We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
Nearby Hotels
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumbarton(Dumbarton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
122
25
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
25
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseloch lomondlarge wine glassesvalentines dinnerwalled gardenwedding venueviews are breathtakingbed breakfastamazing locationfirst floorminute drivescallopsrelaxed atmospherenight staygames roomsecond to nonefood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Another 1st class meal at Ross Priory. Delicious food and lovely helpful staff. The hotel and grounds are looking gorgeous. The internal refurbishments do the hotel proud and the ground staff are doing a grand job.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Priory, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Your kind words are very much appreciated. It is always nice to hear from returning visitors, and glad you enjoyed the new refurbishments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful over night stay at Ross Priory. The room was very clean and comfortable with an en suite including an amazing shower. There is a good choice for breakfast: mine was a 'Full Scottish ' certainly not for the faint hearted but delicious. Ross Priory is a beautiful building on the edge of Loch Lomond with amazing views, an ideal venue for weddings etc. We look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindenvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Priory, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review. My colleagues and I are thrilled with your comments. The en suite bathrooms and water system have recently been upgraded, so especially happy to hear of the successful results!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at the main house with some friends last September and fell in love with the place. So I booked the cottage for my family. We stayed at the cottage the week after Easter and had a really wonderful time. The cottage is very clean and all the amenities you need. The oustide does not do it justice.
The vews across the loch are breathtaking and the space was wonderful for the children to play freely. There is a lovely garden where you can lose your self in a book or birdwatching.
The food at the main house when you don't feel like cooking is wonderful and fresh.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed it would will definitley be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Priory, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Lochside Cottage at Ross Priory. It really is a hidden treasure, as you say. I hope you'll come back again sometime soon, whether it's to the cottage or the main house with your friends, we're always happy to welcome return visitors.
Kind regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Unlike my earlier review, this stay wasnt quite as memorable. I didnt get married this time around!!! However, we both had truly memorable weekend. As ever, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff.
The food was exceptional as we have come to expect. Its such a shame that Eleanor cant be put in charge of the Loch Lomond weather.

Thanks to all. See you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigvern83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Priory, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your return visit. Thanks for the glowing review. We aim to please and we're happy that it all lived up to your expectations, even if we couldn't lay on anything quite as splendid as a wedding this time. I wish there were a training course we could send staff on to arrange the weather, how great would that be? I hope we'll see you back again soon, even if we can't guarantee the weather...
Lesley Brownlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a gorgeous old mansion right on the shore of Loch Lomand. The place is so quaint and the food was wonderful. The views of Loch Lomand and the Scottish snowcapped mountains were amazing. There is more to Ross Priory than a beautiful place for a wedding. This is a place to forget your email, shut off your mobile, and relax.

The room was tiny. My bed was tiny. My bathroom was tiny. And yet, it was all that I needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlightSurgeon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Priory, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on creating the perfect atmosphere whatever the occasion While it is the perfect place to switch off, don't forget we have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the house should you wish to check how the rest of the world is getting on. We hope we'll see you and your friends back at Ross Priory in the future.
Lesley Brownlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews