We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Cruz Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reasonable hotel. Spacious rooms but very basic. I'm fine with basic but expect a bit more from a 4 star hotel. Food was OK but not much choice, pool was absolutely freezing. I absolutely love Madeira so didn't care that much about the quality of the hotel however there are much nicer ones. Santa Cruz is an OK area, bit of a pain with the planes overhead but still nicer and quieter than Funchal.

Ideally if you're going to Madeira I'd recommend Machico.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank closey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Santa Cruz Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The big room was comfortable and cleaned daily. For the price we were pleasantly surprised. The food was nice but the menu lacked variety.Breakfast was below expectations though and slow to be topped up when empty and busy.Again it lacked variety and was adequate.the staff are delightful, helpful and great with kids.The location is good with bars and restaurants close by and a car park under the hotel.We had a lovely holiday and although out of season we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good state of cleanliness, helpful staff and despite the frighteningly closeness of the fly-over we could not hear any sound from the traffic. The local bus stop is just outside the hotel and there is an excellent service to the centre of Funcal.
For the price it is very good, breakfast was excellent too considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My review is based on our experience of budget accommodation in many locations.This is not a 4 star hotel.We spent a week here & whilst nothing was very bad it just wasn't a very good experience. The receptionist on our arrival did the necessary & no more.Breakfast was a bit of a shambles,self service but coffee, milk, cereal, rolls crockery etc. running out all the time, the staff couldn't keep up with demand & weren't too bothered. The females were better than the males. Some days it was only male staff & how shall I put it, they were more interested in chatting than serving.The cleaning was exemplary. Fresh towels & bedding every day. Rooms were good.
Nice pool, very cold but 'twas early April, only 8! sunbeds, when asked why, receptionist shrugged shoulders & said, that's all we have. Noise from the road immediately above on a flyover was not a ;problem but as I lay beneath I couldn't help visualising 38 tonnes of artic crashing down on us.
Santa Cruz is a pleasant village but like the hotel I felt it was in terminal decline. There's been massive investment in shopping centres & apartment blocks that are all empty.The centre of the village is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel & has lots of restaurants & bars all providing a similar range of menus at reasonable prices. We didn't eat at the same place twice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONNIETHEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Rooms very big and tidy. nice bathroom. It is near to the main road but this don't make much noise. remember that this is a hotel so If You want to make a cup of tea in the evening don't forget to take electric kettle:) It is close to airport and Funchal. Place is really nice for staying with family. Very nice restaurants near in the city. Breakfast is almost the same every day but is nice. For us It was a great time there and we will go there again:)

Room Tip: You can let the receptionist know earlier that you need bed for child or cot bed. Ladies are really...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marchewcia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Santa Catarina is OK for a cheap & cheerful holiday to Madeira. Compares to a UK 2/3*. No noise from nearby overhead motorway; general street noise and occasional aircraft noise. Clean though tatty towels. Spare pillows & blanket in wardrobe. Same breakfast buffet every day though egg choice alternated between poached (not soft) and scrambled (dry). Remember to order dinner at reception desk at breakfast time - it's good basic food. Staff all speak English. Room safe only 7euros per week. Clean & tidy area around pool, quite sheltered. Brisk walk to Machico in an hour (turn left along Santa Cruz promenade then follow the road) - sand beach, very pleasant village. Bus into Funchal is fairly regular at 2.75euros per person. Taxi from Funchal after 9pm can be negotiated at 30euros. Would recommend bus from airport to Santa Cruz (it's within walking distance). Plenty of bars/cafes for eating out - good prices and quality at Bom Jesus by church.

Room Tip: As per other comments rooms ending in 06 have a great view and sun on the balcony most of the day (4...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikerbabe009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Forget all the negative reviews about this hotel... The breakfast was good, the flyover not noticed, the planes ignored. Happy hour was jovial and the position of the hotel excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful and the local bars and restaurants cheap (especially if you went to the really local ones). Car hire is a must for a couple of days to see all the little hamlets and villages around the island.
The bus to Funchal for a couple of days also worth doing. Had a great time and the weather was kind for the time of year.

Room Tip: Don't think it matters unless you want to spend hours on your balcony......
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnnyrazorcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
2.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
24 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#6 of 13 in Canico
549 reviews
21.9 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Village Hotel

Address: Rua Bom Jesus 22, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-152, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Catarina)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Cruz Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Village Hotel, is located in the heart of Santa Cruz city, about 2 minutes from Madeira International Airport and 15 minutes from Funchal. Fully renovated in 2017, this is a typical city hotel, close to all historical, cultural and leasure facilities. About 50 meters from the historical quarter and Sea promenade. The hotel is located where there was an old sugar cane mill, keeping the original Madeiran Arquitecture. This offers to it’s guest’s a cozy atmosphere in order to make a relaxing and enjoyable stay to all guests. It has 40 rooms, divided in Standard’s; Superior; and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Cruz Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina Cruz
Santa Cruz Village Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing