We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Das Kranzbach
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
421
105
43
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
105
43
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschloss elmaupublic roomsreception staffbreakfast buffetspaportman
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and despite the difficult wheather it was a great experience. The spa is excellent, the food balanced and creative, the wine recommendations were all great picks.
We had a panoramic view room with view of the mountains and were very impressed at how quiet the room was. Although there were a few critical reviews lately about the restaurant service, we can not confirm that. The overall service experience (including the wellness/massage treatments) was excellent and there are few 5-star houses that couldn't compete.
Perfect destination for couples, sporty people & hikers or anyone who would just really like to get away !)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Das Kranzbach is always happy to help you celebrate a special occasion. It is a pleasure to hear that such a delightful couple were able to enjoy their time together in our house. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Been there in march 2013 with my wife. Hotel architecture, location and spa are tremendous, really loved it.

This extremely pleasing impression has however been systematically spoiled by the staff, mostly and above all in the restaurant and, to a lesser extend, in the bar. One single waiter showed the behaviour you can expect in such a luxurious (and pricey) hotel, being discrete, attentive, helpfull etc., while his colleagues clearly lacked in discipline, presence, professionalism etc. : a table is allocated to you, but then nobody shows up to ask you for a drink or explain the menu, empty plates are not being taken away during 10-15 minutes, when enquiring about the wine suggestions you are being told that there is a white and a red wine (well, thank you, but which ones, origin, tasting notes etc - hello?)...

This happened during our entire stay, both at breakfast and dinner, so no excuse that we had one single unlucky experience...

Hence a rather disappointing stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

We are sorry that your stay has been effected by the level of service. We pride ourselves on our high standard of service and as such we continually train our staff both in and out of house to continually improve the level of service delivered. I will pass your comments onto the restaurant manager and we will look at solving these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We were extremely pleased with the hotel and facilities, with one exception there are not enough lounge chairs in the spa area. The restaurant service is a disaster, unfriendly staff, arrogant management, lines to be seated, a take it or leave it mentality. We had to ask that the waitress bring our wine bottle to the table as she could not keep the glasses full as she was not there. Reason=she was on the toilet, which I really did not need to know. When I insisted that she bring the wine bottle, she slammed it down on the table, just another example of the arrogance. You know the old saying, the fish stinks from the head.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

We are sorry that you were unable to find a lounger in the Spa. When RELAX guide rated us with 4 Lilies, they specifically commented that we have proportionally to beds more loungers than any other Wellness hotel in Germany.
We are very sorry that the service did not run smoothly for you. We continue to train our staff both internally and externally to ensure that the guests receive the best possible service.
We look forward to seeing you again in Das Kranzbach, Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

For a weekend of relax we choose "DasKranzbach". We knew the "castle" that was built upon request of Mary Portman a British aristocrat, from early days of our childhood. The place is still magic: without any nuisance aroud, it is on a private street in a valley that only leeds to another Spa hotel. You really can enjoy nature. A very large and well equipped Spa with several saunas overlooking the Karwendel and other mountains! We adored the interior design of the portman house, the old part. There is a new extension to the castle with a more scandinavian style. Food was very good. The one little negative point is the eating room itself: far too noisy and too busy for a hotel that sells tranquility, relaxation and silence.

Room Tip: We did prefer the room in the Mary portman house but the new part seems even better
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

An opportunity to relive childhood memories is always a special opportunity, especially when it brings you back to our magical mountain valley! The advantage and disadvantage of Kranzbach is that there is so much space to relax during the day that the hotel feels very calm, therefore when people come together to eat the presence of others is exaggerated. We look forward to seeing you soon, best wishes from the whole Kranzbach team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have visited Kranzbach alone and with my husband in Winter and Spring both times I was in awe of it's beauty inside and surrounding as well as the food and service. A must see if you are in Munich or are traveling to/from Italy or even better visit Innsbruck before or after. Working in the boutique hotel sector for a decade I experienced many unique hotels but Das Kranzbach certainly is my favorite of all! Go and experience for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tula12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

We are pleased that you continue to enjoy staying with us. You are right that the experience in Kranzbach changes dependent on the season but always with a very positive effect. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews