We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location but finishing touches are not five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely location but finishing touches are not five star”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The pros: Beautiful hotel,atmospheric rooms,stunning location,great breakfasts though I find the food in the restaurants can be a little hit and miss. The carrick spa is also worth a trip. We found the staff in the boathouse to be particularly friendly and good. The porters too are excellent.

The not so good: My last visit to cameron house left a lot to be desired-plaster floating in swimming pool,half eaten chocolates (I imagine from previous guests) left on side locker with tea stained mugs,grime on the bath and dead ants on the floor in the bathroom that were never cleaned away (who knows how long they had been there).

Finishing touches I feel really need to be addressed here if they want to keep their five star rating and charge ther five star prices. Based on my last visit,lovely as the place is,I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,600
    1,217
    807
    387
    179
See reviews for
1,074
3,136
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I recently booked afternoon tea here as a surprise for my gran's 90th birthday. When phoning to book I mentioned it was for a special birthday and asked if they could acknowledge this in some way. The person who I spoke to said of course, they could even do something like a chocolate platter which I thought sounded lovely. However when we arrived there was no mention of a birthday and nothing to acknowledge this, which I thought was disappointing from a hotel of such a high standard.

The afternoon tea itself was lovely, with a small plate of starters brought before the main tea, but we still left slightly disappointed by the service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala_Cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Surroundings are great but had much better rooms for less money in 4 star hotels. Dinner in the hotel grill was fine, breakfast in room pretty good. Room was furnished well. Staff were attentive. No real complaints except it was really noisy, no muffling from TV next door, walking about upstairs and especially in the corridor. Guess it was nice but when you are looking for exception it didn't quite measure up, had better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Staying on the ground floor at a thoroughfare between 2 corridors was very noisy. Sounded as though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I took the wife here for her 30th birthday as a surprise. Amazing. Everything was well catered for and the service was excellent throughout the stay, accommodation was modern and clean, the grounds were beautiful. A wonderful short stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel, superb location, wonderful staff!! Stayed for wife's 30th and got complimentary upgrade when they found out. All restaurants were great- boathouse and marina beautiful, Martin Wisheart something else!! Unbeatable location and views. Would definitely recommend... Treat yourself!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had always wanted to stay here so my other half booked for 5 nights as a birthday treat. We had a suite in the new part of the hotel with a Loch view, the room had a huge wet room plus a tartan bath in the main bedroom. The window in the room was tiny so the room was quite dark. However it's in a beautiful spot and that is this hotels saving grace.

The main restaurant was a huge disappointment - decor, food, menu, staff, seating.
The waitress took our order and after we had started our main course I had to ask where our bottle of wine was. To which she replied "Oh yes, which one did you order...?" Totally unacceptable and we were furious. I kept my temper in check and replied " Well you should know, you wrote it down!" The wine was £25 a bottle!
We decided we would never eat there again during our stay apart from breakfast as the service was awful. The waiting staff spent more time chatting with each other and standing beside the kitchen servery counter than they did attending to their guests.

We ate in the Boathouse a couple of times and that was nice but again over priced for what it was.

Breakfast wasn't great either, again young inexperienced staff with no guidance. Tables not being cleared and staff not paying attention to the paying guest.

We ate most of the time at the Carrick golf club which was brilliant.

In it's hey day Cameron House was the place to go but that's long past. It's prices are geared towards footballers with a service that doesn't match. The management need to take onboard some of the comments left on Tripadvisor as there are a lot of much better hotels in Scotland than this one. Resting on its laurels isn't a good thing.
Overpriced for what it is I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. There are far better hotels in Scotland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aussie mum G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent stay.. room was lovely, staff extremely helpful, food delicious.. would recommend the carrick spa too. The views and grounds are superb at the hotel. The hotel public areas are fabby with lovely logs fires. Shop nice to visit in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chorusgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing