We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Topanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Firstly I need to thank the owners, who bent over backwards to accommodate us last minute when some travel plans got messed up. They saved me! It should be known that we were leaving an amazing 5 star place, which I had messed up my reservation period at, to come here. For some reason this place sticks out in my mind more than all the five star places we stay at. Granted it is not luxurious in that sense, but it is in simply the most amazing location in all of LA. It is perched on its own cliff, of beautiful dry, craggy hills. So warm, cicadas in the back and complete quiet. We have been coming to LA every summer and this was simply the most unique place. It is also amongst the cleanest places I have stayed. Because we had to book last minute, we had to switch rooms, which I was grateful to get a room at all. Our first room was upstairs and had such charm. Our other was a basement flat, which lacked charm but was a bargain for the amount of space. I found the wifi better than in central London. The breakfast was way too rich for me, but I found it was commiserate with typical American breakfasts, everyone else loved it!
Thank you for such an authentic and memorable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    48
    7
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
97
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A beautiful place to stay. Stunning views and very peaceful. A family run B&B - they all make you feel very welcome and serve a good breakfast each morning, where you sit and eat with the other guests of various nationalities. Located up some large hills and narrow roads but well worth the journey for the views.
The B&B was comprised of two houses, one of which had a very weak wifi connection but you could just go into the other house. Each kitchen was well equipped although they preferred you not to use the cooking appliances, which didn't bother us, there were plenty of places to eat within a 5-10min drive - I wouldn't recommend walking to them on those roads at night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice B&B to stop over during a visit to this area. Way up the Canyon on a remote small road. Breakfast was outstanding. We had the best room offered and the valley view was fun to see.

I would recommend it for a stay over as your passing thru. One night was fun.

Small problems. No TV in the room. That's OK if you have a Ipad. But there was no WIFI in this room. You had to go out in the common area for this building to get a signal etc.

Warren. Wifi is now a part of our lifes and its a must to have. With regards to TV in this room, there was no TV ( a DVD only )even in the building where the we stayed. You had to go out of this building and into another to see TV. This is something that we dont want to do.

We like to stay in our room and catch up with family and friends. Not having wifi in the best room in the B&B is not what you would expect for $350 per night.

No wifi or TV in ones room means you cant enjoy the room you payed good money for.

Room Tip: ask about wifi etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I had a beautiful relaxing stay here.Thank you Warren and Corrina for making us feel welcome and spoiling us with a fantastic breakfast. The gorgeous views from our bedroom window were just an added bonus.

Room Tip: Take time to meet the other quests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Topanga Canyon Inn Bed & Breakfast. Prior to our arrival, we had some concerns regarding their willingness to accommodate a gluten-free breakfast. Their website has the following statement: “We will try our best to accommodate special dietary needs…. just ask." However, after I made a reservation in which I notified them of my gluten intolerance, they called me back and suggested that I should bring my own breakfast. Quite honestly, all it would take to make a gluten free breakfast is a couple of eggs and a bowl of fruit.

The road to the Inn is uphill, winding, and a little rough towards the end. However, the setting of the Inn is beautiful and the seclusion is worth the ride. When we arrived, we noticed that the Inn was comprised of two houses. We were greeted by the daughter of the owners. She immediately requested payment and then showed us the kitchen of one of the houses, explaining that the set-up was very similar in the other house. Having stayed in Bed & Breakfasts before, we did have some expectations. Their website also has the following statement: “Coffee, tea, cocoa, cookies, snacks, popcorn, etc. available” We arrived around 4:00 pm on a hot, dry, Fourth of July. We would have loved to be welcomed with a glass of ice tea, ice water, lemonade, or even a cup of coffee. However, none of these were offered or available. When we inquired, we were told we could make our own tea or coffee, and that there was a French Press in the kitchen. After rummaging around the kitchen for 10 minutes trying to find the French Press, I discovered it in the dishwasher. As far as cookies, snacks, popcorn, etc., there were a few Fig Newtons in a cookie jar and a package of microwave popcorn in the cabinet.

The Inn itself was very clean and nicely decorated with family artwork. We stayed in the Tracy and Hepburn room, which had a bathroom with key access only from the common room. This was slightly inconvenient. There were a few other deficiencies that could be easily remedied. The room had nice wood furniture, but no coasters to place our water glasses. Nor did the room have a garbage can, phone, alarm clock, or wake-up service. The Wi-Fi access did not work within either house. Finally, considering we were in CA, I was surprised that they did not have an alternate to dairy milk for breakfast.

At the time of check-in, we were given the option to have breakfast at 9:00 or 9:30 am. We chose 9:00. However, we were not invited to sit at the table until almost 9:10. Fried eggs, waffles, bacon, mango, OJ and coffee were served family style. The food was good, however, the entrees were quickly cleared after we helped ourselves to our first serving. One of the reasons we enjoy B&B’s is because it gives us the opportunity to relax and talk with other guests. Despite being in the middle of a conversation with two other couples, we were asked to leave the table because they needed to get it ready for the 9:30 breakfast. It was the most rushed breakfast I have had at a B&B.

We found the Topanga Canyon Inn to be in a beautiful, secluded setting with relatively easy access to scenic hiking trails. However, though our hostess was pleasant in nature, the overall service we received was poor.

Room Tip: Request a room that has a bathroom within your guest room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice any environmentally-friendly practices in place. There was only a garbage can under the kitchen sink, and no evidence of a recycling bin.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga_Canyon_Inn, Owner at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
These were very pleasant people and we enjoyed their stay, but I must clear up a couple of things. If they thought they would have to bring their own gluten-free food, then there was a big misunderstanding as you will note that they said their breakfast included eggs, bacon, mango, orange juice and coffee/tea. We also serve prunes to help our guests when they travel. The only thing not gluten-free that morning was Belgian waffles and we have since worked out a recipe for rice flour (gluten-free) waffles. It should be noted that perhaps .7% (about 1 out of 146) people are truly gluten allergic, but it is a big fad now and we don't question the motives of the people who declare themselves gluten-free. And we don't keep soy or almond milk on hand unless the guests warn us that they are lactose intolerant.
Both kitchens have refrigerators stocked with cold bottled water that is always available at no charge. One kitchen has a drip coffee maker and the other has two French press coffee makers, again no charge. In the kitchen with the French press pots there is always tea, hot chocolate, oatmeal, popcorn and cold cereal in the cabinets. No charge. Perhaps somebody scarfed up most of the fig newtons.
There are no phones in the rooms as this is the age of cell phones. There is a land-line phone in the Casa Blanca for free calls anywhere in the U.S. and Canada. If they couldn't get the wireless to connect then it was a problem with their device and they should have asked us for advice. We will call guests for a wake-up, if they ask, but most use their cell phone alarms and these people didn't ask.
We are sorry that these people felt rushed from the table, and we sometimes hold off the 9:30 breakfast to 9:45 to not rush guests. They can easily continue their conversations in the adjacent living room and can take their coffee with them. Sometimes the 2nd shift mingles with the 1st, if there's room. We try to keep it casual, warm, helpful and friendly. Most guests appreciate that we stay out of their hair, yet we encourage them to call us when they need something.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just finished a week-end stay at TCI with the wife, in the Fred & Ginger Room.

A preface. Those reviewers who gave TCI less than three stars were likely confused about what a Bed & Breakfast is. A B&B is not a hotel, it's a place to sleep and a hot meal. You're expected to be social, and converse with the hosts and your fellow guests. Ignore any comments about inconsistent design (it was fine).

Breakfast conversations are generally interesting and harmless, and the food is at least passable. A 9 a.m. breakfast time also means you'll less likely be rushed to get to the table. The family running the Inn is nice, and our interactions were overwhelmingly positive.

The Inn itself is comprised of two houses, one white and one pink, with similar layouts and common areas. Both are perched near the hills, and you'll awaken to the sound of birds, who don't have to compete with the ambient noise of the city. The innkeeper's wife is a very talented painter, and her work is displayed prominently throughout the property. There really aren't a bunch of price tags underneath, and some commenters claim. You never ever feel pressured into buying anything, and the Inn is *not* just some excuse to exhibit artwork.

The road to the Inn is long and winding, and at some point gets a little rough. It's easy enough to find, though, and we had no trouble parking. A few restaurants will still deliver, although your best bet is to scavenge for something in town, or in nearby Woodland Hills.

Each room is named after a Classic Hollywood couple (Nick and Nora, Fred and Ginger, etc.), although any unique character corresponding to those rooms is more nominal than anything else. About half of the rooms have en suite bathrooms, and the others have private baths located adjacent (with your own key).

We were fortunate, in that we were the only guests on the second floor of Casa Blanca, so we effectively had a giant common area to ourselves, and I was able to relax, read, and play guitar without any issue. The mountain air was invigorating, and I was left undisturbed throughout.

There are a few misses. It would have been nice to have a refrigerator and television on each floor. Although it's not a big deal that the rooms themselves don't have TVs, we didn't really get the opportunity to watch some of the classic movies available, because we had to share the TV with another guest.

Topanga itself is a tricky location, because the food and entertainment options are poor. Look for yourself, and you'll be hard-pressed to find more than 1 or 2 restaurants with better than middling reviews without a steep price tag. You might find yourself driving into another town entirely to alleviate your boredom, although it wasn't a problem for us, visiting for only 2 nights. Read my restaurant reviews for more info.

I can't in good conscience give TCI 5 stars, having been to Jamul Haven near San Diego numerous times, which features so much more for less money. Nonetheless, Topanga Canyon Inn was a nice change of pace, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My boys and I enjoyed a 6 night stay with delicious breakfasts to boot! The rooms were terrific and clean, the owners professional and very friendly, and the Topanga Canyon scenary cannot be beat! Thanks !!!

Room Tip: They have many rooms to suit your needs!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topanga
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 6 in Malibu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
The Anza Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calabasas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20310 Callon Drive, Corner of Penny Road and Callon Drive, Topanga, CA 90290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Topanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topanga Canyon Inn is a Bed and Breakfast in Topanga, CA. There are eight individually decorated bedrooms and one family suite with various views from minimal to unobstructed. All bathrooms are private, some en suite with a bathtub and some adjacent to the room, with shower only. Our direct prices include taxes, amenities and a hearty breakfast. Guests are invited to use four different living rooms with balconies, decks and fireplaces, two kitchens where they may make tea, coffee, popcorn and cereal at any time. Hiking, bird watching, geocaching and mountain biking in Topanga State Park starts right out the doors of the inn. Great shopping, dining and the greater Los Angeles are only minutes away. Malibu and great beaches with surfing are just down the hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topanga Canyon Hotel Topanga
Topanga Canyon Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing