We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, beautiful Provence, fantastic hosts - a piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas au Portail Bleu
Ranked #2 of 6 Aubignan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Monique and Chris Tattersall are charming hosts who go out of their way to help you and make your stay very pleasant. E.g. helping call local mobile phone providers to assist me getting a prepaid SIM working (no easy feat in France....)
Their farmhouse is beautifully decorated - very classy - and very comfortable for the guests e.g. WiFi throughout, own kitchen with all facilities, full use of lounge, dining area, cable TV with all countries' channels (so if you are a Brit like me you can enjoy your BBC, Channel 4 etc. as a break from TF1...but equally German, Dutch, Italians etc. can find their favorite channels)
My first time to stay in Provence - I came to ride the Mont Ventoux cyclosportive which starts in Beaumes-de-Venise which is literally 3 km from their property...sp a perfect location. And I chose the place based on the ratings and reviews in Trip Advisor - basically the rating average should be 100% because that is exactly what it deserves.
Fabulous Chambre d'Hötes (as the French call these B&Bs) and wonderful hosts, Chris and Monique - I wish I could have stayed a bit longer....but I know where I am staying when I return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwharam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

Chris and Monique are incredible hosts, who welcome you so warmly, help you in any way to make your stay special. We've been here several times and there is so much to do (Markets, wine tasting, visiting medieval villages ect.) it is still never enough time for us to do all we would like to. Also because we just love to relax in their beautiful, charming garden with all the different cosy corners and the typical provençal fragrances . So we will just keep coming back.
We can only recommend this B&B, the rooms are so clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. Then there are all the other amenities to your disposal like guest kitchen, barbecue, large living area in the house and ample seating in the garden and the pool of course.

The whole family had a great time again, thank you Monique and Chris, we will be back soon again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moberya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at this heavenly bed & breakfast in early Nov. 2010. We had arrived in Nice, which was nice, but wanted to experience the provencial countryside and had found this spot through TripAdvisor. We had booked a room for 3 nights, but after our first night there we wished we had planned on a week! We truly didn't want to leave. The location was exactly what we were looking for, rural and authentic but with easy access to the Provence and Cotes du Rhone regions. The property itself is spectacular, meticulously well-maintained and so comfortable. We felt like we were staying in a luxury villa with all the comforts of home. Our hostess, Monique, was simply fabulous. She greeted us with coffee, cookies, and so much warmth. We were her last guests of the season, and she treated us like family. With her advice and recommendations we had the most incredible 4 days in the country, with some of the best food, wine, and experiences of our entire 2-week trip. Of all the places we stayed, this is the one we didn't want to leave, and can't wait to get back to! Too many things to highlight, but I have to mention Monique's breakfast - so delicious! I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahsponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

good for very old persons who love unrestricted rest and silence. No phone coverage poor wifi signal losts too often. Not very clean at all. You have to empty the trah yourself. The kitchen was dirty but Monique has a maid for her rooms :-((

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shidoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGate102, Propriétaire at Le Mas au Portail Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

As much as we value constructive criticism, we feel that, for whichever reason, you were determined to find something to criticise.

If the desert is being within minutes from well-known provencal villages and stunning countryside, the Côte du Rhône wine area and 25 minutes from Avignon (the second most visited city in France), we guess you’ve never been to the desert.

We understand it can be annoying if you do not have mobile phone connection, but you may have to talk to your mobile phone provider on this as we do not have any influence on the quality of the signal. As far as the Wi-Fi connection in the house is concerned, it can happen that it drops out. After all when the house was built 150 years with thick stonewalls, Wi-Fi had not yet been invented. We have since installed repeater routes to improve the signal.

As to the trash you had to take out yourself: we provide our guest with a kitchenette to share (a convenience, not always available in Chambres d’hôtes). For the comfort of all the guests, we ask them to be kind enough to take out their empty bottles and their rubbish. You wouldn’t leave the washing up of your dishes for the other guests, would you? As to the cleanliness of the kitchen, our returning guests will vouch for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Huge thanks to Monique and Chris for a really wonderful stay. Le Mas au Portail Bleu is how guest houses should be run - super friendy, informative, welcoming, beautifully decorated - it really felt like a home from home. Huge bonus that it is also a stunning part of the world with loads to see and do. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd_and_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

10 days spent at le Mas au Portail Bleu whizzed by too quickly! A wonderful b@B with all the facilities you could want for ( home away from home) and two very helpful and friendly hosts who made us so welcome. As well as beautiful breakfasts there was a great kitchen and a laundry at our disposal to cater for ourselves. A car or bike is a necessity. Great place for a holiday in a very lush and picturesque part of Provence. Plenty of places to visit close by. Thoroughly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solomonsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I first visited le Mas several years ago and fell in love with it. Took me a few years to get back there, this time with my husband to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable about the area and make you feel at home – language is no problem since they seem to speak 4 or 5 of them. The bedrooms and are spotlessly clean, airy and comfortable and have very nice private bathrooms.
Monique’s home-made jams on crusty baguette in the morning are a lovely way to start the day which we filled with visits to local markets, Roman sites nearby and a winery or two. Sometimes we felt lazy and just read a book out by the swimming pool. There is a great kitchen for guests to use so you can make yourself a bite to eat with the wonderful treats you find at the market. Nothing beats a glass of the local rose with some cheese and olives in the garden under their big shade tree.
Looking forward to another vacation in the Provence at le Mas…. I am going to take the whole family along next time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Mas au Portail Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas au Portail Bleu

Address: 102 Chemin de la Mayolle, 84810 Aubignan, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Aubignan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aubignan
Price Range: £93 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200-year old, entirely renovated, traditional Provencal farmhouse in a large garden with heated swimming pool. Views of Mont-Ventoux. Air-conditioned and tastefully decorated rooms with en-suite bath/shower rooms. Living room with fireplace, flat-screen TV (satellite dish), HI-FI, Internet, kitchenette and dining room. Languages spoken: French, English, German, Luxembourg, Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas au Portail Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Au Portail Bleu Aubignan, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing