We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ardoch Cottage(Gartocharn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
88
7
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
7
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomlarge tableother guestssomething different every daywonderful hostsloch lomondwithin easy walking distanceduck bayon arrivala lovely place to staystunning views of the lochstayed here for two nightsfantastic staycolleencrannywatersedgelounge
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in the Cottage Suite two nights at the end of the Scottish portion of our vacation. The suite was cozy with a small sitting room leading to a hallway with the bathroom and then a small bedroom. It is pretty far out of town, so would be much more convenient for travelers with a car. Greatly appreciated the owner's making the arrangements for a taxi to take us to the airport at 5am.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This cottage has a great view over the loch, and is in a convenient location for the surrounding area and Glasgow- Under and hour to the airport which was good for us. The decor was quite cute but a bit overdone in some ways. The hosts made an early breakfast easy for us. The check in times are very limited, which caused us some difficulty in planning when to get there, but I believe they can arrange for other check in times if you are able to plan in advance (we weren't). Overall, a nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncol, Owner at Water's Edge Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Claire
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Waters Edge Cottage and I thank you for your kind remarks . I am sorry that you found a problem with the check in times .
The prefered times we give are between 12 and 1pm or between 5 and 6pm ,otherwise by arrangement .This allows us time to get our housework completed in the morning and our errands in the afternoon . In the event where guests have to arrive outwith these times and make prior arrangement we do ensure that we are available .

Donnie (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our10 day tour of Scotland starting with 3 nights at Waters Edge. This is a lovely cottage right next to the shore of Loch Lomond with wonderful views across the loch.
The residents lounge has a totally relaxed atmosphere with complimentary whisky and an honesty drinks cabinet.
The hosts Donnie and Colleen serve a varied breakfast every morning where the guest all sit down together around a large table. This is a great idea wich enables everyone to exchange tips and information about places they have been.
The local town of Balloch is about 40 mins walk along the loch side where there are plenty of places for a meal in the evening.
Loch Lomond and the Trossachs is a beautiful area which we will be visiting again before too long and another stay at the Waters Edge is a must.
Sharon & Peter.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different with two accessed directly from the garden.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked this after picking it out of the Scottish tourist brochure. This is a most beautiful setting in area full of friendly people. Donnie and Coleen make it so easy to enjoy your self. The breakfast arrangement, in which all the guests sit around the one large table at one sitting, is a superb system. The casual, confidant and comical manner in which Donnie explains the different fayre on offer adds to the meal.

The place has an " Oldy World" feel to it and you can't help but feel comfortable and relaxed. The views looking across the Loch are breathtaking. Plenty of options to eat in the area and for walks scenery and good company well there is nothing I can say. If you want it there is even quality shopping, near enough to get to and far enough to avoid,if thats what you want to do. Certainly on our list for a repeat visit. Thank You- Andrew & Karen - Lincolnshire

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful three days in Waters Edge with the waters of Loch Lomond lapping in front of the house. Charming hosts and wonderful breakfast company. Would recommend highly and we will most certainly be making a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have something special
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews