isn't one of the newer rooms.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank JohnM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We made a last minute booking direct with the hotel on a busy weekend, but were able to get a good room. On arrival, we were impressed with the setting by the loch. The room was very pleasant - quite dark with the decoration and furnishings but there are lights to brighten things up a bit. We had a garden view - which is quite limited - but that is what we booked so no problem there at all.

We were welcomed very warmly by the friendly receptionist, but regret that our overall impression of the service level at this hotel were not positive - hence the 'poor' rating. We first experienced this in the bar - a large room with lovely picture windows looking out at the loch. The bar was not particularly busy on arrival but there was a distinct lack of staff. We waited and waited in our chairs by the window - but eventually had to go and find a waiter. Ordering and receiving just two simple drinks took just over 30 minutes, which is not acceptable. We are also not at all impressed by the huge number of dirty glasses and plates which were lined up all along one side of the bar counter - and it is not a small counter. There was a backlog of keeping on top of washing the glasses and removing the crockery that was being addressed, painfully slowly, but, again, a lack of service staff made this very unimpressive. We enjoyed dinner at the Boathouse - a short walk from the hotel main entrance. Again, even though there were tables available we had to wait in the bar - to make us spend more? We waited and waited - eventually the barman took our order for a bottle of wine. A simple order. This took 24 minutes and the first bottle which was brought had already been opened with some wine taken from it - so it was sent back. Dinner was good and the waiting staff were OK but not impressive - no care or attention to detail, or just making you feel special. Finally, breakfast was another service disaster. A queue at the host desk. Coffee and tea orders taken upon seating were forgotten. We had to remind someone after 32 minutes. They went off to get them but did not return, by which time we had finished breakfast and went on our way. I mentioned this to the restaurant manager who brushed me off by saying they were just on the way! Poor service and very poor response to poor service.

We will not return. Be wary especially when it gets busy in the summer tourist season - perhaps they will have more seasonal staff then - but this hotel could be very special if they can sort out their levels of service and staffing - as mentioned in other reviews I see.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £165 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing