We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Winterhaldenhof(Schenkenzell)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gruner Baum(Schiltach)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
253
52
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
52
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack foresthost michaelroom overlooking the riverevening meal was goodfresh fruitstayed longereggs and baconlovely towna lovely stayhotel ownerstayed one nighthotel is locatedchurch bellscomfortable hotelzur altenhugsstream
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just been on a 2 week motorcycle trip around Europe, no planning, except for knowing we had to return to this little gem of a hotel we'd happened upon 4 years previously, doing the same thing. Michael and his lovely guesthouse didn't disappoint. The four of us rocked up late in the afternoon exhausted and with all our bikes and gear and were once again welcomed with open arms and big glasses of beer! The setting is fantastic, absolute chocolate box country, where you can enjoy beer and dine in his beer garden by the river. The rooms are lovely, the beds are really comfy, the pillows are super comfy and the food is to die for. Michael does everything his self and his service is so genuinely welcoming, he's just a great guy and he has my admiration. He saw us all safely off the next morning with a hug, and welcomed us back with one when we popped in again on the return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Who has heard of Schiltach? We certainly hadn't, until we started looking for somewhere to stay on our way to Simonswald, in the Black Forest. But how lucky were we to find this place! It's in one of the prettiest towns we've seen, full of half-timbered houses, perched above a lovely river and surrounded by pastures filled with springtime wildflowers.
We stayed in an apartment at Zur Alten Brucke, which looked out onto the river. We had a large bedroom, with a very comfortable bed and warm fluffy doonas and plenty of cupboard space. There was a second room which had a kitchenette, table and chairs. It was bright and clean, but a little tired, and a kettle for boiling water for a cuppa would have been good. The bathroom was small but spotless, with plenty of towels, and there was a separate toilet.
We had two dinners in the restaurant. Service was friendly and professional and the food was very good. We also had our breakfasts there. Lots of fresh fruit, cereals, breads, cold meats and cheeses, and freshly cooked eggs and bacon. One of the best breakfasts we've had on this trip.
Michael, the owner of this establishment, greeted us warmly on our arrival, and was a delightful host. We would certainly recommend this establishment to you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were enchanted with our hotel and the tiny, but very beautiful village of Schiltach. Michael greeted my wife and I both with hugs and a welcome deserved for Kings. He made us feel like family. We had a very large, well equipped room that was exceptionally clean. Michael cooked a superb delicious dinner for us consisting of a wonderful German salad and a perfectof Weiner Schnizel along with fried potatoes and onions, and a very nice German Riesling wine. We were too stuffed to even think about a desert. In the morning he prepared bacon and a delicious German breakfast. We spent 21 days in France and Germany, and this was by far the nicest hotel and finest meal we had on our entire trip, which included some very expensive dinners in Paris.

Room Tip: Book a room which overlooks the small, pretty river which runs through the village.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in Mid April 2014 as part of our holiday traveling around Europe in the car, we had wanted to stay in the black forest, but wanted one of the more traditional less touristy villages, eventually we decided on Schiltach and really liked the look of Zur Alten Brucke.

We arrived late at night with our 2 young children, i carried in our case which weighed as much as adult male and before i could even start to tell the host Michael how heavy it was and that i would take it up to the room he had already picked up the case and ran straight up to our room with it.

This place was just amazing, the food, service, comfort and location were perfect, the breakfast was lovely as was the evening meal, all real traditional black forest cuisine.



Michael simply couldn't do enough for us, he was great with the kids and always on hand to answer any questions, on the morning we were due to leave, we wanted to get on our way very early, he was up before us to cater for our breakfast.


We hope to return at some point in the future, i would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMorgan2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location of the Zur Altern Brucke is delightful, it's right on the river through Shiltach and a really gorgeous spot. Our hosts Michael and Lisa could not have been more helpful..they even ran a load of washing through for us as we had been travelling for a while. We stayed in the room with kitchenette, which was comfortable but lacked some of the basics I would expect in a kitchenette (such as a kettle or small saucepan). However, although the room could benefit from some renovation, it was comfortable, quiet and good value. Breakfasts were excellent and the one dinner we at at the hotel was also good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews