We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
254
55
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
55
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack foresthost michaelroom overlooking the riverevening meal was goodfresh fruitstayed longereggs and baconlovely townhotel ownera lovely staystayed one nighthotel is locatedcomfortable hotelhugsstreamguesthousebakery
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were enchanted with our hotel and the tiny, but very beautiful village of Schiltach. Michael greeted my wife and I both with hugs and a welcome deserved for Kings. He made us feel like family. We had a very large, well equipped room that was exceptionally clean. Michael cooked a superb delicious dinner for us consisting of a wonderful German salad and a perfectof Weiner Schnizel along with fried potatoes and onions, and a very nice German Riesling wine. We were too stuffed to even think about a desert. In the morning he prepared bacon and a delicious German breakfast. We spent 21 days in France and Germany, and this was by far the nicest hotel and finest meal we had on our entire trip, which included some very expensive dinners in Paris.

Room Tip: Book a room which overlooks the small, pretty river which runs through the village.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in Mid April 2014 as part of our holiday traveling around Europe in the car, we had wanted to stay in the black forest, but wanted one of the more traditional less touristy villages, eventually we decided on Schiltach and really liked the look of Zur Alten Brucke.

We arrived late at night with our 2 young children, i carried in our case which weighed as much as adult male and before i could even start to tell the host Michael how heavy it was and that i would take it up to the room he had already picked up the case and ran straight up to our room with it.

This place was just amazing, the food, service, comfort and location were perfect, the breakfast was lovely as was the evening meal, all real traditional black forest cuisine.

Michael simply couldn't do enough for us, he was great with the kids and always on hand to answer any questions, on the morning we were due to leave, we wanted to get on our way very early, he was up before us to cater for our breakfast.

We hope to return at some point in the future, i would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMorgan2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location of the Zur Altern Brucke is delightful, it's right on the river through Shiltach and a really gorgeous spot. Our hosts Michael and Lisa could not have been more helpful..they even ran a load of washing through for us as we had been travelling for a while. We stayed in the room with kitchenette, which was comfortable but lacked some of the basics I would expect in a kitchenette (such as a kettle or small saucepan). However, although the room could benefit from some renovation, it was comfortable, quiet and good value. Breakfasts were excellent and the one dinner we at at the hotel was also good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend and loved it, would definitely recommend! Michael is the friendliest, most welcoming person and this was a highlight for us. We arrived late on our first night but he was still happy to pop into the kitchen and cook us dinner, then told us breakfast is "from 8", there as literally no end time, whenever we woke up was fine. This really suited us, and they honestly were not put out at all by serving us breakfast at 11am, or whenever we woke up! The breakfast includes a beautiful array of so many fruits, as well as freshly cooked eggs and bacon, with also breads, cheeses, cereals etc. Schiltach is very small, but lovely to walk around and a good base for exploring other parts of huge Black Forest. Michael also recommended some hiking trails and even lent us his map. All in all, a fantastic weekend in the Black Forest! Thanks Michael!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed just before Christmas in this tiny little town and had an absolutely amazing time. Michael and Lisa provided the kind of friendly, outstanding service that you just don't see anymore. The rooms are a good size and well maintained but the best aspects are the food and service. Delicious and interesting food is produced in-house, the mushroom sauce is worth the trip itself (unbelievably good). Nothing was too hard for them and by the end of our short stay we were sad to leave. We cant wait to return and urge anyone to go and see!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_J_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews