We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat, so relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante La Spiga
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cherasco
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing retreat, so relaxing”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is such a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the incredible surroundings- blue skies, green vineyards and snow covered alps were just amazing! Some friends held their wedding here, and it was such a fantastic weekend- Franco went above and beyond to make it a totally perfect celebration, organising the music, the flowers and of course, exceptional food. Franco and Jane's hospitality is wonderful, they treat you like family! I would love to come back here again- thankyou so much Franco, Jane and all your wonderful staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoG5555, Proprietario at Albergo Ristorante La Spiga, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments.
It was our pleasure to look after you all.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Franco & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have stayed at La Spiga twice (May 2012 and March 2013). We like it so much we have decided to have our wedding there! La Spiga is a little gem and if you are in this area we would definitely recommend it. The setting is beautiful, its located on the middle of a hillside with vineyards all around and wonderful views. It is located just outside the town of Cherasco, a 20 minute drive from Alba and is a great base for exploring the Barolo region. The rooms are immaculate and have air conditioning. We could not find fault. The larger rooms have a sofa and all rooms have a desk, TV and ensuite. Some of the rooms have a small balcony. There is wifi. The restaurant is wonderful. A good selection of local dishes and wonderful desserts. The breakfast offered is continental with fresh croissants and cereals. We haven't used the pool yet as both our visits have been too early in the year but it looked lovely and we look forward to using it during our next stay at the end of May. Franco is a great host and has made us feel very welcome. Having lived in England for many years, he understands the importance of a pot of tea but makes an amazing coffee too. Franco has gone the extra mile helping us plan our wedding, we cannot believe how lucky we were to find La Spiga.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilGems30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is our second stay at this little gem located close to the Barolo vineyards.

Small quiet hotel with superb restaurant located in the middle of lovely surroundings.

Very good quality food and wine at reasonable prices.

If you want a few days of peace and quiet with lovely areas to visit, this is the one for you

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBTILLIES58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights when it was recommended by the manager of the hotel in La Morra where we usually stay (they were fully booked). Despite just turning up at short notice we (two adults, one 10 year old child and small dog) were warmly welcomed by the owner and served a delicious lunch with excellent local wine. The hotel is quite new but built in a lovely local style with large grounds with a swimming pool and several terraces. The remoteness of the hotel suited us fine, it was very relaxing and quiet. Accommodation and food and wine all reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a terrace, nice for enjoying a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire. UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Wonderful hotel tucked in the hillside near Barolo wine region. Awesome views and location. Hotel room was fantastic and restaurant food superb. Can't fault the level of service and attention from staff. Fully recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing and special holiday. Look forward to going back again soon.

Room Tip: We went for a suite with a balcony and worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Bamberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We found this hotel/restaurant a few years ago when looking for a location for a management offsite. We did a "leap of faith" booking and were not disappointed. We are now making this a yearly event with my girlfriend to come back here in late fall.

The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, following local style. The Hotel and restaurant are run by the owners who live on the same property. There is many things we like about the place, first is that the hotel and the restaurant are right next to each other, actually in the same house, so you can have one more drink than you should and still make it to bed without endangering anyone. Then, the owner is a very good cook, offering simple but excellent local dishes. There is also a wine list which contains many wines from the immediate region, which are very reasonably priced.

Being truffle lovers, we especially appreciate the truffle items on the menu, which are again very well prepared. What we loved most was that the owner was able to organize a truffle hunt, with dog and local guide and all. This was very informative and fun.

One remark about the location, this is really located "out nowhere", so if you are looking for a bit of company and a bunch of restaurants to chose from, this is not for you. In late fall, it can feel lonely, which was perfect for us, but others may see this differently.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Code2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at La Spiga during our winter break.

As soon as your arrive, you know you're in for a real treat. The owners Franco and Jane both greeted us with a warm italian welcome... then quickly realised my Italian didn't stretch further than 'hello', and switched to fluent English. It turns out that whilst Franco is a local, having grown up in the Susa Valley, he spent several years in the UK where he met Jane & then moved back to start the restaurant / hotel.

We stayed in a "superior" room, which was perfect for us - spacious, quiet, immaculately clean and had a gorgeous view across the grounds (although we weren't brave enough to try the pool!). Franco invited us to eat in the restaurant that evening and we weren't disappointed. The food was exceptional, having deliberately asked for something 'off menu' & authentically Italian. What a surprise! No pizza, or spaghetti bolignase! Starters were baked onion filled with local veal & wild mushrooms. Next came a homemade egg pasta dish (we were introduced to the chef who explained how it was made and the effects of using different eggs on the colour & taste of the pasta). The main of slow cooked local goat, jerusalem artichoke & roast potatoes (more English than Italian!). I declined desert, but Kate was served a nougat parfait with caramel and chocolate sauce... which I quickly tasted and ordered one for myself!

The real pleasure was the quality of wine served & the passionate knowledge of the waiter (who would easily hold the post of sommelier in the UK). La Spiga seemed to be in the middle of 3 or 4 fantastic wine regions, with Barolo, Barbera, Barberesco and Arneis (I'd only heard of Barolo before!) - we're not 'winey' people but really enjoyed learning about what made each wine special and understanding how they differed - even down to how the soil was affecting the tastes between different glasses.

We ventured out to La Morra the next day, which was a beautiful town. There's a viewing spot in the middle of the village which sits several hundred feet about a spectacular valley below - make sure you take a camera! The only let down was the dinner in the evening, we both wished we'd retreated back to La Spiga again.

We'll definitely be returning and plan to stay for longer in the summer - the benefit of Franco's local knowledge is that we'll have the chance to visit some of the vineyards not normally open to us foreigners & hopefully get a chance to use the pool!

I highly recommend La Spiga, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilbury_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherasco
2.2 mi away
Somaschi Hotel
Somaschi Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cherasco
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Langhe Cherasco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
385 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante La Spiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante La Spiga

Property: Albergo Ristorante La Spiga
Address: Via La Morra 55/b | Fraz. San Michele, 12062, Cherasco, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Cherasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cherasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante La Spiga 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL OUR BEDROOMS We offer eight bedrooms, each one with its own indvidual stlyle and ensuite bathrooms, with all the comforts that you would expect from a modern hotel. BREAKFAST You can have your breakfast either in the main dining room, in the comfort of your bedroom,or in the good weather, on our terrace with panoramic views. SITTING ROOM On the ground floor we have a reading room for your relaxation, with comfortable chairs and soft lighting, opening out on to a peaceful verandah. THE BAR In the entrance of the restaurant we have our bar area. Situated on the ground floor, with french windows leading on to patios under porticos where you will be able to dine in season. We guarantee traditional Piemontese cuisin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Ristorante La Spiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing