We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet and serene”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for our first anniversary. We stayed at the dorint see hotel over a weekend in august. The view from our room was breathtaking. Hotel spa facilities were also available for free - swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym etc. Breakfast options were better than expected. Not many activities to do around the hotel except for hiking or paddle boats. So unless you're looking for absolute peacefulness and quiet then this is definitely the place to be! Another tip: worthwhile visiting the town Echteracht on the borders of Luxembourg. Nice place to dine and walk about. Only 30 mins from Biersdorf!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GhadaAlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    129
    78
    30
    11
See reviews for
95
118
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merchtem
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Desperately in need of renovation on all fronts as old age is really starting to show!! There is a smell as well on the first floor as if it used to be a smoking floor. Staff very nice and friendly - except the 2 pool reps we had on duty, very grumpy and unhelpful! Staff at marketplace: very good. Stunning views and we had a lovely weekend all in all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biersdorf, Manager at Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Dorint Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre gute Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben und unsere Mitarbeiter/ innen Sie rundum glücklich machen konnten. Ihr Lob geben wir sehr gerne weiter.

Auf ein baldiges "Wiedersehen" hier bei uns am See freuen wir uns bereits heute und verbleiben bis dahin mit freundlichen Grüßen.

Ihre Elvira Strehlen - Reservierungsleiterin - 01.08.2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pederstrup, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Nice, but somewhat worn down cottage. When the hotel claims to be a sportshotel, they really should have some more information about activities in the area. The poolbar was not open, and missing out on this opertunity during a blazing summerweek tells a lot about the hotel. Forget about wifi acces in the reception, if you get online, the speed is so slow.

The food and service in the resturent ( only went to the place at the birstube), is OK, but not more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful location for a carbuncle of a building! The reception area appears modern and stylish but this differs substantially from the rest of the hotel which appears worn and dated. The apartment rooms involve a long ten minute walk along drab corridors. The rooms themselves are well appointed and comfortable and ours did have a view of the lake. It takes approx an hour at a brisk pace to walk around the lake and is a pleasant experience. We ate in the bar terrace where you could choose your food option along with a song choice from the singing outdoor chef! Breakfast was included and was plentiful. British visitors are a bit of a rarity here so all is very much geared to the German visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I did a pretty thorough search for a good short stay for a break and found the website and the reviews a bit deceptive. My husband and I signed up for a "just for us" package in a high end resort, but that is not quite what we found. The hotel is okay - a bit old and worn. The staff was very good and even when the power went out (yes completely out at the whole complex for several hours!), the staff still maintained very good customer focus and did not get alarmed. They did have several areas lite with candles. The maintenance team was on it but I had to wonder how there was no generator or alternative for such a large complex. If you are provided an "apartment" in a separate facility - you will be walking for a least 10 minutes up and down stairs to get to any of the resort type facilities - restaurant, pool, fitness area, bar, etc. Not what I thought was reasonable nor desirable. The apartments are basic and the building shows signs of age. The pool is good size and we were able to get a workout in doing laps. The food was good but nothing unusual.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The main hotel is a sub-Corbusian lump of reinforced concrete dumped in a beautiful lakeside setting in quiet, rolling countryside between the Luxembourg border and Bitburg. Presumably planning permission was given to create jobs in the early 1980s. Some of the rooms have a lake view, others would look out onto other parts of the hotel or the dark forest. The total capacity must run to over a thousand guests and it does have something of a holiday camp atmosphere.

We stayed in one of the chalets on the hillside above the hotel; it does require some walking and climbing up steps to reach them, but none are very far away and the chalets benefit from a view looking down on lake, which unfortunately will include the hotel as well. The chalets appear to have had some updating; the kitchen appeared recent and the mattresses were new, but the sitting room furniture looked like the original 1980s equipment. The chalet lacked charm but was clean and reasonably well equipped (if you wanted to do some proper cooking, you would need to bring a few implements - there was no frying pan for example).

The hotel has a very good pool and "Wellness" complex. The hotel restaurants are just about OK but the food has an institutional character, everyhting is bland. The garden restaurant is a hymn to the 1980s, with gold finished light like stalagtites hanging from the ceiling. It would be a good place for a Barry Manilow appreciation society meeting.

If the weather is good, this is a pleasant spot for a few days away, as long as you do not expect anything special in terms of hotel atmosphere or food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPK209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with group of 6 family in one of the holidays homes up the hill behind the hotel.

Nice view and secluded areas from other holiday homes. Basic interior but certainly doing the job.

Bedrooms a bit smallish but that's not a problem when spending most if the time outside in the beautiful nature surrounding the area.

Food in the 'pub' of the hotel next to the lake not very inspiring. We did not try the hotel restaurant.

One minor complaint is lack of parking place near our home.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank poortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biersdorf am See
20.4 mi away
Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel
20.2 mi away
Nells Park Hotel
Nells Park Hotel
#12 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
20.4 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Theis-Muehle Hotel
Theis-Muehle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biersdorf am See
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Eifel
Hotel Waldhaus Eifel
#1 of 2 in Gondorf b Bitburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel

Property: Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel
Address: Seeuferstr. 1, 54636 Biersdorf am See, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Biersdorf am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Biersdorf am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel Hotel Biersdorf Am See
Dorint Seehotel And Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel
Dorint Seehotel Hotel Bitburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing