We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel on 5-6th July as we were booked for a trip on the seaplane. We arrived quite early (about 2:15), and to be fair, before the normal check in time (3pm), however unlike everyone else in the queue before us, our room wasn't ready and we were assured it wouldn't be long. We left a mobile number so they could call us when it was ready and went to the bar. We'd also booked treatments at the Carrick at 4pm and the receptionist said to get the 3:30 shuttle bus. By 3:20, we still hadn't had a call, so went to reception and were told the room was ready. We rushed to the room to get our swim stuff from our luggage (which they'd taken to the room) and rushed back to the shuttle bus. When we checked in for our treatments, we were informed that to use the water facilities (incl rooftop infinity pool) was an extra £39 each and would take about 2 hours to go round - it would have been helpful if this had been mentioned when I phoned to book the treatments. We didn't have 2 hours to spend on that anyway due to our dinner reservation, so decided to go back to the hotel and use the leisure pool. Unfortunately, my locker there jammed and staff had to break it open to let me get my clothes and bag back - a couple of women in the changing room said this happens 'all the time'. We got back to the room, and finally got the chance to actually look at it - it was pretty dusty, we couldn't get the TV to work properly, couldn't find milk for the teas/coffees, and there didn't appear to be any bottles in the room either. Dinner at the Cameron Grill was only ok, breakfast was fairly disappointing - the food from the 'hot' buffet was verging on cold (we were there at 8:30am, so would expect it to be hot) and my poached eggs, although perfectly cooked, we're put on my plate with a lot of water, so the rest of my breakfast was soaked. Overall, given the price of the room (£409 for dinner, bed & breakfast, plus the extra cost of using the a la carte menu and the treatments at the Carrick), we expected much more and were left underwhelmed by the whole experience. The hotel looks tired, room numbers are missing from signs on the walls, windows are dirty and it appears to be living off past glories. We made use of the valet parking, but when the car was brought back, no-one actually told us it was there and we had to go and ask for the keys. We may go back for food at The Boathouse, but we certainly won't be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcallca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,465
    1,141
    750
    360
    161
See reviews for
998
2,938
31
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived on Friday evening and was met by very helpful staff and concierge. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy with a lovely loch view.

We ate at The Boat House (franchise of a Loch Fyne), very average and rather pricey if I am honest, however I can't fault the service.

Saturday, We enjoyed a swim and me a pedicure in the hotels leisure club, no complaints here. We were due to go out on the seaplane but due to storms, this was postponed but made good use of Scott's bar with reasonable service albeit the waitress was a tad forgetful.

Saturday night we dined at the Martin Wishart restaurant and chose the six course tasting menu with wines. This was an amazing dining experience with staff and Sommelier being exceptionally knowledgeable and attentive. The service was second to none and the food and wine choices being an absolute pleasure to the taste buds, highly recommended!

The only quibble was housekeeping let the place down as they failed to clean the cups and teapot or replenish toiletries and tea making tray. Overall, we would recommend Cameron House as a truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

On a recent visit t this area we decided to treat our selves, the hotel was a little expensive but we had a lovely stay, the staff we first rate and very helpful. We just had a classic room which suited our requirements. The grounds a lovely just to stroll around and enjoy the lovely views. We ate in the Boathouse restaurant which was informal and on a sunny warm day was the perfect choice. My only minor gripe reflects another comment , the reception is so dark a few more candles required!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at Cameron House and it was absolutely brilliant! From the minute we arrived all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in a loch view room and the room itself was fabulous. It was very large, luxurious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was great, little touches like heated tiles, the rainfall shower and his/hers sinks were lovely. The view from the room was stunning, loved waking up and looking out to see the loch.

We ate in the Cameron Grill and thought it was nice but a bit on the pricey side £72 for a 1 course meal.

The leisure facilities were good, the pool was warm and steam room was nice.


Fantastic place, could not recommend more. Wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slinky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently returned for a night at Cameron House and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We were warmly welcomed at reception by Gabriella and she couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms are excellent with amazing bathrooms!! We had a loch view room this time and with the weather so nice it was glorious. The hotel was full but you would never have known, it's so well run and organised. Sat on the deck at the boat house with a glass of fizz and watched the world go by.

Would definitely say you should book your restaurant or spa treatments before you arrive as it is very popular. This hotel is worth every penny you spend!!

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are worth the upgrade, especially with the lovely weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I wanted a couple of nights away to recharge the batteries and we were not disappointed , we were impressed by the welcome we got on arrival from a professional team at the reception desk [first impressions are everything] and pleasantly surprised to find out we were upgraded to a room with a loch view [room 55] the views were stunning its not every day you can watch sea planes coming and going from a bedroom window, staff from the concierges to the Restaurant and Bars were mostly on the ball to make our stay 5 star, we opted for the barbeque at the Boat House on the Sunday if you like a good nosh its well worth a visit , at night we had dinner in the Cameron Grill which we couldn't fault followed by a few drinks in the Great Scot bar[only complaint I couldn't see my photo on the wall] all in all we had a great stay, we will return in the not to distant future for our next special occasion , might stay in the lodges with the family next time they look great ,all I can say is if you don't like CH you must be hard to please.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I were delighted with the whole stay. The view of the loch and hills from the excellent bedroom was stunning. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful making us feel totally at home during our stay.

The food in the Grill and bar was of a very high standard. The service was top class.

The Carrick spa was well worth a visit and we eparticularly enjoyed the view from the infinity pool with lots of wildlife to be seen as well.

One minor issue was with check out. We had to wait a while to be processed and then had a further wait of over 20 minutes for the vallet parked car to be fetched

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing