We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rate a visit to Ross Priory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
Ranked #2 of 6 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rate a visit to Ross Priory”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ross Priory is a beautiful place to stay with Friends and Family. We enjoyed the view from our rooms,the quietness , the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of our rooms. I would recommend it to everybody

Room Tip: view to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
53
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We got married here on Aug 10th 2013. It was everything we had ever wanted and more. The reviews about the staff, food and venue being fantastic are all true It is perfectly placed on the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond with a stunning view and gothic style building. We had our heart set on being married outdoors and the staff were very flexible with waiting to see what the weather would bring. Luckily it turned out dry and we had the view we had always wanted. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made our dream into a reality. There was nothing too big or small for them to make happen. We had 2 surprise guests turn up the day before the wedding and this did not seem to phase the staff at all and were well catered for. Elanor the manager was brilliant and attended to ours and our guests needs with great professionalism and added that personal touch. Whilst we weren't convinced by the new refurb; on the day the place looked beautiful. We had amazing feedback from all our guests saying the venue, staff, food and atmosphere were just perfect. Our wedding suite was also brilliant. We look forward to celebrating our future anniversaries with you. Ross priory will always hold a special place in our hearts. Thank you all for making our wedding a day we will never forget!

Room Tip: If you can fork out the extra for a suite, definitely worth the money. For larger parties the cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Ross Priory is a peculiar cross between guest house/hotel/conference centre/golf club. However this should not put you off. We stayed in a room on the ground floor which was spacious and beautifully appointed with views to die for. Generally no staff remain on site overnight and there is no reception at all. There is an emergency telephone number overnight and the staff are around and available although ringing bells is necessary to locate them. Once around the staff are very obliging and helpful, particularly Kate the housekeeper, who is totally lovely. The purpose of our stay (2 nights) was for a wedding, which is when the novel arrangement of Ross Prior came into its own since there was no-one else to disturb and the party could run to its natural course. Breakfast is good but only served between 8.30 and 9.30am which is a bit limited in my opinion, particularly if one is on holiday and wants a later start.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanTunnacliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Visited with friends in late July,walked in the gardens and admired the views from the front of the house across the Loch while husbands played golf. Had lunch which was very nice. A lovely peaceful setting and we had nice weather,what's not to like.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had our wedding reception at Ross Priory on Saturday the 6th of July 2013.The hotel and the location provided for the perfect setting and back drop to our wedding. The staff helped to make the day run smoothly, with the food to a very high standard. All our guests had a wonderfully time, and would highly recommenced Ross Priory as a wedding venue for anyone who is considering it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We booked Ross Priory as a relaxing end to our road trip to Scotland and were not disappointed. Everything was perfect from the location, rooms, friendly staff to the delicious cooked breakfast. My husband played two rounds of golf on the short but challenging course which was the icing on the cake for him. We look forward to a return visit in the future. Thank you to all the staff at Ross Priory.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at Ross Priory for over 2 weeks whilst helping support a Charity event
Great accommodating & helpful staff ...
Great for events conferences & leisure
Food & breakfast was always well presented & tasty ( thick cut chips awesome )
Golf course .... Views of loch .. Bar ... Cottage ..highly recommend definitely going back

Room Tip: We booked all rooms for our event ... All very good & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
3.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.7 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

Property: Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
Address: Ross Priory Ross Loan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Priory is situated in an unrivalled position on the south shores of Loch Lomond with stunning views of Ben Lomond and the surrounding hills, yet only 40 minutes from Glasgow. It is a secluded and unusual venue enhanced by extensive grounds and gardens including a nine hold golf course and walled garden. There are 11 en suite bedrooms within the house, each of which are let on a bed & breakfast basis. Dinner is available by prior reservation. There is also a self-catering cottage on the loch shore which is let per week or for a 3 night weekend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Hotel Alexandria
Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing