We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Cruz Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic value.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

5 stars for value. A wholly satisfactory hotel for a price that had actually left me concerned that something would have to be amiss. Nothing was. Good staff, very good daily house keeping, basic buffet breakfast, nice pool and bar, lovely peaceful resort. Were we pleased with our £18 a night investment? You are dead right we were.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank withinawhisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    113
    79
    29
    24
See reviews for
46
181
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In total agreement with the comments of Joanne B in the previous review. We had wanted to visit Madeira for a while but the prices for holidays tended to put us off. We jumped at the chance when we saw the price to stay at the Santa Caterina. It may not be in Funchal but you are only 100 yards from the bus stop and a 40 minute journey. Santa Cruz is quiet and a nice contrast to Funchal and has a few well priced restaurants all within 5-10 minutes walking distance.
Breakfasts were fine with enough choice. The room was adequate, good size and functional. The only possible criticism I could make was the lack of view from the balcony which is only a minor point. Many of the rooms had decent views, but we didn't visit Madeira just to have a good balcony view! Don't forget happy hour 6-7 when the beer is excellent value. We would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david54196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After spending so little money on a holiday I kept my expectations low,and read the latest imformation and reviews on the hotel and area so I knew what to expect.I was prepared for the big concrete road stand next too pool which didn't spoil it because pool area was lovely ,There was no noise from road or incoming planes as the hotel is 2mins away from hotel.Rooms We're lovely and clean and big!probly would do away with the carpets.Breakfast was basic but for price of holiday what do you expect .Staff helpfull and friendly .Santa cruz is very pretty ,relaxing and a good starting point for exporing madeira . I gree this is not a 4 star but People moaning about this hotel for the money should maybe up there price range on there holidays...

Room Tip: Not sure on other rooms ,but ours was a family room great space ,no balcony ,no noise from road outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

stay at this hotel from the 7/05/2014 for 1 week, the room was clean as was the bathroom, but the towels was very tatty, and the bath had something dropped in it, and was rusty. The breakfast
consisted of half warm bake beans, dried scrambled eggs, or poached eggs which that hard use as golf balls and tiny sausages, the fruit was tinned, but the continetal type breakfast was ok. The bar was times was printed as being open from 10.00am to 12midnight but was always close fron 2.00pm to 6.00pm, and some nights closed at10.30 or 11.00. The staff where not very friendly. On the Sunday at dinner the chef had his family to dinner with 1 child and a baby. the chef ,when ever he spoke to his group seem to always shout as the child was watch tv with the voloume very high, the baby,s mother decided to change the nappy in the room on a armchair use in the bar while we where eating our dinner. The dinner consisted of a soup, a main course of either fish or meat , an sweet was some sort of jelly, there was no choice, and had to ordered in the morning. My opinion of this hotel was as if you was a guest in somebodys house who diid not want you there. I would class the hotel as a 1960 blackpool boarding house with 1star. this is the first time i have ever written a review but i had to because i do not like being con

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reasonable hotel. Spacious rooms but very basic. I'm fine with basic but expect a bit more from a 4 star hotel. Food was OK but not much choice, pool was absolutely freezing. I absolutely love Madeira so didn't care that much about the quality of the hotel however there are much nicer ones. Santa Cruz is an OK area, bit of a pain with the planes overhead but still nicer and quieter than Funchal.

Ideally if you're going to Madeira I'd recommend Machico.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank closey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The big room was comfortable and cleaned daily. For the price we were pleasantly surprised. The food was nice but the menu lacked variety.Breakfast was below expectations though and slow to be topped up when empty and busy.Again it lacked variety and was adequate.the staff are delightful, helpful and great with kids.The location is good with bars and restaurants close by and a car park under the hotel.We had a lovely holiday and although out of season we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good state of cleanliness, helpful staff and despite the frighteningly closeness of the fly-over we could not hear any sound from the traffic. The local bus stop is just outside the hotel and there is an excellent service to the centre of Funcal.
For the price it is very good, breakfast was excellent too considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
6.1 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#28 of 153 in Madeira
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Village Hotel

Property: Santa Cruz Village Hotel
Address: Rua Bom Jesus 22, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-152, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Catarina)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Cruz Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Village Hotel, is located in the heart of Santa Cruz city, about 2 minutes from Madeira International Airport and 15 minutes from Funchal. Fully renovated in 2017, this is a typical city hotel, close to all historical, cultural and leasure facilities. About 50 meters from the historical quarter and Sea promenade. The hotel is located where there was an old sugar cane mill, keeping the original Madeiran Arquitecture. This offers to it’s guest’s a cozy atmosphere in order to make a relaxing and enjoyable stay to all guests. It has 40 rooms, divided in Standard’s; Superior; and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Cruz Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina Cruz
Santa Cruz Village Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing