We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean”
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in April 2014. For the price and type of accommodation, we thought it was excellent. Yes, the bathroom might be one of the smallest we've been in, but it added to the fun of staying. The bedroom itself was spacious, everything was clean and orderly, and our stay was comfortable. It's nice being right above the restaurant/bar. The food we had was excellent -- Michael knows how to make bacon for Americans! He was very personable and friendly, making us (and our new BMW -- giving it the parking space of honor out front) very welcome. We loved Schiltach and would stay again in this great guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Zur Alten Brucke
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived late, on our travel from Austria, to holland, looking for a bed and a meal.
By chance we found this bead!
Michael was so helpful, and made us a good meal. The room was lovely (a bit worn), but clean, with loads of space, and with a fantastic view over the river, and the idyllic city.
The breakfast was stunning, with loads of fresh fruit, cheese,bread, cakes, cereals, eggs, bacon and so on.
This was indeed a pleasant stay, that called for more, and we have noted schwartzwald, as a future destination.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dunant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

To sit at the border of the river is very nice. I dropped in for a little meal. So I ordered a sausage salad with cheese - Straßburger Wurstsalst - and a big beer. The service - a native English speaking lady was very friendly. The sausage salad was nothing special - probably not homemade. I paid 12,50€. If you want to enjoy a real good sausage salad you should visit the restaurant Waldblick in Schenkenzell - 3 km up the valley to Freudenstadt.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Pamepame1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

During a trip through the Black Forest in May, 2014, we booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We received a very warm welcome from Michael who assisted with getting the bags upstairs. Our room had a balcony to the side, it was very comfortable and spacious. Hotel is located right in the little village and there is a stream right across the road where table and chairs are laid out for guests to enjoy having a drink in the fresh air, weather permitting. Parking is easy and after a stroll around the village, the atmosphere and food back at Zur Alten Brucke is tops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights 2 weeks and loved everything about it. We arrived early at lunchtime but that wasn't a problem. We were showed to room 8 which has a large balcony on the side of the hotel. The room was clean and fine but it's the food, location and the hosts which really make this b and b. We stayed in 7 places on our travels and this had the best choice of breakfast than any of the others. Plus you will get an excellent dinner after a day walking or driving about.Lisa is a great hostess and will give you lots of tips, including a free train ticket for the local trains to give the car driver a break. Michael is friendly and always shakes your hand when you return from a day out but best of all he is a wonderful chef. Plus the village is the prettiest in the area with a free Logging Museum which is interesting. You can also pick up a copy of a walking tour of the village in English which describes the main old buildings etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we stayed 4 nights and were charmed by Michael's hospitality -- and his cooking! Breakfasts were a feast of fresh berries (cherries, raspberries, blueberries) and other fruits, with eggs and bacon perfectly cooked to order, cereals, pastries. But we also ate dinner here each night and everything we tasted was perfect: we recommend the home made dumplings and the fresh, plump, delicate Black Forest trout. Michael also makes the best salad dressing ever, and salads, which came with the meal, were a true delight. There is a lovely wooden panelled dining room which opens onto a terrace by the river, a welcoming, low-key atmosphere, and gorgeous beer on draft -- we were very happy guests!

Room Tip: we had a spacious room on the top floor overlooking the river -- ideal
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julietf457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Michael and Lisa goes to an extra mile to make you confortable. The breakfast was great. The hotel is well located, we stayed in a big room. Would return withou hesitation. We really recomend and maybe one day will be back. The world has a lot of places to visit. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We remember you well. And fondly at that. We remember you leaving, remember the breakfasts and asking was everything OK. We serve at least 12 kinds of fresh fruit daily along with meats, cheeses, yogurt, milk, cereals, cheeses -- boni bell and Philadelphia. Freshly made to order eggs and bacon of your choosing. Fresh bread bought minutes before breakfast begins from our local bakery. So to say our breakfast is not fresh defies all probabilities and logic. Guests rave on and on about our breakfast. I wonder what you were seeking? Finally, the hug goodbye you gave us and the "everything was great" makes us think you must be affiliated with a competitor? At any rate, WE enjoyed having you, we hope all your future travels are more to your liking. Sincerely, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
0.2 mi away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wellnesshotel Basler Hof am Schlosswald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
219 reviews
3.7 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
241 reviews
12.0 mi away
Adler
Adler
#4 of 7 in Triberg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range: £65 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing