We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best campsite in the France.....definitely not.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chant d'Oiseau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mouliherne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chant d'Oiseau
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The best campsite in the France.....definitely not.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed in many campsites throughout France and the UK and we are flummoxed as to the reviews of this site. After having been shown around the site (by Syb who was polite and welcoming and offered us a cup of tea) my husband was quite prepared to get back in the car and drive the 3 and a half hours back to the campsite we had just left! The reasons are as follows; the washing up area has only cold running water, the hot you have to get in a bucket from the shower block. The tap marked drinking water had a length of hose on the end which was dangling by the drain which itself contained grey waste water and smelled. The shower block was probably one of the worst we have ever seen. There is only one separate toilet cubicle the other toilet is located in a shower cubicle. A couple of evenings the separate toilet absolutely reeked of urine. I was wretching with the smell. There was black mould above the shower areas. The freezer in the Kampers Kitchen left a lot to be desired. There was black mould all around the seal and it didn't even close properly. It's a pity that they do not make you aware that some pitches are next to a road which is used by lorries and cars from about 5am (my husband is an early riser). Wifi was another problem it is advertised as having 'free site-wide wifi connection' be aware this is not the case. When I asked about the wifi after arriving I was told that the wifi was very slow as they were at the end of the line, (7 km away) and that with everyone on site trying to share 1mb download speed it was very slow. That was the understatement we rarely were able to connect to the Internet. Maybe the problem was we had just left the best campsite in France so this place had a lot to live up to and to be perfectly honest....it didn't. We wouldn't return here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank TraceyA707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu49390, Owner at Le Chant d'Oiseau, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi Tracey.

Thanks for taking the time to review Le Chant d'Oiseau. We're ever so slightly alarmed that none of these points were actually brought to our attention during your stay. We're sure that during your 'tour' of Le Chant upon first arriving, you would have been told the very good reason why there was no hot water at the washing up sinks, and you'd have seen what a very short distance it is from the shower block to the sinks to carry a bucket of hot water. We're also sorry that when we're really busy, the team (just Syb & I) weren't quick enough off the mark to empty the bin for you. That indeed is a most unusual sight, and one we're sorry you had the misfortune to catch on camera. We're sure that must have spoiled the whole of your stay in France. You'll remember also, that during your 'tour', you were told that the drinking water was from any of the three taps there, not just the one that is indeed the caravan fresh water fill point. That it's situated over the top of the grey waste drain from the kitchen means that water doesn't escape everywhere and flood the area. Again, our sincere apologies for that.
You also know that we don't charge a centime for the Kamper's Kitchen. We offer it out as a convenience for those that wish to, to use. We have placed in there equipment that's old, sure - but works. We do our best to keep on top of it, but we do rely on those that use it, to clean it.

Wifi - when you're told that the wifi is indeed slow, and has got slower over the past few months due to a rather unfortunate incident involving a falling tree, we expect you to understand that it's free, gratis. Because we too realise that it's slow, and that sometimes, with over 15 separate users connected, and all trying to play Candy Crush on often less than a megabyte of download speed, it's a bit fraught. We don't complain about, we live with it. It's just something else that, along with a smile and a cup of tea on arrival, we offer for free. It's just a shame that there are those that would rather complain, than simply relax and listen to the birdsong on a rural French idyll.

Oh, and the reason why there was traffic on the lane at 5am was due to the heat we were experiencing during the daytime at the time you were with us. Our own son was tip-toeing through the gates at 4.45 each morning to get to work, but was worried about waking folks up. They start early, and finish early when it's hot, not everyone is on holiday, I'm afraid. If you'd only taken the time to chat, we'd have quite happily tried to address your concerns as we don't wish to have unhappy campers on site.

Stu Bradley.
Owner.
Le Chant d'Oiseau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    9
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

La chant is a rustic campsite with a fantastic friendly atmosphere, the hosts Stu and Syb instantly make you feel welcome with friendly hello and a good cup of tea (or coffee) the meal nights are fantastic Syb is a marvellous cook and it is a great way to get to know people, we have made some good friends on this trip and enjoyed every second of it even choosing to extend our stay an extra week!! The nearby town of Saumur is a fantastic place with its breathtaking château and the Loire river running through the centre, it has great restaurant and really cones to live at night. All in all a wonderful holiday with great people and Fresh bread everyday delivered from the local Boulanger. One last thing the pool onsite is its crowning glory and un the heat of the day its just what's needed to cool you down. Visit la chant d'oiseau and you'll have a wonderful experience and meet the nicest people

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lisathebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

So many new friends made, so much laughter, so much good fun, so much so we don't want to go home, could stay here for the summer. Stu and Syb are hosts supreme the majority of the site joined them for Tour de France, bastille day celebrations at Mouliherne and Saumur and all were nights and days to remember. This will be our 1st trip of many to Le Chant, as long as Stu and Syb are there we will be coming back. There is no point in dwelling on the reception and food evenings because all my fellow reviewers have done that most admirably and in abundance.

Stu and Syb, you are not just owners of this wonderful site you are also our friends, best wishes to you both ( and Sybs mum ) for the future and we WILL see you again soon.

Room Tip: Just call Stu or Syb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just left Le Chant today after a fabulous two and a half week stay. From the moment Bracken, the dog, greets you at the gate on your arrival to the moment you leave, everything is just superb. Stu and Syb are such excellent hosts who can't do enough to help you. The ambience of the whole site is terrific, the pitches are huge and the pool---well, what can I say?!!! I spent a great deal of time cooling off in it and spending time chatting to fellow campers It's just marvellous!!
The thrice weekly meals prepared by Syb and Stu are excellent and a great way of getting to know other guests. It's all these little personal touches which make this site stand out from any other I have visited. It's no wonder I keep returning and will continue to do so at least twice a year. Thank you Stu and Syb for yet another fantastic stay. See you very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AileenLarkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Can't believe the review from Clitheroe. I admit we are from the 'horses' group having stayed with Syb and Stu for the last 4 years. We feel the site is relaxing and easy going. With the exception of last year we have been in peak season and never felt that the site is cramped. Far from it I feel the site is roomy and has an incredibly welcoming feel.
Yes the pizzas are cooked individually and this can take time but never all night even in the high season - the time when they are cooking is great time to get to know your fellow campers/ gite guests and in some cases renew friendships from previous visits. And let's face it all the best hings are worth waiting for and the pizzas and fouee served on Sundays are superb.
Prior to this year we have camped and I have never found the showers unclean - it's a campsite at the end of the day and a degree of 'wildlife' has to be expected. Spiders are natures best fly catchers and we should encourage their presence rather than having them swept away.
We plan to return in a few weeks time to stay in a gite and we are also taking our family to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. Personally I can't think of anywhere I would rather spend such an occasion.
Syb and Stu are amazing hosts and I am proud to count them amongst my friends even though we have only known them a few years.
Here's to many more years at this lovely bit of France.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Simply put, Le Chant d'Oiseau is a fantastic family run campsite and we loved staying there!! From start to finish, we thought it was great and if we had time, we would go back again before returning home.

Arriving on a fairly damp afternoon, we were first greeted by Bracken who barked with joy at our arrival and alerted Stu and Syb that we had made our way down from Glasgow. We were shown to pitch number 9 (which gets sun all day long) and then Stu gave us a guided walk of the site and facilities. Syb then offered us a hot cup of tea (very kind thank you) whilst we pitched our large blue tent with no issues - the ground was nicely level.

We hadn't camped much before and it was comforting and reassuring that both Stu and Syb made us feel very welcome......and within a short space of time, we were chatting with the other campers - half were repeat customers and half were new. We can see why this place gets a lot of repeat customers.

It's not a big site and with this, we felt it was very sociable which was really nice. We ate at the 4 course meal and also at 'the pizza' night and both nights were brilliant. At the set meal night, The food was well cooked, presented and plentiful. served with good wine, it was a really fun and social evening... we loved sitting at the long table....finding out from a fellow Scot, that people in tents are at the bottom of the camping ladder.....with my hubby protesting that it was a big tent!

The pizza night was brilliant and Stu's pizzas were the best.......we loved the way the night just went on and on - everyone brought their own wine and the evening flowed really well (great mix of people). We found the other campers to be really genuine, friendly and helpful. One caravan owning couple offered us their washing line and also to put our stuff in their awning when we packed up as it was raining....and a cup of coffee before we set off....this was really kind and we appreciated it.

In our careers, we've deal with a lot of family run businesses over the years and this has to be one of the best we've come across. Syb and Stu work hard at it, are dedicated to making it a great place and do a great job. The facilities are good, it's a very safe campsite, it's got blanket wifi, sociable food / meals 3 times a week and they sell fresh bread & croissants every morning by 9 am (the almond croissants are the best we've found in France!). It's not expensive (and this is coming from a Scottish reviewer!) and in short, it's great value for money. We wish we were there for the Tour De France but we've moved on to Austria.

The site is well located and we did a couple of day trips to Azey Le Riddeau (very pretty) and to Villandry (great gardens) both of which are worth a trip.

Overall, a really nice place to visit and we will be back.......with a caravan!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

From the moment we arrived at Le Chant d'Oiseau to the moment we reluctantly left we felt the most welcome we have ever felt on a campsite. We now consider ourselves regulars even though we've only been once because we know we'll be back as often as we can manage.
Stu & Syb are fabulous hosts, from the welcome cuppa to the excellent evenings in the barn feeding all those choosing to participate in the joint meals.
The best evening we had was the pizza night where we all happily waited in turn for our freshly prepared and cooked pizzas. Those who were served first, shared with those still waiting, we shared wine and above all we shared conversation and much laughter. I believe we also shared a very late night and some shared a good hangover the next morning :-)
If you are a relaxed social camper then this is the site for you. If however you are a bit OCD on boundaries, cleanliness, free roaming pets or even the occasional swarming bees then this might not be your preferred choice.
The charm of this site is that essentially it is the garden of the lovely hosts. If you like to have internet access to keep in touch with home, then the site WI-FI is great but if you expect fibre optic connections and would rather be online than face to face then maybe you might choose a pristine anonymous site elsewhere.
During our stay all the other campers seemed to be having a great time despite the weather, in fact the weather brings campers even closer together as it's always a conversation starter amongst the brits :-)
Already trying to work out when we can return, and not just for the excellent wine in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Chant d'Oiseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chant d'Oiseau

Property: Le Chant d'Oiseau
Address: Le Chant d'Oiseau, 49390 Mouliherne, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Mouliherne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mouliherne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Chant d'Oiseau is a collection of ancient buildings gathered together in the heart of the Jardin de France, the Loire Valley. We offer a range of family, and disabled-friendly accommodation to suit all pockets without sacrifice to comfort or quality. Situated close to the major towns of Saumur, Angers and Tours. Weekend breaks, long-term rentals or holiday stays are all welcome here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing