We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor meal and rush service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimes

Chimes
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor meal and rush service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

awful meal and felt it was a takeaway Chinese café, the staff very rushed concentrating on the q at reception for takeaways , not personal service and food just dumped on tables as staff racing around with the q of people for takeaways , food tasteless , very disappointing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunchtime837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've been to Chimes a few times now and, despite its tucked-away location, it's always busy and lively in a friendly & welcoming way. The food is tasty and presented well and we all had a most enjoyable meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“business lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

good menu for business lunch at very good prices and every course tasted lovely and just the right size of portion very nice staff and slightly older decor but clean

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisamcgee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant I've ever been too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Chimes, has a very varied menu which is well-priced and excellent value for money. The food is second to none. I have been eating there for years it's something of a family favourite and friends love it too. The food is excellent and portions are generous. I can't recommend their chicken satay highly enough. They have a well-priced lunch time deal menu and a main menu. Staff give a warm welcome and are very helpful. I always enjoy going there I'm never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best Chinese restaurant in Dunbartonshire- bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have eaten in Chimes many many times - I some times feel like a change and try other Chinese restaurants in the area but always end up back here because none of the others come anywhere close for both food and service. I guarantee that if you eat here once, Graham, the owner, will remember your name every time you come back, and will welcome you like an old friend. The food is always excellent- after numerous visits over a lot of years I can honestly say I have never had a bad experience. We have also used Chimes to celebrate family occasions and small parties over the years and again I would highly recommend this. By the way, the carry out is also of the same high standard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimes also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Chimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing