We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Castelvetro”

Il Cappero alle Mura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Locale intimo ed accogliente nelle mura del borgo antico di Castelvetro, dehors estivo, torre prive per cene romantiche in area d'altri tempi, pesce fresco pescato ad amo al Mercoledi e Venerdi, tutti i giorni cucina tradizionale e Mediterranea
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this Borgo for only one night and we decided to follow the rating of TripAdvisor and select the restaurant from there.
I must say that this time, Spot On!
The restaurant offer an amazing Al Fresco Dining with little elegant music including of a great selection in terms of background music.
The team on the floor is friendly and very professional in every way, guest needs and knowledges.
Food simple, genuine and well executed using local products, what the cuisine reflects. Wine list well done, covering some very interesting labels.
A great overall experience but unfortunately too short, we had to eat and go.
Hopefully we'll be back. To try!

1  Thank TastyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilcappero, Proprietario at Il Cappero alle Mura, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Gentilissimi cliente grazie di cuore per questa vostra bella recensione, speriamo di riavervi presto e porgervi dedicare più tempo con il nostro servizio.
Alla prossima.

Francesco Pedone
titolare e chef de il
Cappero alle Murta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I visited Il Cappero already a few times. If you go for traditional local food (tortellini, tortelloni, etc) you won't be disappointed. Fresh pasta is to die for. Every time I have tried something different I have been a bit disappointed. Wild rabbit with polenta, was just a kind of pasta sauce served as a main course and the polenta was only warmish. Seafood spaghetti were not edible because too salty. Another point is that Il Cappero, on Wednesday and Friday, serves some extra fish-based dishes. They are not on the menu, therefore, unless you ask for the price, you might have nasty surprises when you get the bill (like double price compared to other dishes on the menu). The last time we went they had printed out the fish menu, but they had not written the prices. Once I had tagliolini with truffle. The price depended on the quantity, but instead of grating the truffle on the pasta in front of me (as it usually happens) they served the tagliolini already covered in a mountain of truffle and of course that was reflected in the final bill (35 euro for a dish of tagliolini). Considering that the only good dishes I have tried up until now are traditional local dishes, I think next time I will give the Cappero a pass and go to another restaurant that serves tagliatelle, tortelloni and tortellini for half the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EmiliaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilcappero, Proprietario at Il Cappero alle Mura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014
Google Translation

Gentile EmiliaDublin la ringrazio per la sua recensione voglio solo risponderle dicendo tre particolari.
Primo non vendiamo un piatto di Tagliolini al Tartufo bianco ad € 35,00 ma bensì nel momento più caro del Tartufo il costo era di € 25,00 dimostrabili con ricevute fiscali ( spero anche lei possa dimostrare ciò) , punto secondo quel che riguarda il pesce che è fuori carta, proprio perché rispetta il pescato, nessuno le vietava di chiedere il costo dei piatti come altri hanno fatto.
Punto terzo dice di aver mangiato un coniglio selvatico (LEPRE) come una salsa , guardi è il primo che ha lamentato ciò, quel piatto a me piace prepararlo in modo che la carne si sfilacci e risulti molto omogeneo quindi non capisco come lei possa dirmi come cucinare.
Rileggendo la recensione dice di essere venuta un paio di volte, ma da quello che dice di aver mangiato secondo me le volte sono state molte di più altrimenti non si spiega come lei possa consigliare il tradizionale e non i fuori carta e quindi tutti quei piatti in solo due cene un po tanto secondo me.
Concludo ringraziandola per avermi offerto un pass a provare altri ristoranti in zona, dove i piatti tradizionali costano la metà, magari lei mi accompagna e li degusta perché io cerco di scegliere qualcosa di fatto con un po più di criterio di materie prime.
Grazie ancora per tutto le auguro tanta fortuna con altri ristoranti dove troverà una qualità sicuramente più alta della mia.
Tanto le dovevo.
Saluti.

Francesco Pedone
titolare e chef de il
Cappero alle Mura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We visited for dinner and were greeted warmly. Even though we do not speak any italian the staff helped greatly by providing an English menu and translating. The spinach and ricotta tortellini is highly recommended as is the Lemon tart dessert. Lovely meal, location and atmosphere. We'll definitely visit again when next in the area. Having visited Osteria Francescana the previous evening we realised what great value this restaurant is!

1  Thank petechard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilcappero, Proprietario at Il Cappero alle Mura, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014
Google Translation

Gentile cliente la ringrazio per le sue bellissime parole, ci ripagano al massimo del nostro impegno.
Spero in una sua prossima visita in Italia di rivederla per ringraziarla di persona.
Grazie.

Francesco Pedone
titolare e chef de il
Cappero alle Mura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a restaurant that we visit very frequently during the summer.
I love the atmosphere a nd the food is very very good.
The pasta is absolutely to die for.
The only point I would underline is that you absolutely have to book in advance during the summer weather it's during the week or not.
Prices are acceptable for both the food and location

1  Thank ElaineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A good , kind and friendly service in a warm atmosphere inside. Unfortunately it was raining and so we could not appreciate the outdoor wonderful garden close to the ancient centre of Castelvetro. Food was very good and dishes were well-finished.
Sure we'll go there again this summer .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claudio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cappero alle Mura also viewed

Castelvetro di Modena, Province of Modena
Castelvetro di Modena, Province of Modena
 
Castelvetro di Modena, Province of Modena
Castelvetro di Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Il Cappero alle Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing