We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely worth recommending”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seggiano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Castagnatello
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely worth recommending”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in Castagnatello with a group of friends for 2 weeks. The place is very well maintained, rooms are spacious, apartments fully equipped and the pool cleaned regularly. It's located in a very peaceful area and offers absolutely stunning views on the hills of Tuscany. The area is very nice too. I recommend a day trip to Florence and Siena. In the evenings you can also visit towns of Montalcino, Pienza and many others. The owners were very helpful in advising on the right places to see. Supermarket and a few restaurants are located in Castel del Piano which is a 5 minute drive from Castagnatello. To sum up, a perfect place for a holiday in Tuscany!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_S_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at Castagnatello in the middle of a 10 day Italian vacation and it was the perfect, relaxing spot to stay. We drove up from Rome and enjoyed the gorgeous drive into the Tuscan mountains on our way to the villa. We stayed in the Vigna villa with another couple and it was perfect for the four of us. The kitchen was huge, the views breathtaking and the pace of life just slow enough to unwind in the middle of a whirlwind trip. Nathan was gone for part of our trip so we were lucky enough to meet his mother and they all took great care of us.
The pool was a favorite spot while there and we spent every night watching the sunset from that location. The views of Seggiano were amazing and almost seemed too good to be true! The proximity to Seggiano, Montalcino and Siena were perfect...all under an hours drive! Also, you must visit the Abbey (on their website as a suggested place to visit). We arrived as the monks were chanting...an unforgettable part of our trip.

This villa is a must stay for the price, location, beauty and relaxation! We were on the go non-stop leading up to and after this part of our trip in Italy and it was so nice to unwind for a few days. We definitely enjoyed soaking up the Tuscan sun and wine! We will be back!

Room Tip: Vigna has a patio that overlooks Seggiano and the wine tasting house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klockard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were extremely pleased with our fortnight’s stay at Castagnatello. The accommodation and the pool exceeded our expectations. Gaia and Nathan were attentive hosts, generous to a fault with their time and helpful ideas. The star of the show was the nearby delightful small town of Castel del Piano, which had all the charm and activity one could wish for, with space to enjoy everything it had to offer. In comparison with the better known destinations further north, restaurant prices were significantly lower and the mountain scenery more beautiful and less exposed to the midday heat. The small towns that circle Mt Amiata are there to treasure, but Castel del Piano is the nearest and best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The country house is wonderful and quite breathe taking with it´s beautiful views over the nearby town of Seggiano. Our apartment was clean and very homely, in true Italian style. Nathan the host is very welcoming, friendly and a great help with what and what not to visit on your stay. The only problem with our stay was.... we did not stay long enough.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We enjoyed our holiday (couple with one child, 1 year) very much. The house is very new as you can see on the pictures of the homepage.

There is a lot to see in the area of Seggiano by car.

The owners are very kind and friendly. There is a little shop with olive oil of the trees around the house.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Castagnatello!
We were a group of 4 adults who stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was fully outfitted and had everything we needed to cook our own meals. We loved the pool area and only wish we had booked a longer stay to relax and enjoy the amazing view. It is truly stunning.
Nathan and Gaia are amazing hosts who speak perfect English. Communication was excellent! Our emails with questions were answered promptly. The area is so peaceful and quiet. Getting there was easy with the Google Map directions provided.

I highly recommend staying at this property!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Castagnatello is a well-constructed and nicely-maintained Agriturismo in an idyllic location perched on a hilltop overlooking the old Tuscan village of Seggiano. The swimming pool was a pleasant place to read and swim. Nearby villages (5min minutes and 10 minutes drive) were adequately equipped with food shops and restaurants and the immediate area provided easy access for walking, mountain, biking, and touring the Tuscan villages and countryside. Beaches were an hour or so away. Highly-recommended is Maremma national park with it's long beach which is an easy, flat 9km cycle ride to on bikes that can be rented cheaply at the park office. There is a daily limit on the number of cars allowed to park near the beach. A shuttle bus from the park office is another option. The village of Montalcino 30 minutes away from Castagnatello is worth a visit and is well-known for it's wines. Worth buying are wines and olive oil from the Castagnatello's stocks. Our apartment was well equipped for a self-catering holiday. A very pleasant 2 weeks was spent here as a base for touring Tuscany and on some days simply staying at Castagnatello relaxing. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seggiano hotels
0.7 mi away
Castello di Potentino
Castello di Potentino
#2 of 4 in Seggiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Terre d'Orcia
Hotel Terre d'Orcia
#2 of 3 in Seggiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Pozzuolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antico Borgo B&B e Taverna
0.8 mi away
Le Case della Buca Agriturismo & Camping
2.6 mi away
Vitabella Palazzetto
Vitabella Palazzetto
#5 of 9 in Seggiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Castagnatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Castagnatello

Property: Agriturismo Castagnatello
Address: Localita Pian di Bugnano, 58038 Seggiano, Italy (Formerly Agriturismo Castagnatello)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Seggiano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Seggiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castagnatello is a delightfully restored Country House immersed in the Tuscan countryside, wonderfully situated between the luscious Amiata Mountain and the enchanting Val d'Orcia. Castagnatello, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, offers breathtaking views of the nearby hamlet of Seggiano and of the green rolling hills at the foot of the Amiata Mountain. Castagnatello has six accommodations furnished to high standards, each one with its own independent entrance and all offering private panoramic terraces or covered patios that open directly to the charming garden that surrounds the estate. In the garden there are a spacious infinity swimming pool with great views, and two big stone made BBQs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing