We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Romantic Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Broughty Ferry
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Romantic Anniversary”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this particular hotel because of the award winning restaurant but didn't expect the rest, amazing we had a suite for 2 nights, the boat house for lunch and the hotel for dinner. We enjoyed everything and the weather was wonderful, we really enjoyed the bar area. It made our anniversary one to remember. Wonderful location x.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NACNUDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,735
    1,296
    865
    427
    208
See reviews for
1,163
3,345
35
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our travels around Scotland. After reading all the reviews we were expecting more than what was given. We found the hotel pleasant enough but it certainly did not give us the wow factor. Service in the bar initially was good,but once they poured our Champagne the staff left us and never came back to see if we needed a top up or anything else. The food at The Cameron Grill was ok. Once again nothing to write home about. The restaurant was a quarter full but service was slow and to top it off the food was not hot when we got it. The wait staff we had could not give us any advice on the wines either? The original menu given to us was out of date so after waiting 20mins we were given a new menu and had to wait another 20 until they came back and took the order. Breakfast was only just ok. Food was not hot once again. Overall we all decided that people come to this hotel more for the name than for what it offers. The night before we stayed in a quaint inn on Loch Ness and the food was some of the best we've had while travelling. My advice, there are lots of hotels out there doing a much better job. I will spend my money more wisely in future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lina09112016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now and I absolutely love this place! Right on the shore of Loch Lomond, the Cameron House Hotel is an amazing experience. We stayed in a junior suite which had all the amenities you would expect and the view overlooked Loch Lomond. On previous occasions we went for something to eat at the Boathouse, which is good, but this time we ate in the Cameron Grill and the food was lovely. If you fancy a dinner date then go to the Cameron Grill, I highly recommend it. There was plenty to do during our stay, we could have quite easily made it a three night break. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly particularly valet parking staff. We will definitely stay here again as I really want to try the Martin Wishart restaurant :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chewylouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Took my mother here after buying one of the Itison vouchers for a sparking afternoon tea.
I requested a table with a nice location and we were given a beautiful table by the window overlooking Loch Lomond. The table was a great size for all of our lovely goodies.
Service was great and the Afternoon Tea was a very close second to that of Gleneagles. We thoroughly enjoyed it and there are so many different sweet and savoury snacks.
I will definitely return again in the future for the Afternoon Tea!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had wanted to stay at Cameron House for many years but the journey from London delayed our visit. However our experience at Cameron House made me wish we had visited much sooner. The staff, hotel and grounds lived up to my highest expectations and I certainly intend to return. We dined in The Grill restaurant on the first evening and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal, however on the second evening we decided to try The Boat House restaurant just outside the main building. Unfortunately the meal was disappointing and, in particular, I thought the desserts were below standard. All in all though a great hotel with considerate and attentive staff - don't hesitate to book!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlplat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in Cameron House for two nights, we chose here as we had stayed in November 2013 and had a great time, also a lovely room. I was disappointed with the reception i got when i drove up to the hotel, the Valets made me feel like i should not have been there, i got the impression they were only interested in big fancy cars, as i observed this from my room window! We had asked for same grade of room, have to say it was much smaller, cobweb hanging from the ceiling, valance on bed did not match, room was very dusty, although not dirty, toiletries not topped up in Bathroom. Dining in the Grill room, food was just okay, tables were dirty, had to ask a waiter to clean it as it was all sticky, the same at Breakfast cups were dirty and tables. We ate at the Boathouse for Lunch, this was an experience in itself, it's a lovely place let down by disgruntled staff, to be fair i think there was a staff training issue, the staff walked around like zombies and were certainly not happy in their work. Cameron House is a spectacular building on the outside. I think the place is tired on the inside. I don't think we will be back, shame as it used to be a lovely place to go. The Sea plane & Cruise were the highlight of our stay.

Room Tip: A Loch room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollydolly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Dark décor all over hotel. Pretentious.
Comfortable room but extremely dark décor. Good view over loch, nice bathroom though. Room service very slow.

Helpful?
Thank Jan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
4 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing