We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Business Lunch”
Review of Chimes

Chimes
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dunbartonshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Value Business Lunch”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Group of keep fit ladies, we have lunch here every2/3 months and really enjoy it. Average £7.00 for 3 course lunch with huge choice on the main courses. Good portion size and very nice friendly staff. Graham the owner and the staff have been there for years and busy popular restaurant even on Tuesdays at lunchtime. Very busy on the weekend evenings though the main menu is a bit more expensive. Very busy with takeaways and home deliveries. We used to regularly have home deliveries but towards the end were quite disappointed with the quality of the food delivered and the length of time taken to deliver so stopped. However can't fault the restaurant menu and will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWOWILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Food was good but I found it a bit expensive would return The down side is we felt like we were getting rushed as one of the waiters was hanging about our table and making us feel uncomfortable,it must have been obvious we weren't Finnished our meal as their was still lots of food left on table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best value Chinese lunch”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The lunch menu costs less than £7 for three courses and the choice is wonderful, portions are of a good size, service is very good. Chimes is comfortable and you are never hurried.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor meal and rush service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

awful meal and felt it was a takeaway Chinese café, the staff very rushed concentrating on the q at reception for takeaways , not personal service and food just dumped on tables as staff racing around with the q of people for takeaways , food tasteless , very disappointing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunchtime837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've been to Chimes a few times now and, despite its tucked-away location, it's always busy and lively in a friendly & welcoming way. The food is tasty and presented well and we all had a most enjoyable meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimes also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Chimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing