We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Cruz Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Smallish clean hotel, stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis for a week in February. The hotel is opposite the local school and virtually underneath the main road but a two minute walk from the local bars and restaraunts so convenient. Breakfast is very basic with a limited selection but was adequate for the week we were there. Some fresh juice instead of squash would have been nice. Rooms were clean and towels changed every day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a good base not far outside the bright lights of Funchal. A car for a day or two is an easy option but the buses are not a bad alternative. The staff are helpful especially Miguel who tends to brighten up any day, rain or shine. Half board is fine as the choice of restaurants in Santa Cruz is limited. The bus ride to Machico just past the airport is worth it for the FAB fish restaurant at Alta Mare on the beach. It is only 10 minutes on the bus and the town is good for a look. On a good day you can sit and eat while watching the surfers do their thing. The rooms are without fridges but I guess that is to encourage you to drink in the bar. The cafe next door is a useful source of top-up drinks and I can recommend the Poncha esp the lemon variety as an apperitif. A good cheap option with good views of the sea and a convenient location. Transport options are close at hand as the bus stop is opposite the hotel & the airport literally on your doorstep!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank ChestnutQuirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here beginning of Feb. The hotel is close to the airport and the flyover but this was not a problem in any way. The hotel was small and family run. We did half board and for the money the food was good value, you had to choose your evening meal after breakfast but this was no problem. Happy hour in the bar was 6-7pm and you could take your wine into dinner. The bus stop was very convenient. Santa Cruz is quite a small quiet place, but there were half a dozen bars/restaurants. There was a nice walk along the sea front, and in summer there is a swimming pool and aqua park. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Towels and sheets changed every other day. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Although close to airport and flyover we were not bothered by noise. The hotel is not far from the sea and square with good restaurants, several have trip advisor sticker in window. Breakfast is basic but good enough choice. Staff friendly and helpful. Will be staying here again next time we come as very good value for money. Bus stop outside hotel to Funchel €2.75 single. Get off at the shopping centre, returning bus stop on other side of road. Yellow bus tour, 'hop on hop off'is good value at €12.00 for two days. We took the yellow route one day and blue route the next. Get off at the pretty fishing village Camara de Lobos.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinsTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed B&B for a week.

LOCATION - Only a few miles from the airport - don't get transfers, use taxi instead which is less than 10 euros. The hotel is directly underneath the motorway but dont let this bother you too much - its not very noisy by any means though of course during the day you can hear the traffic overhead but not to excess. There is a bus stop outside providing easy and regular access to Funchal the capital for 2.75 euros each way. And you can get the bus to Machico, the village the other side of the airport which sports one of the two (very small) sandy beaches on the island.The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach through the small streets which sport the few bars and restaurants. This is a very small village by comparison to UK standards with little to do other than sit outside and people watch - nothing for children really though there is a small basic play area on the front.

ROOMS - More than adequate with balcony - view was limited. Beds were comfy enough though the pillows were a little on the flat side. Bath with shower, toilet and bidet. Hair dryer in bathroom with shaver socket and towels changed daily. Beds also changed daily. Small portable TV in room showing at least one English channel.

FOOD/DRINK - we only stayed B&B and expected nothing more than we got really - a very basic continental breakfast comprising tea, coffee, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, lovely fresh bread rolls, jams/honey, cheese, ham, eggs, beans and frankfurter sausages. The only negative was that they only put out very small quantities at a time so that it ran out very quickly, however staff were very friendly and would bring out more if asked.
The bar/dining room is only open from 7.30-10.00am and from 6-11pm so if you want a drink (alcoholic or non alcoholic) before this go to the small bar located next door.
Whilst we didn't have an evening meal there we were told that the food was good, but that choice is very limited and had to be pre-ordered.

CLEANLINESS - Fantastic! Rooms cleaned daily, the whole place is beautifully clean though a little tired in places but this does not detract from the cleanliness.

FACILITIES - Small unheated swimming pool with some sunbeds and tables and chairs. Reading room. Nothing more. Wii-fi only available in bar area.

STAFF - very helpful, though some people might think they are disinterested - they are naturally reserved.

CRITICISM - Despite 3 emails to the hotel prior to arriving we had no reply - this was particularly important as I take medication that needs refrigerating and I needed to know if there was a fridge in the room (which there wasn't) and also hubby needs a special diet which we wanted to find out if they could accommodate.

RECOMMENDATION - Not a family hotel or resort. This is an independently run hotel which in my view is ideal for couples who accept that a Madeiran 4* hotel is nothing like a UK one. I would suggest more like a 2/3* - basic, adequate, good value for money, and great as a base for visiting the rest of the island. Madeira is not commercialized in any way. Do not go here expecting to find a resort with English bars, English breakfasts, nightlife etc.- in fact you will struggle to find that anywhere on the island! The town is very small, its still very much in the traditional Madeiran style and way of life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WallygromCheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here again January 13th 2014 for a week. I like this hotel and it is right near the beach and bus stops. Breakfast could have been much better with more choice, however the star of this hotel was the barman Miguel (I hope I've spelt his name right), very nice, kind and caring lad who looked after all our party of 4. I wanted to bring him back with us. Thank you very much Miguel for making our holiday a fab one in the bar.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms on the front have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have been in Santa Catarina hotel during Christmas and new year, I have to say that hotel was clean and the cleaners were cleaning room every morning which was great! But breakfast and reception was way too poor!we ended up our own food for breakfast! The town here is the hotel located is way too boring nothing to do there in the evenings and restaurants there were rubbish!i guess this place is better for elderly people that want to have a calm and quiet holidays!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Prasak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
29 reviews
1 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
872 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#7 of 13 in Canico
588 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#28 of 88 in Funchal
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Village Hotel

Address: Rua Bom Jesus 22, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-152, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Catarina)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Cruz Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Village Hotel, is located in the heart of Santa Cruz city, about 2 minutes from Madeira International Airport and 15 minutes from Funchal. Fully renovated in 2017, this is a typical city hotel, close to all historical, cultural and leasure facilities. About 50 meters from the historical quarter and Sea promenade. The hotel is located where there was an old sugar cane mill, keeping the original Madeiran Arquitecture. This offers to it’s guest’s a cozy atmosphere in order to make a relaxing and enjoyable stay to all guests. It has 40 rooms, divided in Standard’s; Superior; and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Cruz Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina Cruz
Santa Cruz Village Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing