We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A walker's paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Pietrantica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caramanico Terme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Pietrantica
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A walker's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I recently stayed for one week at Pietrantica in October. Being a non-peak time this was perfect for enjoying the beauty and variety of walks in the area. Decontra is a small village and that is its charm. Marisa and Camillo understand the appeal of the small village and its pastoral tradition and enjoy with their guests the joys of natural home grown food and wine and traditional cooking. For this type of holiday it is a wonderful place to stay and nothing was a problem for Marisa or Camillo who were keen to help. Michael

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at Pietrantica last September and enjoyed the whole experience so much, we decided to return in June for 8 nights.

Arriving at Decontra late afternoon, we were met by Marisa and treated to one of her a warm and friendly welcomes, you could easily think that you were part of the family. Marisa has a real talent as a host and is able to make you feel relaxed and very much at home during your stay. Marisa is able to speak several languages, including Italian, English, French and a little Dutch.

We came here to walk and experience the National Park and were pleased to get out walking in the mountains on 6 of the 7 days; covering Monte Amaro via Tre Portoni, the Orfento Gorge, the Fara San Martino Gorge & Val Serviera, Monte Porrara, Monte Marrone and Corno Grande (in the Gran Sasso Park). The walking here is tremendous with real variety and we were only really limited by our own fitness. If we could have walked more, then we would have.

In the evenings you can dine with the other guests and be treated to some of Marisa’s home cooked food - made with fresh produce straight from their organic garden. This is simple great tasting food that walks were made for.

Marisa & Camillo work extremely hard to make your stay one to remember. Stopping at Pietrantica is more of a complete experience compared to staying at an anonymous hotel; it is a place where you can feel at home, really unwind in peaceful surroundings and get closer to the Majella. It is somewhere special.

Our time passed all too quickly, but we leave with lots of great memories and very much hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modiin Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed in Decontra with our 3 children who loved the freedom of the countryside. Marisa took care of everything and we felt like part of the family. Everyone eats together around a big table and enjoys the daily menu. The price might seem high for the dinner and simple rooms, but you can go hiking or climbing with the owner in one of the local cliffs - which was included.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place for families

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the old houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

If you are looking for an air-conditioned room with satellite TV and a swimming pool, then book at one of the many hotels in Caramanico. However, if you are looking to really connect with the Majella, its people and experience truly spectacular, authentic Italian hospitality, then look no further than Pietrantica.

We discovered Pietrantica by accident on Google after considering a number of other arranged walking holidays in the area. Pietrantica is an “agriturismo“, run by a local Italian family that provides accommodation in the Majella National Park. We had not experienced an agriturismo before and were worried about stopping with an Italian family as our ability to speak Italian is limited to a few key words. After a few email exchanges in English, we took the plunge and booked directly for 10 nights.

Pietrantica is located in Decontra (a small village just outside of Caraminico Terme) in the heart of the Majella National Park. Our room had been recently restored and was nicely furnished, had well equipped cooking facilities and a very nice bathroom - the photos on the website do not do the rooms any justice as they are modern and clean.

The Majella is a walker’s paradise with a wide variety of different walking options available – from mountain tops, gorge walks or exploring the numerous hermitages. Some of the walks start from your door in Decontra, enabling you to leave the car and go straight onto the paths. Walking in the national park is simply stunning; Sunday excepted, there are very few other walkers on the mountains allowing you to experience the vast wilderness to yourselves.

Marisa and Camillo are from the region and have an extensive knowledge of the Majella and share a huge passion and a healthy respect for its wilderness. They are official mountain and ski guides and are happy to advise you on walks (and the ones to avoid). If you want an English speaking guide, Marisa can arrange this for you, but we found that this was not necessary. Walking here was relatively straight forward. Armed with the 1:25,0000 map and a compass, we created our own walks across the Majella using the official walking routes. The majority of the paths are well marked and easy to follow using the “red and white” markings (which had been recently refreshed).

Marisa and Camillo really made us feel at home and very much part of their extended family during the time we were there. Most evenings we were fortunate to dine at Pietrantica with the family and the other guests. This was a great opportunity to unwind and sample Marisa’s home cooked food, made with fresh produce straight from their garden. This was really really really great tasting food, cooked simply and with love. Respect.

We came to Majella for the walking and we were not disappointed; we managed to walk 9 out of the 10 days and still left many paths to discover for another time. What we did not expect was the experience of stopping with an Italian family and sharing the passion for the Majella. We feel privileged to have met Marisa, Camillo and their family and have left with an ache in our hearts to return very very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

On the first minute we arrived, we could feel that we found the best place. Marisa gave us coffee and home cake, and gave us advise where to go walking.
Than she showed us our room, and it was beautiful . Much more beautiful from what you see on the net.
At the evening she put all her guests together , and we enjoyed the company of other people from around the world, that love to hike. Dinner was very tasty.
Last good thing, she warmed the room at the evening, and it was very cozy , with the wooden flour.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaffa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramanico Terme
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cercone
Hotel Cercone
#2 of 9 in Caramanico Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ede
Hotel Ede
#3 of 9 in Caramanico Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel del Camerlengo
Hotel del Camerlengo
#1 of 1 in Fara San Martino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Panorama
Grand Hotel Panorama
#1 of 4 in Pretoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Benessere
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Be...
#1 of 9 in Caramanico Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Arimannia
Hotel Arimannia
#1 of 10 in Caramanico Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pietrantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pietrantica

Property: Agriturismo Pietrantica
Address: Contrada Decontra no21, Caramanico Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Pescara > Caramanico Terme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Caramanico Terme
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturismo Pietrantica has 5 rooms of different styles, just renewed having a private bathroom and some of these rooms have a few seems suites, some with a small cook.The structure has been obtained from some old barns that have been renovated respecting the original materials and bio - building techniques: Majella stone, wood, and fired bricks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing