We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thanda Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)(Great Value!)
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
338
38
12
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
38
12
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reserveplunge poolgame drivesday bedoutdoor showerzulu cultureout of this worldsouth africaherd of elephantsthree nightsvery special placedining roomland roverattention to detailspent nightswatering holehigh tea
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently spent two precious nights at Thanda. For one of us this was his first time in the African bush - we were all blown away! The acccommodation (tent) and meals were first class. We loved the game drives, and became very attached to our game ranger and tracker. The welcome was warm and all the staff were friendly; they couldn't do enough. Our time at Thanda was heaven - we are already dreaming of returning!

Room Tip: If electricity is what you desire, don't choose the tents.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishAfricanmeisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Thanda Tented Camp. I agree with you if electricity is imperative for any traveler then the tented camp is not for them. The sounds of the night, hyenas, wind rustling through the trees, smell of the earth or elephants passing by, sight of Nyalas, impalas and warthog drinking from the watering hole, unbelievable sunsets off your deck or in the late afternoon at the sala, family time playing games and drinking wine.
This is Africa, and the tented camp is the way to enjoy Zululand at its best.

Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to your return. Kind regards Dulcie, Phillip and the Tented camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Fantastic Game viewing, our Ranger and tracker worked the bush, we saw all Big five also so interesting listening to the knowledge these two guys have, Dumi and Whinett, Thank you
Great food fantastic lodge, and rooms are five star.

Well done Thanda very well run Lodge

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 on the far end or 3/4/5 my choice
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddieseward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Trip advisor regarding your blissful holiday at Thanda Tented camp. The Tents are a really special product, and especially so now after the summer rains. I will pass on your message to your guide and tracker who will be so pleased with your comments. Thank you once again from Dulcie and the Thanda Tented Camp team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived at Thanda as part of our tour. Departed the bus and boarded a 4 wheel drive at about 3:30pm. The driver said "Let's go find some animals". We only drove about 100 metres down the track and turned right onto another track and there was a giraffe. It wandered off so we drove another 50 metres and found a herd of elephants feeding near a creek bed. We probably spent an hour watching them, before heading off. We eventually came across a herd of buffalo. So after only a few hours we had already seen 2 of the big five. We only had 2 nights at Thanda, but by the time we left we has seen 4 of the big 5. One of the other groups saw all five. Being a Private reserve they don't seem to be as restricted where they drive, as in the National Parks so you get REALLY close to the animals.

We stayed in the eco lodge which was spectacular, but a bit inconvenient not having a power point in the room to charge camera batteries. There are some power points in the bar area for those who are desperate. So my advice here is to make sure you have enough batteries to last your stay in the camp. The professionalism of the staff and the quality of the food is as good as other reviews have stated.

All the rooms have two showers - one outside and one inside.

TIP: Maybe it was just a coincidence, but on the game drives all of the animals were best viewed from the left hand side of the vehicle

Room Tip: All the tents are well separated from the others so really any tent would be fine. If you have difficulty walking you might prefer one closer to the common area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review regarding our Thanda Tented Camp. We have since your review fitted charging facilities in each of the tents, therefore each tent now has full battery charging facilities for your camera and phones. Yes it is a pure coincidence that you saw most of the animals from the left hand side of the vehicle, or it could be that this may have been where the burnt area has had recent rains and the animals are after the short green grass. Once again I appreciate your review and we hope to see you back at Thanda in the near future. Kind regards Dulcie and the Thanda team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We couldn't have asked for more! As soon as we pulled into the Thanda gates we saw two male elephants standing just behind where we parked our car - an amazing welcome! All of the Thanda staff were out of this world and were so helpful and knowledgable. The tented camp is beautifual and waking up to the sun rise was super having no electricity only added to the adventure. The food was divine and we ate and drank like Kings and Queens. The Bush Dinner is a must. The safari drives allowed us to see so many amazing animals - the leopards however will need to wait until we return. A real dream come true and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstianF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I had to have a good laugh about the elephants at South Gate entrance. I have no idea what it is but recently almost daily the herd has been seen at the entrance .....we often laugh and say that they know what needs to be done to Thandarize our guests. I am so pleased that you made the choice to enjoy the simple gift that the Tented Camp is able to give. Taking you back to the simple pleasures of life. Sunrises, time with your loved ones playing games at the sala, sounds of the bush, smell of the animals, grass, rain and earth, just relaxing with nature. Thank you. Kind regards Dulcie and Thanda Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

From the arrival to leaving this is a True holiday that I will never forget. On Arrival the professional staff are welcoming which is a major comfort after a few bad experiences in other hotels in SA. The front line staff are so well informed about their surroundings they promote a positive and proud image of South Africa. The very successful game drives are untouched by any other I have been on, the comfortable, clean and stylish accommodation was an absolute joy. All in all a stunning time spent relaxing and exploring. A must for anyone going to the North Coast of Kwa Zulu Natal

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review on how Amazing Thanda Safari Lodge is. I have a biased opinion and totally agree, we are really blessed at the moment with wonderful Leopard sightings close to room 9 which I believe you saw. Frogs are loving the summer rains and regular visits by Kudu to the water feature is so special. Kind regards Dulcie and the Thanda Safari Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews