We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Definate Winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas au Portail Bleu
Ranked #2 of 6 Aubignan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I chose this accommodation based on the reviews and the general location (from Paris to Nice) and I am so pleased to say that it was the stand out highlight of my trip to France! Chris and Monique were the quintessential hosts and I immediately felt like a part of their family. Nothing was too much trouble and they even arranged for my mother to be taken to the local store for some supplies for our dinner. The accommodation is superb and far exceeded anything else we came across on our holiday and considering how hot it was, the pool was certainly a welcome addition. Monique clearly has a decorating touch and knows exactly what's required to provide outstanding amenities. The breakfasts were terrific and Monique is very good at ensuring the guests meet and mingle! If I ever manage the long haul back to France it will be to stay here!!

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms but if mine (top floor twin share) is anything to go by - there isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEG51E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluegate84, Owner at Le Mas au Portail Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We are so very pleased that you and your mother enjoyed your brief stay with us and grateful that you took the time to write a review. It would be wonderful to see you here again. Our best wishes to both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was very impressed by this B&B's website and the reviews I read before booking, and wondered if it would live up to its expectations. In fact, it exceeded them!

As soon as we arrived and were warmly welcomed by Monique with a glass of wine in the delightful courtyard, we knew we'd chosen the right place.

Monique was the perfect host - charming, friendly, helpful in every way, and extremely generous in the facilities provided for guests. We very much appreciated being able to use the kitchenette, complete with fridge, cutlery, crockery, kitchen tools, microwave, sink and bench. There was also a guest lounge complete with TV and DVDs, not to mention the lovely gardens and swimming pool.

Our room was lovely and spacious with a huge bed and a view towards Mont Ventoux. The bathroom was a bit small, and a further drawback which could be fixed was the flooring, which made walking around barefoot impossible. Other rooms appeared to have better flooring so we were a bit unlucky there.

Breakfasts in the elegant dining room were a delight, with fresh fruit and generous supplies. The house was stylishly decorated so it was a joy to spend time there.

Thank you Monique and Chris, your hospitality was much appreciated and we'd happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdeleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A wonderful 4 night stay with Chris and Monique and as their website quotes 'arrive as a guest and leave as a friend' is truly a motto befitting this guesthouse.
From the moment we arrived, the ambience of the gardens and home captured us.Our room, with views to Mont Ventoux, was elegantly decorated yet uncluttered and peaceful.Neutral tones, super comfortable bed and a great bathroom, we were in heaven for 4 days!
Breakfast was served in the elegant dining room and Monique always added something delicious each morning to go with the other traditional French fare of cheeses, croissants, preserves etc.
Chris was an IT gem, kindly helping my husband with a laptop issue that was no trouble for him to sort out.
We also fell in love with Vigo,the family dog.He happily joined in our morning walks along the canal, such a delight!
We highly recommend this chambre d'hôte as one of excellent standard and Monique and Chris are the most hospitable hosts. We are so glad to have found THE place to stay in the Vaucluse for future trips to Provence.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdenn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed for 5 nights this time, again around the Mont Ventoux cyclosportive event that takes place at the beginning of June. It's a fantastic base for being in Provence and sampling all the surrounding beauty. Monique and Chris make you very welcome and try their best to introduce you to other guests which is very kind of them. This time I met a very nice couple with their son who were visiting from Munich (where they live almost next door to my mother by chance!...small world)
Since my first stay they completed a conversion of the old pig's barn - and it's lovely and comfortable - like a self contained unit but part of the farmhouse still.
I look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwharam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

An elegant and beautifully decorated chambre d'hote - with the added benefit of relaxed and very welcoming hosts. Excellent facilities, set amongst vineyards (and a gorgeous garden) with a lovely view of Mont Ventoux from the bedroom. Breakfast en terrace was all freshly home-made and delicious and deserves a special mention. Many thanks Chris and Monique for a great stay - very much looking forward to spending time again at Le Mas au Portail Bleu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toms_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Not our first time at the Mas du Portail Bleu, and for sure not the last time either! Staying at Chris and Monique's lovely B & B is really like tasting a bit of heaven!  You get a great view of Mt Ventoux to the left and the Dentelles de Montmirail behind. It's only a ten-minute drive to Le Barroux, Carpentras, Baumes de Venise, Gigondas and Vacqueras, all charming little villages and towns where you can go wine tasting to your heart's delight, go on wonderful hikes, visit markets or just stroll about, drinking in the unique Provençal light. Other places such as Roussillon, Gordes and Vaison la Romaine are all easily doable on longer day trips. Chris and Monique give loads of advice on where to go, what to see, where to eat, etc. Trust them - they know the area very well!

When not traipsing around the beautiful surroundings, it's very very pleasant to just soak up some rays by the lovely Mas pool or walk along the little canal right from the house. 

As for the house and rooms, all of it is a reflection of Chris and Monique's exquisite taste, from the room decorations, lovely bed linen, the spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated bathrooms, etc. Breakfast is copious and delicious, lots of fresh bread, croissants, home made jams, strawberries, etc. etc. Add to all of this the hosts' congeniality, helpfulness and genuine interest in their guests' well being and the result is one of the best places you could hope to find for either a short break or longer stay in Provence!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at Monique and Chris' for several nights and had a terrific time - the room, house, garden and swimming pool were so beautiful and pleasant that we had a tough time deciding to wander off or stay in! The surrounding area is charming and great for afternoon walks. Monique and Chris were great hosts and shared with us their knowledge of the area - it felt more like visiting your distant family :)
One suggestion - bring your GPS ! or learn French in advance :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danandnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Mas au Portail Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas au Portail Bleu

Address: 102 Chemin de la Mayolle, 84810 Aubignan, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Aubignan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aubignan
Price Range: £92 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200-year old, entirely renovated, traditional Provencal farmhouse in a large garden with heated swimming pool. Views of Mont-Ventoux. Air-conditioned and tastefully decorated rooms with en-suite bath/shower rooms. Living room with fireplace, flat-screen TV (satellite dish), HI-FI, Internet, kitchenette and dining room. Languages spoken: French, English, German, Luxembourg, Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas au Portail Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Au Portail Bleu Aubignan, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing