We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Waters Edge B&B - Loch Lomond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water's Edge Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Water's Edge Cottage
Ranked #6 of 8 Alexandria B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waters Edge B&B - Loch Lomond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Waters Edge Cottage is a beautiful gray stoned cottage in quiet surroundings on the west side of Loch Lomond just south of the Highland Line Scotland. It has stunning views across the loch and a short walk from views of Ben Lomond. Our bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. Additionally It had a sitting room with comfy chairs for viewing the loch while sampling our complementary whisky. Our hosts provided a great breakfast on a baronial style dining table along sharing with travelers enabling a little chit-chat over the meal. The cottage is not far from the A82 or Balloch were there are many activities on and off the loch, shopping and a variety of eating establishments.

Donnie and Colleen were great hosts. We really enjoyed our stay at the Waters Edge B&B and will go back for a longer stay and use as base for the area. Don’t forget your camera.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mac950cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in the Cottage Suite two nights at the end of the Scottish portion of our vacation. The suite was cozy with a small sitting room leading to a hallway with the bathroom and then a small bedroom. It is pretty far out of town, so would be much more convenient for travelers with a car. Greatly appreciated the owner's making the arrangements for a taxi to take us to the airport at 5am.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This cottage has a great view over the loch, and is in a convenient location for the surrounding area and Glasgow- Under and hour to the airport which was good for us. The decor was quite cute but a bit overdone in some ways. The hosts made an early breakfast easy for us. The check in times are very limited, which caused us some difficulty in planning when to get there, but I believe they can arrange for other check in times if you are able to plan in advance (we weren't). Overall, a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncol, Owner at Water's Edge Cottage, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Claire
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Waters Edge Cottage and I thank you for your kind remarks . I am sorry that you found a problem with the check in times .
The prefered times we give are between 12 and 1pm or between 5 and 6pm ,otherwise by arrangement .This allows us time to get our housework completed in the morning and our errands in the afternoon . In the event where guests have to arrive outwith these times and make prior arrangement we do ensure that we are available .

Donnie (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our10 day tour of Scotland starting with 3 nights at Waters Edge. This is a lovely cottage right next to the shore of Loch Lomond with wonderful views across the loch.
The residents lounge has a totally relaxed atmosphere with complimentary whisky and an honesty drinks cabinet.
The hosts Donnie and Colleen serve a varied breakfast every morning where the guest all sit down together around a large table. This is a great idea wich enables everyone to exchange tips and information about places they have been.
The local town of Balloch is about 40 mins walk along the loch side where there are plenty of places for a meal in the evening.
Loch Lomond and the Trossachs is a beautiful area which we will be visiting again before too long and another stay at the Waters Edge is a must.
Sharon & Peter.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different with two accessed directly from the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked this after picking it out of the Scottish tourist brochure. This is a most beautiful setting in area full of friendly people. Donnie and Coleen make it so easy to enjoy your self. The breakfast arrangement, in which all the guests sit around the one large table at one sitting, is a superb system. The casual, confidant and comical manner in which Donnie explains the different fayre on offer adds to the meal.

The place has an " Oldy World" feel to it and you can't help but feel comfortable and relaxed. The views looking across the Loch are breathtaking. Plenty of options to eat in the area and for walks scenery and good company well there is nothing I can say. If you want it there is even quality shopping, near enough to get to and far enough to avoid,if thats what you want to do. Certainly on our list for a repeat visit. Thank You- Andrew & Karen - Lincolnshire

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful three days in Waters Edge with the waters of Loch Lomond lapping in front of the house. Charming hosts and wonderful breakfast company. Would recommend highly and we will most certainly be making a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Water's Edge Cottage is a place to be for a fantastic stay at the Duck Bay!
Near the beautifull scotish nature, with charming people.... a paradise!
The cottage is very comfortable, the breakfast is royal served...and the Loch Lomond wiskhy is unique!
Anne & Bruno

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brun058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bruach Lodge
Bruach Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Cottage

Property: Water's Edge Cottage
Address: Waters Edge Cottage Duck Bay | Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Water's Edge Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Cottage is a four star gold Bed and Breakfast on the shores of Loch Lomond with breath taking panoramic views across the Loch to the mountains beyond.Owned and managed by Donnie and Colleen since 1986 you can be assured of a warm Scottish welcome.Within 25 minutes of Glasgow airport, Glasgow 35 minutes Edinburgh 90 minutes. We are ideally situated for touring Central Scotland and the southern highlands of Scotland.Numerous Golf courses including the world class Loch Lomond and The Carrick Golf course, Fishing cycling and waters sports available nearby. Quality restaurants within a short walk along the Loch side. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Cottage Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing