We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel in 5 star setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is in a beautiful location right on the edge of Loch Lomond and the views are stunning. The breakfast was great with lots of choice and the food you order off the menu was delicious. The pool and sauna/steam room are also nice (jacuzzi was out of order for the 3 days we were there).

However, that is where the good stuff stops unfortunately. After paying £200 a night and having to move rooms twice during the 2 night stay we were left let down. The first night we were staying in room 15. We were woken up at 3am and then 4am from stomping upstairs and then at 6:30am when the staff were preparing trollies to take to people having breakfasts in bed - they were just letting the door slam every 5/10 mins it was awful (the rooms have no sound proofing - even Travel Lodges guarantee your peaceful nights sleep). I asked to move rooms at reception the next morning and was moved with no problem.

This time we were in a room on the same corridor but at the end. This room was much smaller, had a broken light in the bathroom (light was hanging out the ceiling), paint peeling off the bathroom door and a horrible boarded up window. Not what you expect from £200/night. However, we just left our bags and got on with our day because we thought this was probably all they had left and we were grateful to be in a quiet room and actually get some sleep. When we returned after our day out we sat on the bed to have a cup of tea and one side of the bed was like a banana! The mattress was a complete slump and it would have been impossible to sleep on. Really awful. I had to call reception and ask for another room change. This time we were moved to another room which was fabulous but really this hassle should have been avoided.

You may wonder if we are fussy? - trust me we are not. We have backpacked around Europe staying in hostels etc, we just want a peaceful night sleep in a nice setting and normally stay in Premier Inns/Travel Lodge Hotels, the odd Mariott and special occasions Hilton. Seriously I have never had to be moved even once in a hotel before - let alone twice during one stay. It was actually embarassing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,966 - 3,972 of 6,150 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

I took my girlfriend here to ask her to marry me after returning from a tour of duty we arrived & everything seemed amazing got to room all was great, we was told there was on site spa when we booked which we found out was not a spa but open to kids etc, we left to get ready for dinner which we had booked in the grill on leaving our room I got the answer I was wanting big yes from my girlfriend so on that note we headed to dinner, all was going well until we order steak went it came out looked lovely I cut into it only to find that blood was running out of it so had to send it back. I was then sent out a new one which I had to send back again at the point the stuff where not very nice about it being sent back again for the same reason so 3rd time lucky the steak was great, we then went for drink which where spot on had a few before returning to our room. The next day we booked into the spa which is amazing could not ask for better spa. On check out we was giving an upgrade next time we stay so we booked in for new year package to be told we can't have it then and no money will be taking off the package which was massive let down, also when I booked I asked for roeses chocolate strewberrys etc in the room which was not there so that was let down to. Now that we have booked in for new year I am hoping for better!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Having got a voucher for a 2 night stay we arrived the end of august standard average type room.

Having arrived a bit too early to check in we headed for lunch at the Great Scott bar, prices were very high £15.50 for burger and chips, club sandwich £10 with pints from £4.50 to a bottle of cider £5.30. Some of the staff were excellent as you would expect in a 5 star hotel but that only covered about 10% of them. The rest of them were very slow to serve people standing at the bar, we noticed this many times over during our stay. There was very little organisation at this bar and wait times were always very long and you will be ignore for at least 5-10 minutes.

One table came up to the bar and asked if they could get a round of drinks served as they need to leave in 10 minutes, the barman said yes but took 10 minutes for the drinks to arrive at the table and the guests didn't have time to finish them.

Having got checked in to our room which was standard double room garden view there was a bottle of bubbles chilling with some fudge and fruit, a nice touch not sure if everyone get this. The room was ok and comfortable bed, the bathroom had great wet room type shower with huge monsoon shower head which was great.

As the hotel reservations had not booked us for dinner like they confirmed when the reservation was made, it was difficult for the resort services staff to get us a table at the time we wanted as all the restaurants were full, but she did get us booked into the boathouse restaurant that night.
When we arrived we asked what was the deal with the dinner included with our voucher and were told that you got £35.00 per person which seems a lot, but as the prices are high.
We had foccacia to share then a steak each with just 1 drink and the bill was £77.00 which included 10% service charge, so all we should have had to pay for was the drink and service charge but they still manage to charge us £23 for the food that night when we came to check out.

The food and serving staff in the Boathouse were excellent with the exception of the bar staff as they cant make cocktails very well and as you are paying nearly £10 each they should be perfect.

The next morning breakfast in the cameron grill was ok only marred again by the serving staff who seem to have been to the same training course as the Great Scott bar staff on how to ignore customers.

Our next meal was at the Claret Jug which is at the Carrick spa building 3 miles away and you get there by transport provided by concierge staff who were always helpful, friendly and efficient. The food that night as we were told as it was curry night, it was only curry. The food wasn't good
and again very expensive you have to pay for your starters and then the charge you for the buffet curry which was 4 dishes 1 chicken, 1 lamb, 1 potato and 1 lentil. Average before drinks would have been £21.00 for buffet curry.
We got served popadums which were not nice all very oily, went to get rice all stuck to the bottom of the trays when fresh rice arrived it was not worth the wait the curries were bland and tasteless at least the serving staff recognised that we did not like to food and took it off the bill. The place was empty and I could see why if this was what they were serving. Not a good experience.

So then to check out, as our accommodation was all paid for I was quite surprised when I got presented a bill for £560. I thought is was strange when he ask if it was two rooms we had. After 5 minutes and someone else's room charges were removed, several printouts later the bill was corrected to £54

So overall impression of Cameron house, nice hotel but very dark and very expensive, checkin staff excellent, concierge staff excellent but waiting staff generally poor and in need of some training on how to provide good customer service and not ignore them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fozzie_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stunning scenery, very welcoming staff, but a few issues for a hotel holding itself out as 5 stars.
Boathouse restaurant - great food, great wait-staff, nice environment.
Great Scot bar - great views, beautiful bar, lackluster bar staff and very average service.
Cameron grill - breakfast and dinner beset by the same problems - slightly Faulty Towers - good food, but set off against some real issues - improperly set tables (no salt & pepper/ no cups), half-hearted service (Q "can I have some marmalade?" A "We don't do marmalade" - really?). Ambiance and noise level of a school canteen - Just not really befitting the hotel.
Rooms were great - unique for sure - minor issue with the mattresses needing replacing and a few little 'attention to detail' decor things that need taking care of.
Grounds were amazing.
Front desk staff were outstanding.
Overall very good, but so close to being outstanding!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MisterMalcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hi,I have just returned from Cameron House Hotel,Please do your homework before booking and you can find a lot of different rates.I paid £230.00 for B&B The room was nice and we had a view overlooking the reception.when we left I asked the chap on reception for his best rate ..If we stayed another night...The best was £269.00 I checked there website.£199.00 I think the hotel is overpriced,the drinks at the bar are very expensive and you have to wait 10 mins for a drink.the breakfast is buffet ....Help yourself....The room we had, was nice,the air con was noisy and a light bulb was hanging down in the wardrobe exposing the electrical wires.the reception is very dark...I mean dark you should be given a torch and the rooms are also dark.The bath plug was very hard to lift...ladies watch your nails.overall very nice hotel ..but overpriced.

Room Tip: check other websites for prices and also check there own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johno100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Decided to treat my partner to a stay at Cameron house for a special birthday of his. As it was a special occasion I decided to splash out on a loch view chambre unique room for our stay. Check in was quick and efficient but when we checked out the room we quickly noticed that it did not match the specifications of a chambre unique room. Enquiring with the reception desk we were informed that our room was actually just a standard room, albeit with a loch view. Well, some loch view! The room was on the ground floor and situated near the front door of the hotel so any chances of a loch view meant no privacy at all! We spent the whole time in the room with the curtains closed! So much for loch view!

During our stay we needed to contact housekeeping and ask for a toothbrush and toothpaste. It took so long to arrive we had to go and seek housekeeping ourselves only to discover that the toothbrush came with the most minuscule toothpaste ever, not nearly enough toothpaste for a nighttime and morning cleanse!

Upon checkout we had to wait 20 minutes for our car to be picked up from valet parking when it would only take a 2 minute walk to the car park!

Fortunately the rest of our stay cannot be faulted. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast in the Cameron grill where we found the staff to be friendly and attentive. The bar staff were also pleasant too. Besides a few hiccups our stay was otherwise good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I attended for an overnight on Monday. Our room was upgraded which was a nice surprise. The receptionist who booked us in was very friendly and chatty and our car was parked by the concierge who was very helpful. We popped into the Great Scotsman Bar for a drink and then used all the leisure facilities. We were booked into The Grill for dinner. The food was lovely but we both felt the service was very slow . The breakfast was fab and all in all a great stay. Would recommend for a romantic night away.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julesandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £153 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing