We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every sense!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seggiano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Castagnatello
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a short break here with daughter and family in the autumn and loved it. The other reviews do it justice and there not a lot more to add!! The apartments are beautifully done out with a Tuscan feel to them, the facilities are spot on and the situation is stunning. The area is a World Heritage Site so worth a visit for that alone, as well as not being remote from other amazing places to visit. So an excellent base for so much or just chilling out in a great location!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Castagnatello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I and our two friends from the UK stayed at Castagnatello in September and the only regret we had was we couldn't stay longer. The Ulivo apartment was large, clean and fully equipped. The whole property is well maintained and set in a quiet and peaceful location with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside, including Seggiano the nearest village. The pool area is fantastic and a great spot to watch the magical sunsets. Nathan and Gaia are great hosts and always willing to help and offer recommendations to make your stay a pleasant one. Explore the nearby historic towns and villages with Castel de Piano worth a visit, also Siena and Montalcino are within easy reach making Castagnatello an excellent base. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vern O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in Castagnatello with a group of friends for 2 weeks. The place is very well maintained, rooms are spacious, apartments fully equipped and the pool cleaned regularly. It's located in a very peaceful area and offers absolutely stunning views on the hills of Tuscany. The area is very nice too. I recommend a day trip to Florence and Siena. In the evenings you can also visit towns of Montalcino, Pienza and many others. The owners were very helpful in advising on the right places to see. Supermarket and a few restaurants are located in Castel del Piano which is a 5 minute drive from Castagnatello. To sum up, a perfect place for a holiday in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel_S_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at Castagnatello in the middle of a 10 day Italian vacation and it was the perfect, relaxing spot to stay. We drove up from Rome and enjoyed the gorgeous drive into the Tuscan mountains on our way to the villa. We stayed in the Vigna villa with another couple and it was perfect for the four of us. The kitchen was huge, the views breathtaking and the pace of life just slow enough to unwind in the middle of a whirlwind trip. Nathan was gone for part of our trip so we were lucky enough to meet his mother and they all took great care of us.
The pool was a favorite spot while there and we spent every night watching the sunset from that location. The views of Seggiano were amazing and almost seemed too good to be true! The proximity to Seggiano, Montalcino and Siena were perfect...all under an hours drive! Also, you must visit the Abbey (on their website as a suggested place to visit). We arrived as the monks were chanting...an unforgettable part of our trip.

This villa is a must stay for the price, location, beauty and relaxation! We were on the go non-stop leading up to and after this part of our trip in Italy and it was so nice to unwind for a few days. We definitely enjoyed soaking up the Tuscan sun and wine! We will be back!

Room Tip: Vigna has a patio that overlooks Seggiano and the wine tasting house!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klockard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were extremely pleased with our fortnight’s stay at Castagnatello. The accommodation and the pool exceeded our expectations. Gaia and Nathan were attentive hosts, generous to a fault with their time and helpful ideas. The star of the show was the nearby delightful small town of Castel del Piano, which had all the charm and activity one could wish for, with space to enjoy everything it had to offer. In comparison with the better known destinations further north, restaurant prices were significantly lower and the mountain scenery more beautiful and less exposed to the midday heat. The small towns that circle Mt Amiata are there to treasure, but Castel del Piano is the nearest and best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The country house is wonderful and quite breathe taking with it´s beautiful views over the nearby town of Seggiano. Our apartment was clean and very homely, in true Italian style. Nathan the host is very welcoming, friendly and a great help with what and what not to visit on your stay. The only problem with our stay was.... we did not stay long enough.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We enjoyed our holiday (couple with one child, 1 year) very much. The house is very new as you can see on the pictures of the homepage.

There is a lot to see in the area of Seggiano by car.

The owners are very kind and friendly. There is a little shop with olive oil of the trees around the house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seggiano hotels
2.1 mi away
Antica Tenuta Le Casacce
2.3 mi away
Hotel Terre d'Orcia
Hotel Terre d'Orcia
#3 of 3 in Seggiano
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Pozzuolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tenuta La Silva
Tenuta La Silva
#2 of 3 in Seggiano
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castello di Potentino
Castello di Potentino
#2 of 4 in Seggiano
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Giardino di Daniel Spoerri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Castagnatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Castagnatello

Address: Localita Pian di Bugnano, 58038 Seggiano, Italy (Formerly Agriturismo Castagnatello)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Seggiano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Seggiano
Price Range: £79 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castagnatello is a delightfully restored Country House immersed in the Tuscan countryside, wonderfully situated between the luscious Amiata Mountain and the enchanting Val d'Orcia. Castagnatello, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, offers breathtaking views of the nearby hamlet of Seggiano and of the green rolling hills at the foot of the Amiata Mountain. Castagnatello has six accommodations furnished to high standards, each one with its own independent entrance and all offering private panoramic terraces or covered patios that open directly to the charming garden that surrounds the estate. In the garden there are a spacious infinity swimming pool with great views, and two big stone made BBQs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing