We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we stayed here last month, a very late booking using a voucher that my son could not use before it expired, we upgraded to a loch view room which was excellently equipped with a fantastically comfortable bed, included in the deal was the use of the spa a mile or two along the road (you get taken in a mini bus) highlight of the spa is the rooftop hot tub with wonderful mountain views. A lovely pint in the boathouse before dinner in the main restaurant, breakfast was very good, a huge choice and most important freshly cooked. ( i have recently stayed in two other quality hotels, one is located in "the home of golf" and the other is about to host a large golf extravaganza, in both places the breakfast bacon, sausages etc were dried up and barely edible. all in all it was a pleasant stay which i would gladly repeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,067 - 4,073 of 6,138 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was in a party of 6 ladies on the spa break package. The spa was lovely but the 30 min treatments included in package were disappointing. The manicure and pedicure amounted to nothing more than a file and polish. The massages lasted less that 15mins.
We dined in the Cameron grill. When discussing the set menu with our server, he informed us that the sirloin steak was very thin and could only be cooked either medium rare or well done. One of our party asked if it was a minute steak and as a result chose to order the rib eye from the a la carte and pay extra. When the steak arrived for the other person in the party it was a sirloin but too undercooked for her personal taste and as a result it was only half eaten. However the desserts were fantastic and easily the best course of the menu!
We required 3 twin rooms but despite a phone call from the hotel to myself the day before to confirm this, when we arrived 2 of the beds were made up as doubles. There was no problem getting them changed.
Credit is due to the lady from the resort desk who helped me plan out the day over the telephone, she was 5star+ and to the men run ragged with the valet parking...excellent service
The reception staff were unexceptional but were at least quick to remove the mysterious service charges from my bill when challenged.
Overall we had a lovely experience in a truly magnificent building and setting but please look at improving your staff training and menu knowledge, after all you have a mandatory 10% service charge in the restaurant which is not always earned. Allow guests to judge for themselves and the great staff will be better rewarded and the not so great will improve.

Room Tip: Some Rooms are a long way from reception so I recommend you let them know if anyone has a mobility d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

booked a 2 night stay for my husbands birthday . Our room was very nice and well equipped but a little more attention to detail in cleaning would not go a miss. On our first night we ate in the Claret Jug service slow. My husband had the mixed grill , his steak was over cooked as was the lamb. for dessert we both ordered the strawberry sundae. when it came it looked like it was a childs ice-cream . not quite what we were expecting. Breakfast well was chaotic on the sunday . we had to queue and then when we did get shown to our table it still had crumbs on. we ordered eggs benedict and then we were told they had run out of hollandaise sauce !! really a hotel that can't make up a new batch . Asked several times for a glass for orange juice they were being washed we were told and then no croissants . Now if this is a 5 star hotel then the service should reflect this. I did speak to a resort services and they apologised for the service and offered to refund the cost of our meal at the claret jug and breakfast which they did when we checked out. Whilst this was a very kind and welcome jesture they need to make much more of an effort for the service to reflect the cost of staying here. we ate in Martin Wishart on our 2nd night and it was fab. from the service to the food. when we returned to our room the hotel had delivered a bottle of champagne and a very nice note of apology . whilst i love the location of Cameron House not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

You've heard the song about the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond?
You'll have plenty to sing about on a trip to the beautiful Cameron House.
Despite its opulence and grandeur, the vibe here is very chilled and relaxation is the order of the day. We recently stayed to celebrate a special family member's birthday and the staff here could not have been more helpful and accommodating. From everything to the wonderful room allocated to the simply divine food served in the Cameron Grill, this was 5 star hospitality at its very best. I recommend Cameron House to you. It really is a little bit of Heaven on earth...20 minutes from Glasgow!

Room Tip: If budget allows, try and reserve a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grapeandglamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Called in at the Great Scots Bar for a drink on the way home to Glasgow. We ordered a glass of wine each. Lovely place to sit, nice bustling atmosphere and lovely views of the loch. Found the bar staff to be dour and unfriendly however and what was really annoying was the fact the bar maid (who may have been the manageress or head bar maid due to her darker different uniform from the rest) did not return our change until we asked for it. If we had wanted to leave a tip then we will choose to do so, it should not be assumed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at Cameron House for a 2 night break, as part of my husbands 40th birthday celebrations. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again. However we were disappointed to find that although there are 5 star elements within the hotel that this standard in our experience is not reflected throughout. For example we had booked a standard room, assuming that all rooms would be of a high standard. This sadly was not the case the bathroom tiles were cracked and chipped, there was a significant amount of black mold in the shower & bath and the door was very dusty. We informed reception about the tiles, pointing out that someone could injure themselves and recommended that this should be looked at asap. No one came to our room or contacted us re this during our stay. The receptionist did offer to move us rooms, as we had already unpacked we declined.
The most disappointing part of our stay was our Friday night meal, at the Grill restaurant within the hotel, our booking was for 7.30pm on the Thursday night and the restaurant was half empty, however despite this we were sat right next to the very busy and loud kitchen. We decided not to complain and enjoy our evening. Our first course was very good, however our main course was cold, our sides were cold and the sauces had a skin on them. The waitress was very apologetic and took our meal away to be reheated. When we got our meal back our plates were literally streaming hot, with the food being thrown on the plate unevenly distributed, and a real mess. As a result we asked to speak to the manager, who although not rude was was not apologetic.He did however let us choose another main course as ours was inedible and did not charge us for our main course.
However our meal on the Friday night at Martin Wishart was fantastic, the food, atmosphere and service was second to none, and we would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone. The bar in the hotel has amazing views of the loch and although the service could be slow we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
Overall we had a lovely time and would return, however I do think that if they want to keep their 5 star rating more attention to detail is needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My mum & I visited Cameron House after buying an itison deal for afternoon tea.
We were situated in on of the bar/lounge areas that had beautiful views overlooking the loch.
The food was received was to such a high standard. Pinot only were there sandwiches with cakes and scones, there were a range of hot pastries.
I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion as it really was a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £149 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing