We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best site in the loire? No... The best in France”
Review of Le Chant d'Oiseau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mouliherne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chant d'Oiseau
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best site in the loire? No... The best in France”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

So many new friends made, so much laughter, so much good fun, so much so we don't want to go home, could stay here for the summer. Stu and Syb are hosts supreme the majority of the site joined them for Tour de France, bastille day celebrations at Mouliherne and Saumur and all were nights and days to remember. This will be our 1st trip of many to Le Chant, as long as Stu and Syb are there we will be coming back. There is no point in dwelling on the reception and food evenings because all my fellow reviewers have done that most admirably and in abundance.

Stu and Syb, you are not just owners of this wonderful site you are also our friends, best wishes to you both ( and Sybs mum ) for the future and we WILL see you again soon.

Room Tip: Just call Stu or Syb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    9
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just left Le Chant today after a fabulous two and a half week stay. From the moment Bracken, the dog, greets you at the gate on your arrival to the moment you leave, everything is just superb. Stu and Syb are such excellent hosts who can't do enough to help you. The ambience of the whole site is terrific, the pitches are huge and the pool---well, what can I say?!!! I spent a great deal of time cooling off in it and spending time chatting to fellow campers It's just marvellous!!
The thrice weekly meals prepared by Syb and Stu are excellent and a great way of getting to know other guests. It's all these little personal touches which make this site stand out from any other I have visited. It's no wonder I keep returning and will continue to do so at least twice a year. Thank you Stu and Syb for yet another fantastic stay. See you very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AileenLarkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Can't believe the review from Clitheroe. I admit we are from the 'horses' group having stayed with Syb and Stu for the last 4 years. We feel the site is relaxing and easy going. With the exception of last year we have been in peak season and never felt that the site is cramped. Far from it I feel the site is roomy and has an incredibly welcoming feel.
Yes the pizzas are cooked individually and this can take time but never all night even in the high season - the time when they are cooking is great time to get to know your fellow campers/ gite guests and in some cases renew friendships from previous visits. And let's face it all the best hings are worth waiting for and the pizzas and fouee served on Sundays are superb.
Prior to this year we have camped and I have never found the showers unclean - it's a campsite at the end of the day and a degree of 'wildlife' has to be expected. Spiders are natures best fly catchers and we should encourage their presence rather than having them swept away.
We plan to return in a few weeks time to stay in a gite and we are also taking our family to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. Personally I can't think of anywhere I would rather spend such an occasion.
Syb and Stu are amazing hosts and I am proud to count them amongst my friends even though we have only known them a few years.
Here's to many more years at this lovely bit of France.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Simply put, Le Chant d'Oiseau is a fantastic family run campsite and we loved staying there!! From start to finish, we thought it was great and if we had time, we would go back again before returning home.

Arriving on a fairly damp afternoon, we were first greeted by Bracken who barked with joy at our arrival and alerted Stu and Syb that we had made our way down from Glasgow. We were shown to pitch number 9 (which gets sun all day long) and then Stu gave us a guided walk of the site and facilities. Syb then offered us a hot cup of tea (very kind thank you) whilst we pitched our large blue tent with no issues - the ground was nicely level.

We hadn't camped much before and it was comforting and reassuring that both Stu and Syb made us feel very welcome......and within a short space of time, we were chatting with the other campers - half were repeat customers and half were new. We can see why this place gets a lot of repeat customers.

It's not a big site and with this, we felt it was very sociable which was really nice. We ate at the 4 course meal and also at 'the pizza' night and both nights were brilliant. At the set meal night, The food was well cooked, presented and plentiful. served with good wine, it was a really fun and social evening... we loved sitting at the long table....finding out from a fellow Scot, that people in tents are at the bottom of the camping ladder.....with my hubby protesting that it was a big tent!

The pizza night was brilliant and Stu's pizzas were the best.......we loved the way the night just went on and on - everyone brought their own wine and the evening flowed really well (great mix of people). We found the other campers to be really genuine, friendly and helpful. One caravan owning couple offered us their washing line and also to put our stuff in their awning when we packed up as it was raining....and a cup of coffee before we set off....this was really kind and we appreciated it.

In our careers, we've deal with a lot of family run businesses over the years and this has to be one of the best we've come across. Syb and Stu work hard at it, are dedicated to making it a great place and do a great job. The facilities are good, it's a very safe campsite, it's got blanket wifi, sociable food / meals 3 times a week and they sell fresh bread & croissants every morning by 9 am (the almond croissants are the best we've found in France!). It's not expensive (and this is coming from a Scottish reviewer!) and in short, it's great value for money. We wish we were there for the Tour De France but we've moved on to Austria.

The site is well located and we did a couple of day trips to Azey Le Riddeau (very pretty) and to Villandry (great gardens) both of which are worth a trip.

Overall, a really nice place to visit and we will be back.......with a caravan!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

From the moment we arrived at Le Chant d'Oiseau to the moment we reluctantly left we felt the most welcome we have ever felt on a campsite. We now consider ourselves regulars even though we've only been once because we know we'll be back as often as we can manage.
Stu & Syb are fabulous hosts, from the welcome cuppa to the excellent evenings in the barn feeding all those choosing to participate in the joint meals.
The best evening we had was the pizza night where we all happily waited in turn for our freshly prepared and cooked pizzas. Those who were served first, shared with those still waiting, we shared wine and above all we shared conversation and much laughter. I believe we also shared a very late night and some shared a good hangover the next morning :-)
If you are a relaxed social camper then this is the site for you. If however you are a bit OCD on boundaries, cleanliness, free roaming pets or even the occasional swarming bees then this might not be your preferred choice.
The charm of this site is that essentially it is the garden of the lovely hosts. If you like to have internet access to keep in touch with home, then the site WI-FI is great but if you expect fibre optic connections and would rather be online than face to face then maybe you might choose a pristine anonymous site elsewhere.
During our stay all the other campers seemed to be having a great time despite the weather, in fact the weather brings campers even closer together as it's always a conversation starter amongst the brits :-)
Already trying to work out when we can return, and not just for the excellent wine in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely site and stu and syb are perfect hosts and are truly deserving of all the praise. We have stayed at quite a few sites in the UK and France and this is without doubt the best. It is so friendly that you feel like you're camping with friends in a back garden. You don't have to take part in the meals but if you do, you are in for a treat. For the fortnight we were there we chatted to all the other guests and got to know them by name. It was notable that many were on return trips. We hope to become returners too. It was our first time camping as a family and we could not have chosen a better place. Once little'un was asleep we were happy to leave her snoring whilst we went to join in the fun. Our neighbours even listened out in case of any waking. All in all, top marks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We love 'Le Chant' - having visited 3 years in a row, both in the campsite and we have stayed in the gite 'Hibou'. We love the small select size of the campsite, where children are safe to freely play, and you can stay in the privacy of your pitch or mix with fellow campers, over a couple of beers or join in one of the social events - meal nights, pizza nights and the legendary foue! Stu and Syb are the most congenial hosts, nothing is too much trouble. We usually camp, but last year my husband managed to damage his hand a couple of days before our holiday, so we thought we would have to cancel, as putting up a tent was an impossibility! We called to cancel, and Stu kindly offered to help us put up our tent, but as we couldn't pack it, that wasn't an option. Luckily there must have been a last minute cancellation in their gite 'Hibou' so we grabbed the chance and enjoyed the luxury of a well-equipped and very comfortable gite. Stu and Syb are the best hosts - the charm of Le Chant is evident in the photos, but until you've stayed here you cannot really put the atmosphere into words. If you like an 'all singing, all dancing' holiday this is not your sort of place, but if you love a great atmosphere and relaxing in the beautiful French countryside, then this is the best place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Chant d'Oiseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chant d'Oiseau

Property: Le Chant d'Oiseau
Address: Le Chant d'Oiseau, 49390 Mouliherne, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Mouliherne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mouliherne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Chant d'Oiseau is a collection of ancient buildings gathered together in the heart of the Jardin de France, the Loire Valley. We offer a range of family, and disabled-friendly accommodation to suit all pockets without sacrifice to comfort or quality. Situated close to the major towns of Saumur, Angers and Tours. Weekend breaks, long-term rentals or holiday stays are all welcome here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing