We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
Ranked #2 of 8 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

My wedding on Nov 19, 2009 was perfect, except for the staff. The Ross Priory was stunning. The food was delicious. The staff were incredibly rude. They treated myself, my husband and all of our guests like were were in the way. We were rushed through everything and talked down to. One of the senior staff members was drunk and the bar staff were drinking before the ceremony even began. Everything was closed up early and we were told to lock the building up. The guests being told to lock up the building so the staff could rush home, and I do mean rush, they literally ran out the door. Very displeased. I would not recommend this place to anyone for a wedding.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashling82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross_Priory, Management at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
The Management of Ross Priory strongly refutes any allegations of our staff being drunk or consuming alcohol while on duty. We are now taking legal advice regarding this review. The clients have been contacted and have made no complaint verbally or otherwise. This review in no way reflects how we treat our customers. We take great pride in the warm welcome and the service we provide. Please read all other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
50
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aussie & Scot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We got married at Ross Priory on the 7th of August and had the most pefect day - the weather was even sunny! The location of RP is just stunning and so many of our guests commented that it was the best wedding they had ever been too (half of our guests were from Australia and couldn't believe the venue & views). The food was delicious (canapes, 4-course dinner, evening buffet & breakfast) and the staff were amazing - we couldn't have asked for better service. We had also never seen the honeymoon suite and we were completely amazed - it was a gorgeous suite! I wouldn't hesitate recommending them to anyone as we had great service from the moment we booked and were really looked after by Eleanor and the staff on the day. I would also suggest using Mel the Ross Priory florist to organise your flowers and cake as she did ours (and organised getting the cake made) and everything was better than we could have ever imagined :-) Just a word of warning that due to licensing laws everyone that's not staying the night needs to have vacated the premises between 12am and 12:15am. We also had about 43 day guests which was a good number for the dining room and about another 20ish evening guests so people could still move around easily but it didn't look bare :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NooshTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

Got married at Ross priory 8th of Nov 09. This place is outstanding with great service and fantastic food. The building it's self is gorjus with great views of loch lomond. We booked all the rooms out for our guests to stay and everyone was happy, the lower ground rooms which have recently been added are really modern and spacious. Hopefully return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

We got married in August and had our reception at Ross Priory and it was fantastic from the moment we booked it until the moment we left.

The setting is amazing with a breathtaking view over the Loch. The service was great and we had a great time!

We booked all the rooms for friends and family and they were all clean had no complaints. The two rooms on the ground floor are brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stingerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
131 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2006

My family and I visited this property owned by Strathclyde University at the occasion of the wedding of my nephew.

The Ross Priory dates back to 1693 and is situated in idyliic surroundings in extensive gardens and next to a 9 holes golf course, right on Loch Lomond ...

The rooms though not extremely large were comfortable, well maintained and very clean so was the bathroom.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and wines being served, the service was very efficient and gracious.

The food and drinks at the lounge bar were also very good.

As the party was going on until the early hours of the morning ... we could not hear a single noise in our room. Well done.

A HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE PLACE



Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank AESCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
3.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

Property: Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
Address: Ross Priory Ross Loan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Priory is situated in an unrivalled position on the south shores of Loch Lomond with stunning views of Ben Lomond and the surrounding hills, yet only 40 minutes from Glasgow. It is a secluded and unusual venue enhanced by extensive grounds and gardens including a nine hold golf course and walled garden. There are 11 en suite bedrooms within the house, each of which are let on a bed & breakfast basis. Dinner is available by prior reservation. There is also a self-catering cottage on the loch shore which is let per week or for a 3 night weekend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Hotel Alexandria
Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Alexandria, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing